We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be much better...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guangyong Lido Hotel
Ranked #1,559 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
istanbul
Level Contributor
7,016 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,398 helpful votes
“Could be much better...”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Very central location,just on the beginning of Beijing Road which is closed to traffic,and hundreds of shops with some shopping malls around.Great choice for all kind of restaurants around the Hotel.When making yr reservation pls ask for renovated rooms as old rooms are not yet in a good shape And smell inside the old room is not very good.At The chinese Restaurant,you can eat very well if you have a chinese friend with you.Otherwise it is nearly impossible to communicate with staff to make yr order as they do not steak english.Metro Station is about 10 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    159
    113
    35
    36
See reviews for
53
24
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Family of six plus two age parent staying at Lido Hotel with two triple deluxe and a business room.
The two triple deluxe room located on the 25th floor which we have both opposite side. One side is facing directly opposite Beijing Road(北京路步行街) and the other is facing part of the view at Pearl River(珠江). Both room look spacious but interior look old. As for the business room it is located at 18th floor which facing Beijing road. It's room interior have been renovated included the bath room. It's the same size to our triple room with a double seat sofa in the room. All our rooms came with free wifi and the rooms aircon were fine during our four nite stay. On the sixth floor of the hotel, there is a restaurant name Jun Hao seafood restaurant which serve both TimSum (breadfast and tea break)and seafood for Lunch and dinner. We have a great meal for both our breadfast and lunch there. The price was reasonable compare to what we've to paid when we ate in home town. There are also few restaurants in Beijing road. They also serve good dessert that we have ate thur out the four nite stay there. From the hotel entrance walk left straight up to the Pearl River is about 15min and will passed by two of the WanTan noodle stall which serve nice noodle at 20rmb a bowl. Buy your cruise ticket directly from the Tainzi dock right in front of the river and not from the one who paddler around the street of the WanTan noodle stall as they serve difference cruise from difference dock.
From the hotel entrance cross the road and walk left about 50m you will see a street sign 高第街 you can walk from the front to the other end with both side of the shop selling wholesale under garment. At the end of the street opposite are 高笫西鞋街 which are shoes wholesale . At the end of 高第街 walk right down are shops doing commercial signage .
Take the taxi from the hotel to Guangzhou Restaurant beside Shanjiajie road(上下九步行街) about 18rmb depend on the traffic . They serve great TimSum ,lunch and dinner. We ate 18 type of dishes with a total of 26 portions plus tea fee for 8 person bill up at 495rmb which I don think we can have the same amount of TimSum and price over our hometown. After the meal you can stroll down Shanjiajiu road for your shopping.
A must to eat at Huangsha Aquatic Product Market(黄沙水产交易巿埸) for the live seafood . Hop on the taxi from the hotel about 15min ride and not more than 25rmb depending the traffic. There are many stalls selling the same seafood and be sure you know how to bargain. You can choose to buy difference seafood from difference stall unless you find the price is reasonable. Ask the stall helper to recommend u a restaurant above the shop as there are few restaurant over the seafood market. There they charge between 12 to 18 rmb depending the cooking per dish. You can order the vegetable and soup dishes from the restaurant . The restaurant can only be serve from 3pm onwards as the seafood stall are serving 24hrs .Important tips to note : try to be there as early as it is very crowded over the weekend or you may have to wait for the seat as long as 1hrs long.
Overall our family have a great time staying at Lido Hotel and we will definite be back again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bennylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our 4th stay in the hotel. We chose this hotel because of the convenient location. There's wifi in the hotel lobby and room. The room we stayed in was a little noisy because it's facing construction site next to the hotel. The bed was hard and could feel the spring of the mattress, it feels like on a divan. Complain on it the next day, they lay the bedspread under the sheets. It feels better after that. The rooms we had were clean. We took their VIP gold card package, which includes 3 nights stay,3 breakfast and 3 foot massage costing RMB1238, 2nd purchase RMB990 and its for the Superior rooms.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank c_ronal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I had a very dirty first room, took lots of effort & support of one hotel manager to get a reasonably clean room. Always wear something on your feet !

This hotel is not aimed at Western tourists but at Eastern standards & requirements. Attitude much of the time is "take it or leave it", attitude is indifference.

Excellent location for shops & night market as well as subway. Good buses too. Taxi attitudes variable. Close to Pearl River.

No computer power WiFi in hotel - Starbucks 2 mins away !

Room Tip: If you want quiet room, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sotontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

this is a old but famous hotel , located in beijing lu which is the best shopping street , the location is great with many important markets in walking distance , the hotel has some nice restaurants but the rooms are average and its not value for money , no wifi the lifts take ages to come. its a good choice if you plan to shop all day and just need a place to sleep .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pritambijlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Reached hotel past midnite, taxi driver is trust worthy.only cost RMB 130... but dont mine paying more for him..Front desk staff are so kind to advise n direct us the convenient 24 hours store...Staff are All friendly , speak English well n Good service.so convenient with the shopping area n their metro service.Good spa treatment,esp the ginger wrapped!! 5 days is not enough....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hariani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Lido has average Guangzhou rooms. Clean enough, but far from spectacular. The restaurant is good and the breakfast buffets, both the Chinese and the Foreigners special, are yummy! If you want to eat in the Chinese buffet, bring a cheatsheet if you do not speak either Cantonese or Mandarin. No-one speaks English there. The Foreigners breakfast buffet is quite good. Lots of fresh fruit, omelette station, coldcuts..etc. Best part of the hotel is it is right next to Beijing Lu, the shopping street. Fantastic restaurant choices and tons of great shopping.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better class of room. The price dif is minimal and you will thank me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangzhou Hotel
#81 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
465 reviews
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#77 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
138 reviews
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canton
#48 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
370 reviews
Yuexiu District
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzhou Beijing Road
Yingshang Airland Hotel Guangzho...
#396 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
21 reviews
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangyong Lido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangyong Lido Hotel

Property: Guangyong Lido Hotel
Address: No.182 Beijing Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,559 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangyong Lido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guangyong Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing