We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just location and nothing else”
Review of Guangzhou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guangzhou Hotel
Ranked #182 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is an older hotel located in a central area of the city. Easy access from the metro, but with construction going, the tunnel leading to it is highly toxic. I had to run through it fearful of falling short of breath. The staff tries hard to please and some speak English, but the shortcomings of this facility are too many. Old furniture, stained carpets, and then that smell in the hallway...

I cannot recommend this hotel unless its location is very important to you. There are much better choices but at higher prices. And be careful of that smell...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Guangzhou Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Once a great hotel I am sure but now old and smells in some rooms (stayed twice in March 2013)
Excellent location as it is above the metro station and easy to get to from the airport - one change I think. Close by the Pearl River so you can escape the busy streets.
Manager is very welcoming but some of the staff are frosty.
Didn't eat there are there is a Cafe de Coral on the opposite side of the street :)

Room Tip: Building site of the new metro opposite but not sure you can escape that unless you get really high...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsianvisitorUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel isn't so great, but isn't bad. If you're looking for a convenient hotel which isn't too expensive and still livable, then this hotel is the way to go.

The rooms are pretty big. But the first room we got, didn't have hot water so we had a room change. After that, it was all good.

Its pretty much close to a lot of places in Guangzhou.

They have a yum cha in the hotel and it is fantastic ! you get special discounts if you present your room card.

Room Tip: Get the room which has a nice view ^^
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

stayed there 7 years ago all very good our friend even had his wedding there,
we will stay there in september 2013 it right in the heart for shopping the metro the river cruise is well worth doing all in all good value the date of july 2012 in incorrect
the actual date was september 2006

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the river have good views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuartN455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I suppose you get what you pay for...

The hotel is in a great location, this its only advantage. The building is very old and has that old hotel smell in it. If you stay for a few days your clothes will end up smelling like cheap booze and cigarettes.

I also had issues with my bathroom. After I took a shower the ceiling began to leak badly, I thought the roof was going to cave in. I told the front desk and they were indifferent...so was I.

if location is all you care about then stay here.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
Thank Matthew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

1stly we had already asked for help in email that we will leave some luggage with e hotel while we travelling to elsewhere n will come back to stay in their hotel. Notig was mentioned till e actual day they say there b charges incurred.. 2ndly e service provider there are really wif very bad attitude. Toilet was chocked n asked for help n was scolded that why I throw e toilet paper in e bowl.. is so unhygienic. . 3rdly e last day we have kept a rm as ourvflight is mid night.. but the service provided had asked more tan once if we r checking out.. since we had paied for a day why r we kept asking if we r checking out? Wats e hurry? Rm is old below 9 flr. E skirting of e flr almost cracking n dropping out.. e safe box is not safe at all.. ppl can just carry e whole box away.. is old.. dirty n bad servive in this 3 star hotel. Location is good but theres aso some nearby hotel too.. maybe can c wat other hotel review before deciding tis hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I booked for a standard room and arrived at around one in the morning. The checking in was quite fast since I was the only guest at that time.Unfortunately the room that they gave us was actually occupied by another guest ! He was apologetic about it and finally gave us a suite as a consolation.
Very decent room though the beds are quite hard. The rooms are old so don't expect anything much...the only plus point is the location. Just situated beside the metro so going around is very convenient. Just across the road is OneLink and many other wholesale stores situated around it...you just need to walk around . If you buy in bulk, the shopkeepers are able to send to your hotel at no extra cost cos its nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#70 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#45 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
Rosedale Hotel & Suites
#93 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#48 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Hotel

Address: No.2 Qiyi Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £36 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangzhou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guangzhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing