We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Service & High Prices” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #236 of 3,387 Hotels in Guangzhou
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service & High Prices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

We Booked this hotel for the Canton Fair - it was the only one our Travel Agent could find - It was supposed to be 4 Stars - I would rate it more like -4 Stars. The room was dirty - the toilet was clogged when we checked in. They said they had no other rooms and that they would clean the room the next day and that we could use the bathroom in the lobby - after 45 minutes of arguing they did give us another room. In the new room there were condom wrappers in the drawer. The beds were like concrete blocks and there was no hot water at all during our stay - it was only luke warm late at night. This hotel is similar to prison accomodations. Housekeeping walked in on me and my wife 2 times and 2 prostitutes approachd me in the lobby. When we tried to check out and leave to go to a nice hotel - we were told that we would be charged for our full stay even if we left, and that they were not responsible about the prostitutes and that we could have an extra pillow for the bed. The Manager and staff were rude and agumentative. We were forced to stay, when we did check out the rate was almost twice what we were quoted and we were told if we didn't pay we would be arrested. We will dispute the charges on our credit card - I would rather sleep in a box by the road then stay in this hotel again. I would advise anyone to stay clear of this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Rude - Filthy & a rip off - Stay away
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajrs86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    52
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
3
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2008

The hotel itself is wonderful, magnificent rooms - huge, well appointed, twin queen sized beds, great staff, views over the golf course, lake and terrace from our balcony. The staff were very helpful and wanted to please but their standard of english was only just up to it. Our impression is that they really are aiming at the Chinese conference, trade fair, holiday resort market and that they don't get very many westerners.

We were looking for an over night hotel between arriving in Guangzhou from Hong Kong and flying out to Xi'an the following day - and we chose this hotel based on the web site (sinohotelguide). They claimed the hotel is closer to GZ and the airport than it really is. It took us almost an hour by taxi from the GZ East rail station and 45 minutes back to the airport. The upside is that you are far enough outside GZ to get some clean air!! This is an area that is being heavily developed into a resort area so there are many new villas being built - it's starting to look like the upmarket parts of Spain.

So if you are looking for a resort hotel and have more local language (and time) than we did go for it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The size and quality of the rooms
  • Disliked — distance to airport and Guangzhou
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit_Abroad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

Stayed here in August 06. Very nice hotel, the NEW China. Golf course, beautiful pool, nice room, modern, internet, balcony over looking grounds. Right next door to a Chinese musuem with history and lots of antiques. Also an open air shopping facility next door. There is a convenience store among other stores where you can buy snacks, etc.

The only negative thing is that they don't speak English, and it is about 25 miles from the airport. I don't know the distance from the US Consulate. If we went to China again, I would stay here again if I had a few "down" days. The breakfast buffet is lavish, with pastries, eggs, meats, fruits, potatoes, juices, teas and coffeess....yum.

  • Liked — Felt luxurious
  • Disliked — distance from city
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank offtochine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2007

I stayed in this hotel in 2005. It was still being built and the surrounding parkland resembled a giant building site (quite a lot of building related noise early in the morning).
The staff of the hotel were friendly though obviously not yet used to having english speaking guests.
The rooms were clean and comfotable.
The facilities were good (internet connection in the rooms, etc.), although there wasn't a spa when I stayed there.
The hotel is quite far from Guangzhou center and kind of in the middle of nowhere.
The major negative point was the food, there was only one restaurant serving chinese food. The breakfast was also chinese style.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CGU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#22 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#10 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jianguo Hotel
#25 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#1 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,387 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Peninsula Hotel

Property: Holiday Peninsula Hotel
Address: Shanqian Avenue, Huadu District, Guangzhou 510830, China (Formerly Country Garden Holiday Islands)
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 3,387 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing