We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Ranked #66 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple days and loved every second of it. Food, room, lounge, environment & staff all exceeded my expectations. Its a Five Star hotel in my opinion. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 1037thebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

First of all: the website of the hotel is well done! You feel disappointed when you arrive at the lobby.
Rooms are great: spacious, clean and will all the necessary.
Restaurants are nothing special...even low level, in the sense that it is expensive for no taste food, no choice. Breakfast is nothing special.
Gym: unbelieavable. 2 bikes...and that's it.
Nobody in the hotel: how can they survive ?

They make many efforts to make your comfort ok: friendly people etc but then they destroy everything with absurd behaviours: do not ask for late check out ! they would call you many times and look at you like a wierd person and call you in the room several times to ensure you will leave on time. Indeed I left 2 hours before the agreed time because I felt uncomfortable.

So I will not go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on 29 and 30 Sptember 2012.

It is a 3 star hotel, the most, by international standard. We had a deluxe room on the 37th floor, which is nicely furnished and large. We are happy with the room but we would not return to stay in this hotel mainly because it is located in a lane which is filthy and not lighted up at night. The lane is dirty and is mostly used by the locals to load and unload as well as transporting their goods by pushing trolleys and carts through this lane to the surrounding IT shops. The surrounding is more like a place selling computer and electronic stuff. The lane and the surrounding areas are dirty especially after dark when all the shops are closed.

Breakfast not much variety but sufficient and acceptable. Contrary to what was stated in the website,there is no swimming pool in this hotel. During our stay, the hotel was quite deserted. There were not many hotel guests. Personally I think the room rate is not expensive but yet I would not pay this price to stay in this hotel because of its surrounding environments. I rather have a simple room in a better and cleaner surrounding.

Nearest Metro line 3 Gangding station, which is not more than 10 minutes walk, passing by malls and shops all selling computers and electronic items.

Attractions - Been to a few places such as Chen Clan Academy which has nice architecture. It is just a small ancestral hall which will take you the most half an hour to tour round the place. Take metro line 1 to Chen Clan Academy station. The attraction is next to this station.

Baomo garden - a mediocre man-made garden which is not worth traveling one hour there. Entrance Rmb40. This garden may appeal to their locals but not overseas tourists who have seen much better gardens,, unless you have nothing better to kill your time. The place was very crowded and noisy when we went. Like most attractions in China, the atmosphere is spoilt once the attraction is too crowded, noisy, and not properly maintained. Every thing is man-made, don't expect nice beautiful trees, grass , pond etc, none of that exist. More concrete than nature.

White Cloud Mountain - I would not list this as an attractions for overseas tourists at all. It is more for the local to take a break from the crazy city life in Guangzhou. I spoke to a local tourist at the ticketing office at this attraction. She had just completed her walk at the mountain and highly recommended it. I realized her standard of fresh air and nice is completely different from ours. There is seriously noting much to see, no fresh air, no nice nature, very crowded and noisy when we went. I rather spent the afternoon in my hotel room reading a book or watching tv.

Canton tower - ok to go for a look at this structure and it's surrounding promenade to have an ideal of how the future new CBD of Guangzhou will be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hksin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel during our tour of Guangzhou and it was fantastics. The views of the city from the upper floors is amazing. The facilities in the rooms are really nice, Internet, furnishing is first class. We ate mostly out of the hotel but the breakfast was great. Certainly a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room beyond 40th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here and found that the rooms were of a superior size to most hotels we had stayed at. The location close to shopping and the Pazhou complex was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Location is close to the subway and most everything you'd like to see is a ride away. I reviewed this hotel previously and loved the breakfast and the breakfast room. Now, it's a different room and cuisine, and quite ordinary. But the rooms are excellent, large, clean, and comfortable.

Room Tip: If they don't offer, ask for a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelb181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Didn't really find out about the spa until the day before we left, but had I known I would have hit it every day. The Spa is not owned by the hotel, but it takes up 3 or 4 floors. Think of the movie Rush hour 2. After checking into their huge lobby/reception desk area, men go to one side and women go thru the other side. Cost is about $85 (US) for 1 hour massage, which is a minimum 2 hour experience. Walk down spiral staircase, met by a guy who takes you to locker and helps you undress, wraps a towel around you and then he leads you to long waterfall type walkway where another guy meets you and takes you into a huge area that has showers, sauna, steam room, warming pool, buffet lunch, tables, etc.; then off to another changing room where they give you new shower shoes, pajama top & knee high pants; then off to another area where there are probably 50-60 foot massage chairs, each with it's own tv where they offer another beverage, foot massage, rest time, then lead you down another circular staircase to the floor of many massage rooms for your 1 hour massage. when done with massage you can (and I guess many do) spend as much time in the sauna,steam, pool, buffet area. The only problem is when done, the one guy who helped you undress and put your stuff into the locker is now 3 guys helping you dress.. who have their hand out (actually a tray chummed with a 100 rm bill...for you to match (no big deal at $16 US). If I had done it again, I would have taken my glasses case with a tip for the massage therapist (remember, I left everything in the locker).
Now the Hotel: The outside weather was 50 degrees and hotel had no heat (even though the thermostat showed heat/AC). The breakfast buffet was good with omelet/egg station and no one who speaks english. The hotel as a whole doesn't have very many staff who speak english. The hotel was old, but elegant. Bath area very nice. I had room 4788, my friend had 4768, rooms on the end with no view other than a balcony (which you cannot get onto) with a high wall. No wireless, need to hook phone cable from outlet to your laptop. So IPAD, IPhone, AirMac don't work in your room. 1 tv in sitting room and one in bedroom. Hotel entrance as others have mentioned is in the back. That means the only way a taxi comes in is when dropping someone off. Had to walk out to the main street in front to get a taxi. A couple of block walk to McDonalds and Starbucks (both in an electronics type of mall). For more than a couple of days I would probably try the Garden Hotel next time (you can read about it on this site).
As a side note, Guangzhou/China has the worst drivers, I recommend not sitting in front seat of Taxi...it will be less stressful on you not to see what your driver and others are doing. Pedestrians have no right of way. If you are crossing the street, be ready to move fast and get out of the cars way. They do a 3mph rolling slow thru pedestrians and during my trip, never hit their brakes (they did bump a few walkers who were not fast enough to get out of their way.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattlebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#87 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#70 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Asia International Hotel
Asia International Hotel
#51 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
389 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#44 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mediterranean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mediterranean Hotel

Address: No.518 Tianhe Road, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#34 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#54 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £44 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mediterranean Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Mediterranean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mediterranean Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing