We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Guangzhou Grand International Hotel
Ranked #45 of 3,409 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

The most pleasing thing of the hotel was they offered me a suite in place of my deluxe room booking. It included the executive lounge and unlimited consumption in the mini-bar. Being an old hotel the rooms are not so posh, but were well kept and the overall amenities were quite good. The staff was pleasing and courteous. Overall it was a great deal. Thanks Grand International.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with view of IFC & Guangzhou tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohitkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    118
    35
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
4
6
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nigeria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ok, So its canton fair... This means alot of visitors for Guangzhou.... Let me add alot of (mostly) overseas english speaking visitors.... But still a real struggle to order food in the restaurant, get information from the concierge or the operator on the phone...

Eg, i needed to print something out, noone could understand what i needed, i needed to know what time the next bus was to the fair, again noone could help, i wanted to know what meat was on the buffet, again noone could help me... It was a real disappointment as the hotel has enormous potential other then the Manager"s cutthroat policies towards its guests, i have particularly encountered this earlier when i was 15 minutes later then supposed to check out and he insisted on charging me for the extra day!!!! Not saying i was not at fault, i was caught up in some traffic and so got back later and then there was a huge line of guests waiting to get on the elevator.... Still some humility towards guests goes a long way and ensures their return...

Food was soso, location good, shopping around, not far from fair, buses in the morning going and in the evening coming back... They even have an attendant on each floor but not sure what they are supposed to be doing.... Also found it interesting they reduced the exchange rate the day the fair started, guess its their time to charge....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9jatravellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and paid for the price of a motel room but had a 5-stat hotel room. The checkin was fast. The staff were friendly. The onsite chinese restaurant offered good food. The foot spa on the 6th floor was also nice and reasonably priced. All in all, it is a nice hotel and I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansu168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Having lived in the countryside on the outskirts of Guangzhou in 1998-1999 I was excited about my return visit this summer, this time as a professional, and able to afford a proper hotel room! I decided to go with the Guangzhou Grand as I didn't want my experience to be too western-style and I have to say, I wasn't disappointed in the least! The hotel staff were incredibly attentive and made me feel as welcome as any important business guest even though I arrived looking rough and tired with a huge rucksack after spending a month in Mongolia. I was given an unexpected upgrade and felt like I had died and gone to heaven when I entered my room. It was stunning! The room was perfect in every way and I especially appreciated the bath & shower to relax in each night, not to mention the complimentary drinks in the mini-bar! I am only sorry that I didn't have time to enjoy more of the amenities of this hotel but based on the room alone, I would have no hesitation in going back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I was only there one night, and this is the first time I had stayed in Guangzhou. My notes on the hotel:

- Rooms are huge. Massively huge. I think it is bigger than some friends apartments in NYC.
- Bed: Comfortable but a little too firm for me. The sheets felt a little funny, but I have to admit, I am a bit of a princess when it comes to stuff touching my skin. Probably for most folks, it would be fine. But if you are like me and you have sensitive skin, it felt a bit funny.
- Shower: Good with strong water pressure, but the way the shower head is setup, it is next to impossible to avoid getting some of the water in your mouth. If you are extremely concerned about avoiding the water in China and you like to take showers, I would avoid this hotel
- Breakfast: Good – not great. The offering of western food was limited and it didn’t taste very good. Staff was a bit rough around the edges. Actually, it may be generous to say it is good. It's passable.
- Transportation: From airport the hotel says is is 80 Yuan. It cost me 120 Yuan. Little things like this always cause me to be suspicious.

Overall it is good. Having not stayed in other hotels in town, it is tough to make a fair comparison. Compared to the hotel I stay in Shanghai, it is a step down.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgm_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I've been there're several times and is perfect, big rooms, good meal for breakfast, and good price, in Europe you couldn't find that at less of 150€. If you can, always ask for king size bed. Next to the hotel you have an Starbucks. In front you can find a mall. To hang out at night, near of the hotel there is a pub called Qba, live music from Cuba. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

It is very funny to find this hotel right at my doorstep in TripAdvisor. It may be the hotel I have booked most frequently because it is very near to both my workplace and home. As a result, I always book this hotel for families or friends who visit me; and also for business reasons.

This hotel is built and operated by a local company. So it is not a luxury hotel with a world-famous name. On the other hand, it means that this hotel is economy and good value for money (high price/quality ratio). The hardware and service is not as good as the top hotels, but with this price, there is nothing to complain and worry about. The location is also good, just in the heart of the old CBD of Guangzhou City, and the traffic is convenient: 2 kms to Guangzhou East Railway Station (Can go to Hong Kong and many other Chinese cities); and 2 stops by bus to the Linhexi Subway Station (Can directly go to the airport and many other parts of the city). There is a super market across the street and many restaurants around that area.

In a word, it is a good place to stay if you want to spend time in Guangzhou City and pay about US 100 per room. (Price is not fixed)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingyang G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
#22 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloft Guangzhou Tianhe
Aloft Guangzhou Tianhe
#37 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
#55 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Good International Hotel
Good International Hotel
#53 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#60 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
China Mayors Hotel
China Mayors Hotel
#74 of 3,409 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Grand International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Grand International Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Grand International Hotel
Address: No.468 Tianhe North Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510635, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 3,409 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Guangzhou Grand International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Guangzhou Grand International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing