We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but a few small niggles - ROOM 4369”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Ranked #52 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good but a few small niggles - ROOM 4369”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

i am typing this review from my hotel room. my experience thus far;

1. located in a side street just off the main road which is not a big issue. any proper taxi driver knows where it is. do not take unregistered taxis as they will not find it easily.
2. located in the tianhe district, the financial hub of guangzhou. good area.
3. 15rmb ride to/from GNZ EAST RAILWAY STATION.
4. 60rmb ride to/from GNZ SOUTH RAILWAY STATION.
5. 25rmb ride to/from ONELINK PLAZA.
5. 5 minutes ride to PAZHOU COMPLEX. good for canton fair travellers
6. front desk staff speak english and are proficient.
7. atm located on ground floor.
8. convenience store located around the corner.
9. we had an upgraded room 4369 booked through agoda.com which is nice and spacious and clean. pictures will be uploaded after my stay.
10. free wifi which is excellent

bad points

1. tea, coffee and evian bottled water in room is chargeable and not complimentary and is ridiculously priced.
2. heater/aircon does not work efficiently and feels more like a fan circulating air with no real effect
3. breakfast is 108rmb
4. spa area is open but the cost of a massage is high.
5. i have not found the advertised pool yet
6. tv channels are fairly limited. no dedicated english movie channel.
7. limited wardrobe space.

all in all i like the hotel and would recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaheer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    146
    52
    12
    17
See reviews for
5
20
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Travelling on my own, (to meet my eldest son who works in China), I stayed at this hotel but felt safe and secure. Free upgrade to a beautiful suite, and wonderful views being on the 35th floor! Complimentary fruit basket every day! In an interesting area with plenty of shops and places to eat. Enjoyed exploring! Easy to get to the Metro. Thought the hotel had a swimming pool but this wasn't so, although stated on their site. All in all would recommend this place and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamoftherose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I have stayed at the hotel in March 2013 during China Int Furniture Fair.

Location: Good central location in a busy area near Guangzhou's electronic markets. Entrance to hotel is a bit tucked in a back alley which may look a bid dodgy at first approach. Only 10 minutes by Taxi to Pazhou.

Rooms: Clean and HUGE bedrooms. Probably the biggest bedrooms I have yet seen in any Chinese hotel. Bedrooms are a little dated but very spacious. Bathrooms are EXCELLENT. Great water pressure in the shower. Air con does not really cool rooms down well. This however does seem to be quite a common problem in many other Chinese hotels using central air conditioners. . This wont be a problem for many people but I really like a cool room as humidity in China is usually quite high.

Food: Breakfast buffet is OK, not bad but not quite the selection you would expect from a 5-star establishment - but then the only Chinese hotels where you really get GREAT breakfast for westerners are your top 5-star hotels such as Sofitel / Westin etc. We did not eat other meals at the hotel. Within literally 5 minutes walk from McDonadls, Star Bucks, KFC and a Pizza Hut if we you want western food. Tip: If you are like us wanting to eat good (REAL) western food - take a 10min Taxi ride to 'Oggi's' - you can google the address.

Other: There is a massage/spa/sauna on one of the floors which is excellent. Free Wi-Fi was also great to have.

Overall service in the hotel was very good and staff friendly. Based on the price, location and overall quality and size of the room I would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE_Travelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was given a free room upgrade to the suite. Room was v spacious and had a grand bathroom with bathtub. There is also a TV in the bathroom so u can watch tv while soaking in the tub. Excellent water pressure with hot water which was great in winter! Hotel is less than 10 min walk from Gang Ding MTR. However staffs were not v friendly at reception.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikLSH_Sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Royal Mediterranean was a located at a very good location, with a 5 minute walk to Onelink shopping center and about 10 minutes to Grandview Plaza. Wifi is also provided in this hotel. However, the only drawback was that they did not have a gym or swimming pool facility that they indicated on their website. When my friends and I got there, we were expecting a pool and a gym, but they told us it was "under renovation". Also, the walk back into the hotel could be a little unsafe at times as there are no streetlights on the road back into the hotel from the main road.

My friends and I got upgraded into an executive room (our room was not available when we wanted to check in, at around 2pm). The room was extremely spacious and clean, with a TV in the bathroom. However, they only gave us a queen sized bed and it was a little squeezy for 3 people to sleep in.

The service provided was average. The front desk staff were able to converse in decent english and they were polite and well-mannered. However, when we asked for someone to fix our TV (a few channels were not working), the staff that came were grumpy and unhelpful, and simply told us it could not be fixed.

Overall, one should book this hotel if you're looking for a hotel that is located in the heart of the city, with close walks to the various metro stations of Guangzhou (the nearest station being gangding station and shibanqiao station).

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a non-smoking room if you're bothered by smoke and a higher floor for a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

1. Dirty & smelly carpet
2. Lack of english communication
3. It's very old furniture and interior
4. Everything chargeable. E.g) Laundry bag is chargeable for rmb55.
5. The spa is charge for ridiculous price
6. Housekeeping did not change the bed sheet. Keep using for several days until we take out ourselves.
7. They do a gimmick for low price however the price is not including service tax.

I will not consider to come again. Absolutely not.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zeryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Arrival Experience
Quite okay nothing extraordinary & check in was okay by Front Desk agent (John) & given Late check out till 2pm.

Room
spacious,Carpet dirty & furniture are very old

Service
Haven't offer for any assistance except doorman help to open door for us

Departures
TBA

Room Tip: please turn off the air cond & heater during winter as it going getting cold all the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zachery_Zulkifly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#69 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Perle International Hotel
La Perle International Hotel
#62 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#7 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
0.7 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#8 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mediterranean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mediterranean Hotel

Property: Royal Mediterranean Hotel
Address: No.518 Tianhe Road, Guangzhou 510620, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#34 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#47 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mediterranean Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Mediterranean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mediterranean Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing