We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice budget hotel near garment wholesale district”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #242 of 3,503 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. The last time was many years ago and I checked in near mid-night. This time, I got a better look around and walked around the hotel a bit after checked in before dinner time. Unless you are looking for a budget hotel at a "budgeted" place in China, you may not like the environment outside the hotel place -- the street outside is filthy, wet and smelly. You will also get a good view of the local eatery with food laying on floor and cook with pots that you for sure don’t want to eat there. Inside the hotel, however, is a clean, nice place – until you pull up the blinds, then you will see the apartments next door with their window facing at you under 10 ft. The breakfast is very basic, I ended up going out to eat somewhere else. Room décor is nice, shower place is good and towel is clean. NO HBO. I booked through website saying it is RMB279 and I did not recheck with the receptionist when I checked in. The hotel charged me for RMB320 when checked out and said it is the price of the room. So make sure you check and agree with the price when you checked in. The hotel will meet all your basic needs and stay away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed here five nights. The staff is very friendly. Most at the reception speak English. Breakfast is cool if you like Chinese food (not Westernized). During convention events the breakfast is better. Bathroom amenities and bottled water included. Close to the garment markets. Many food stalls and a couple of restaurants on the same street. the most prominent restaurant on the street (big windows - green outside) is really good and with Chinese pricing. Totally a local atmosphere. Be aware of the fish/crab restaurant on the same street. It has all the tubs of fish on the sidewalk and tables alike on the sidewalk. The owner/woman was disturbed when I wanted to eat other than fish/crab. Mommy crab sat us at a table that had all the shells/discards from previous diners under the table. She then quoted me a price that was exaggerated and demanded payment before we ate. I left. This is a local only neighborhood and prices are cheap while the food is good. Great dumplings near the end of the street in the direction of the garment markets. Pork or vegetable are only 10RMB and you get a container full. Finally. No problem when the hotel hailed us a taxi at 4am to catch our flight -wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoideVivre06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Visited this hotel a few years back and loved it.

Rooms are very clean with complimentary water. It is located within walking distance from the train station which was convenient. Lots of places to eat near this hotel.

After staying in many traditional hotels or B&B like hotels in China, it was a great change.

Hotel staff friendly and answered all queries with patience. Would chose to stay in this hotel again if i come back to guangzhou.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for several years while visiting Trade fairs in Guangzhou.
The hotel is affordable in boutique style with rather small rooms, although clean interior both in design and style as well as maintenance. The suites are the double size with a sofa group and TV, some have balconies. All rooms have refrigerator. Flat Screen TV's have HDMI, large TV's in suites are older type. Wireless as well as cable connections. AC is well functioning.
What's really good here is the location, with very short walks to laundry (10 meters away on street) as well as convenience stores like 7/11. Restaurants are close by as well as the Guangzhou Metro system (approx 1 km by Liuhua complex). Hotel offers bus to/from trade fair.

Room Tip: Recommended for value and location if you don't have to stay in Pazhou area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soetnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel-elan is on Zhan Qian Heng Road which has many eating places and budget hotels. About 30 meters from Hotel-elan, at the corner of Zhan Qian Heng Road and Zhan Qian Road, is one end of the "Top Clothes Underground Wholesale Centre of Asia" which is a 2-level shopping tunnel under Zhan Qian Road, running all the way to the Guangzhou Railway Station and subway at the other end. The famous Baima and Yima clothing wholesale malls are accessible from one of the tunnel exits. Hotel-elan, together with hotels like New Mainland Hotel and Liuhua Hotel, are within a short walk from the wholesale area of Zhan Qian Road, Zhan Nan Road and Zhan Xi Road.

Hotel-elan is quite new, with 76 rooms over 6 floors. We booked 3 nights through Agoda at USD49 per night, and were given a non-smoking room on 5th Floor, with large window looking into the neighboring alley and old houses (see photo). Room was small but quiet. The bathroom was big, with all glass walls, but floor tiles were slippery with condensation from the shower, so the hotel provided 2 pairs of slippers, one for the bedroom and one for the bathroom.

Room had free LAN internet (Wifi was too weak to be used), flat LCD TV, aircond with individual control, rain shower, mini fridge (not working), kettle, hairdryer, safe, 2 bottles water complimentary. There was a very narrow table for the TV, and this was not wide enough to put a laptop, so it was a juggling act trying to do some work in the room. On 1st Floor next to the Reception, there was a small area with sofa seats and computers for guest use (see photo), but internet here was charged at CNY20/hour.

Free breakfast at the Snow Northeast Restaurant on 1st Floor was hardly edible. There were orange cordial (undrinkable), porridge, buns, eggs, salad, bread, and noodles. After the first morning, we went out to eat at the numerous eateries around the hotel. Highly recommended is The Mark Chinese Cuisine – from Hotel-elan, turn left, walk about 100 meters, past the Sheng Jie Supermarket. Mark serves cheap and good dim sum for breakfast and lunch. There is another restaurant, Bi Hai Nan Tian, on Zhan Qian Road corner of Chen Gang Road, opposite McDonalds. A cheap place for lunch or dinner is the Chung Kee seafood place – from Hotel-elan, turn left, walk about 40 meters, you will see live seafood in foam boxes on the sidewalk. The oysters, scallops, and Turbot fish were cheap and delicious. English was not spoken at these 3 places, and menu was in Chinese, so you would need to use sign language, or the help of a translator. Or try the upmarket East Ocean Seafood Restaurant – to the left of Hotel-elan, walk about 400 meters to the end of Zhan Qian Heng Road, turn left on Liu Hua Road and walk 100 meters.

There was a laundry shop about 10 meters to the right of Hotel-elan, which did clothes alteration for CNY5 per piece … useful if you had bought clothing at the malls.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor and at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Singapore-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for 9 days and had a lovely stay. The staff were helpful and welcoming. It is situated on a busy but relatively quiet side street, off the main Zhan Qian Road which has a lot of malls and shops on it.

Breakfast was ok, but a bit same-y after 9 days, as if you don't fancy Chinese food for breakfast, there is just toast, butter and orange jam, boiled eggs, sweet corn on the cob and fried eggs or omlettes made fresh in front of you.

Rooms are made up daily, with fresh towels and toiletries, and also free bottled water each day.

There's a kettle and tea cups, and green tea and coffee and sugar sachets provided free of charge.

The flat screen TVs are great, but be prepared that there are precious few English language programmes or movies, and virtually none in any language other than Mandarin or Cantonese. You have to flick through the Channels to find anything worth watching, but CCTV10 (channel 9 I think on their TVs) is a news station in English, providing a very interesting Chinese take on world news which was fascinating.

Only not so great part was the 2 nights when they decided to scrub the hall carpet outside our bedroom at 2am, thus waking us up. They did not seem to understand why this had been a problem when we called down to them and the next morning when we spoke to them at the reception desk, but after the 2nd time it didn't happen again, so I guess they got it!!

Overall, a very pleasant, great value hotel in a great location (very close to major malls for individuals and buyers too such as the Jianhe Accessories City, which is right next to McDonald's, see directions below). Many good restaurants around (try The Mark Chinese Cuisine, about a 2 minute walk if you turn left out of the hotel and stay on the hotel side of the street) and a McDonald's just 5 minutes away (turn right out of hotel and left into Zhan Qian Road and you will see it in a building that goes over the street) if you can't face any more noodles and photos of entire roasted chickens, head and all, which adorn the walls of most Chinese food restaurants! There is also a lovely restaurant (pricey though) at the far end of the hotel street (Zhan Qian Heng Lu). Turn left out of the hotel and follow the road to the end, cross the main road at the end, and enter the park on the opposite side and right there is a lovely restaurant overlooking a lake with views of a very posh restaurant and tea house called the White House the other side of the lake.

Don't forget to grab some of the hotel's business cards from reception, because unless you speak Chinese, you will have great trouble getting back to the hotel as you are unlikely to find a taxi driver that speaks enough English. The cards have a map, the address in English and Chinese and a message in both asking you to be taken to the Hotel Elan in Zhan Qian Heng Lu (Lu = Road). A very useful thing to offer I think!

Room Tip: It is better to not have one of the very front rooms as the street can get a bit noisy, one of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ProudMumOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Great value for money. Cozy and clean hotel for a pleasant shopping trip in Guangzhou. Friendly, helpful English-speaking staff. Conveniently located. The Guangzhou shopping tunnel is just outside the hotel and so are the various shopping places.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was stinky along the aisle and the room also stank of cigarette. The 4th floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abelahing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Liuhua Hotel
Liuhua Hotel
#237 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railway Station
Yingshang Hotel Guangzhou Railwa...
#1,584 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#69 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#23 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Hotel Guangzhou Railway Station
Super 8 Hotel Guangzhou Railway ...
#742 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
South Air Mingzhu Business Hotel
#360 of 3,503 in Guangzhou
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: No.32 Zhanqianheng Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510010, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#150 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £30 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elan 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing