We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and yet old hotel.”
Review of Guangzhou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guangzhou Hotel
Ranked #79 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenient and yet old hotel.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Very Convenient location. rooms are soso. But for business it's still a good choice.

If you are going to the Canton fair for your business with Chinese suppliers, this would be a good hotel to live in.during canton fair time there are free shuttle buses from hotel to the canton fair complex. There are also two metro lines just under the building, line 2 and line 6. And from the airport to the hotel there are airport express buses.

Lots of food around and there is a good sea food restaurant just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    232
    128
    51
    20
See reviews for
34
29
31
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Check in you will asked to leave a 200rmb deposit for the room.
The location of this hotel is excellent, next to the Pearl river and Haizu Square Metro (subway) station.
My room was on the 10th floor and had a view of the city skyscrapers. The room was very clean, nice new sheets, TV and dated bathroom but very clean with a powerful shower and hot water. The best part of the room is actually the hotel WiFi which is super fast.
Unfortunately there is a bad element. The entire hotel smells. This is because the windows in the rooms do not open therefore the only ventilation comes from the in built hotel system which has not had the filters changed or maintained and therefore sucks in all the smog and pollution. This makes the room smell extremely musty and as a result all your nice clean clothes will also stink. Not only that the ventilation drys out your throat and I have now got an awful gruff throat and voice.
I did ask to be moved to an alternative room but it had exactly the same problem and I notice other posters have mentioned it too.
Apart from this the hotel staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to help and it is very clean. There are two restaurants one on the third floor and one on the 26th floor.
If your room includes breakfast you can take it with a spectacular view of GZ up on the 26th floor, if your room does not include breakfast you have to pay 28rmb and 68rmb on a Thursday. This is because on Thursday suddenly the breakfast options includes some milk and orange juice, every other day there is no milk.
This breakfast has few western options, the choice is dumplings, cold vegetables, broth, unusual meats, boiled eggs and toast (but no butter except on Thursday.) Coffee out of a machine but it doesn't really taste like Coffee.
On the third floor there is a mammoth Dim Sum restaurant, this is highly recommended as the food is delicious, but be warned it gets packed with about 300 people at lunch time and ordering in English is seriously complex as it involves ticking tiny boxes on a piece of paper like a bingo card, there is no option for drinks here, it seems to be Green Tea is the only choice.
On the 5th - 7th floor there is a "Spa / Sauna" I use the term loosely as it is actually a Spa / Brothel.
Overall for this hotel I would go back if I new they had sorted out the smelly rooms and the ventilation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We will visit Guangzhou every once a year for business. This was our first time staying at Guangzhou Hotel. Everything was ok.. Good service, big room, clean and comfortable bed although the corridor was little smelly and stuffy. Perfectly located next to metro station. Very convenient to go to any other places.. Walking distance to shopping area and seafood restaurant (quite expensive) and 7-11 located behind the hotel. Easy to get taxi. A famous Chinese dim sum restaurant located at 3rd floor. Recommended hotel... We will come back here again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocelyn_lsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Located near the Haizu Square, Guangzhou Hotel is a good stay for those who come for shopping or looking for supply of goods. One Link Plaza and Yide street is just a walking distance from the hotel and most probably you'll make few shopping trips daily. Halal restaurant located at the back of the hotel. Check-in was smooth and the staffs, not much to say about them. Room was big (the main reason I've chosen this hotel) and clean. Bed was hard (not comfortable) and interior was dilapidated (peel-off wall paper, broken cabinets and broken lamp). Interior looks outdated in every angle as this is one of the oldest hotel in Guangzhou. The room definitely need major maintenance for good. From my room at 19th floor, nice view of Guangzhou downtown at night. Will I stay again? Perhaps not.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaharum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corfu
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Second time at Guangzhou Hotel, and everything was ok. Clean and big rooms,
specialy the rooms from 14 level and up, are new revonated. The only broblem
was not hit in the rooms, i think this is a problem for the most hotels in China.
I was there 9-16 February, and was a very cold week.

Room Tip: The rooms from 14 level and up are beter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmarcorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel during my business trip to Guangzhou,,, to be honest, the hotel location is really good, it is located in one of the metro station, which is very convenient for you to go any other place in guangzhou, and also really near to the business spot, and there is airport shuttle as well just in front this hotel... And there is a lot of restaurants, and convenient shop nearby... GREAT LOCATION...

However, the hotel room is not good... The size for the room is quite small, the bed is hard, the bathroom look very old, also the atmosphere while you step into your room is not nice at all, as there is a strange unpleasant scent inside the room...
Even though I booked for the business room, which is one grade better than the standard room...
I still found the hotel was not nice to stay in... The standard room of course even worse than this...

Maybe need to book a better grade room to find better comfortable room in this hotel, as I found this hotel offers many types of the room, ranging from us$ 40 until around $80 which is around double..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles_3888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We reach the hotel on the 30th. Dec 2013 around 7.30pm from Hong Kong. We checked in, quite fast but they did not prepare our room according to my booking. However after a call to the front desk they manage to solve the problem immediately. For this effort by their staffs I certainly gave them thumbs up. The hotel room is comfortable although the bed mattress is a bit hard. Wireless internet in the room is fantastic, but I am not sure if the same facilities was available for other rooms. Mine is VIP room with river view. We checked out on the 4th. January 2014.

Room Tip: The higher floor will give a better view, and at the same time will give you an idea of Guangzhou sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zamanuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#73 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landmark Canton Hotel
Landmark Canton Hotel
#48 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#46 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#23 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zhuhai Special Economic Zone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Hotel
Address: No.2 Qiyi Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510115, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guangzhou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guangzhou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing