We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel opp to East railway stn, Guangzhou”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
260 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel opp to East railway stn, Guangzhou”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The hotel is situated straight opposite to East Railway Stn. Airport is 45 mts drive from the hotel. The hotel is very new, the rooms are fabulous with all modern amenities. We had booked a standard single room and were upgraded to Luxury room on the 26th floor. Staff are very pleasant and supportive. Always smiling... something which you hardly see in European hotels.

The rooms are slightly expensive, still not a bad choice at all considering the location, room quality and breakfast spread.

The breakfast was nicely spread, only one comments, they had only a single coffee machine, which formed a small Q, other than this all was superb. I requested for a late checkout (6Pm) and was politely granted by the duty manager.

Stayed at room 2609 for a single night (May 25), wish, we had a long stay. We had booked four single rooms in total and all had good opinion about this hotel.

Room Tip: Book rooms on higher floors facing the station, to get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    364
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
47
38
41
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for access to travel hubs - train, bus and underground. A short walk to Hong Kong border crossing and famous cheap market.
Rooms are clean and comfortable, good beds and non-mouldy bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Jianguo Hotel has a great location right next to the Guangzhou East Railway Station, close to Citic Plaza and opposite the bus terminal and underground shopping Center.

Please note that this railway station is not the main station of the city (Guangzhou Station). However, it is on the same line as the airport, making it easy to catch the metro from the airport to the hotel. Exit F is the closest, but has lots of steps. So, if you are carrying bags, exit via the bus terminal and cross the road.

I booked via Agoda and received an excellent price with breakfast included. I had a room on level 21, which is the Executive Floor and has an Executive Lounge. Wi-fi was good both in the lobby and in my room. There was even a welcoming gift of fruit and small pastries in my room.

The concierge staff were very helpful and spoke reasonable English. The breakfast buffet is excellent, having both Asian and Western food. Try and get it included in your room rate.

There is a particularly large building site behind the hotel, so either get a room on a higher level or facing the front. The bus terminal opposite the hotel has an enormous underground shopping centre including supermarket. Towards Citic Plaza there is a collection of restaurants called "Back Street" catering for a variety of styles and budgets.

Great place to stay, but make sure it's in the right area for your trip purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Pleasant hotel. Would recommend to anyone..good rooms; good location; & good value...
When next in Guangzhou, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khyberpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The location is excellent. We quickly learned that we had the metro and train station basically outside our front door. The breakfasts were excellent and got us on the right foot for exploring the city. The room was all we wanted. Staff was cheerful and helpful. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aguzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I recently stayed in Jianguo Hotel during my 2 weeks visit to Guangzhou. This hotel is located centrally (500 meters from Westin). Although it is a 4 star property, I must say it was a great stay. You can pay just the half price you pay in any nearby 5 star property. Breakfast had a lot of variety and I loved it every single day. This hotel is absolute value for your money and I truly recommend this.

The only thing to be improved here is tat they have four lifts and only 2 operate to 20+ floor. When u call for a lift, another one which just goes till 20 floor will come and you have no other option available to call the other lift. They also have scope to improve on welcoming guests.

Room Tip: Take front view room. If you are staying in a backside one, you will end up seeing only under constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravShri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It is five-star location, unless you have a room at the rear with a daily Bob-the-Builder reality show.
It has Chinese five-star breakfast price at RMB138(USD20), unless it's inclusive as a promotion (and this hotel currently runs special promotion with Kowloon-to-Guangzhou Direct Express Rail).
The room is clean and quite well maintained, even though it is on the small side.
Service is efficient and attentive.
Breakfast is well below par - there are many types of food but the quality is definitely not five star quality. The carpets in the breakfast area, especially around the service areas, badly need cleaning or replacement. There is insufficient room to present all the food and as a result we find it very uncomfortable to move around. The fruit juices are really bad. Orange juice doesn't taste like normal orange juice; apple juice does not taste like apple juice. Of all the different juices available - only mango juice tastes like normal mango juice.
Cheese slices are too artificial.
The best thing is fresh watermelon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Guangzhou East Train Station Plaza have good views while rooms at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highway7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
598 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#24 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
773 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#12 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.172 Linhe Middle Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#30 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jianguo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing