We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend for a western business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Guangzhou Yihe Hotel
Ranked #1,572 of 3,448 Hotels in Guangzhou
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would not recommend for a western business traveller”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The hotel consists of two parts, the west wing and the main building. the main building rooms are FAR superior to the others so insist to stay in a rennovated room in the main building.If you are lucky enough to get a deluxe room overlooking the HUGE swimming pool, these are actually really nice rooms. ( sorry... 45 Chinese TV channels and not one in English ) Most of the staff speak very little English so be prepared. the beds are ROCK HARD in all the rooms. The hotel claims a western restaurant. Please dont be fooled. Its not. You have to pay and get a voucher for breakfast before dining . Secret ! they have a proper espresso machine behind the counter. you have to insist that you want it and that you are willing to pay ( 38 rmb) if you really want a reasonable coffe in the morning. Be aware that you are far from everything. taxi ride to city centre approx 40 rmb and depending on the traffic 30-35 mins.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
1
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We rented the apartment expecting to have some commodity since we were travelling with kids. The apartment has a kitchen but no utensils at all. No even glasses or plates. So if you are expecting to use a minimal functionality forget about it.
The air con is fixed to 26 degrees Celsius. I is impossible to lower the temperature, so when it is sunny the temperature at the apartment is high and not very pleasant.
I will not be staying again. I think it needs to improve.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osseja_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Had some business meeting in Guangzhou, baiyun area for one day. Was told to stay at this hotel since it is a 5 star hotel close to where the meeting was held as other international hotels were located very far in other districts. The setting of the hotel is mainly oriented towards the local taste. It is a resort like with a huge swimming pool. However, somehow i was depressed staying there. TV in the room reminded me of the TV at my grandparents house, a 20yr old set. Bed had a piece of wood and a very thin layer matress on it, not at all good for having a comfortable sleep. The layout is a bit tired and old. Don't know how to express myself with this one, but having stayed in the best hotels, this one doesn't match my taste at all. Don't get me wrong here, it's not that there is dog poo on the floors, or a stinky smell anywhere, it is just the feel, doesn't offer anything for my taste.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildmandxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

There are 2 Yihe Hotels in Guangzhou, this review is for the Summer Palace in Baiyun District.
I have stayed in the Yihe hotel a number of times over the past 2 years on business. It is about 30 mins from the train station, quite far out of central Guangzhou, so you will need to take a taxi everywhere you go. Some mornings I would wait 30 minutes for a taxi in the lobby, the bell boys run down to the street to get you one. Then it is 20 mins (approx 50RMB) to the centre.
The grounds are gorgeous. There is a huge outdoor swimming pool which is shared with all the apartments, but is quiet on a morning for a swim. When you book ask for a room facing the back and you have a great view of this. After a day working in Guangzhou it is very relaxing.
The staff are friendly and speak basic English. This means they often get your room service order wrong, and if something breaks are not much help.
The rooms are spacious, the beds hard but comfy. Showers are rubbish and baths are small but useable. Rooms are quite dark so difficult to do too much work, the rooms have internet access but you need to pay about 30 RMB a day.
The western restaurant serves edible food. Its not what you would expect in a 5 star hotel, but to grab something quickly it is fine. The breakfast is very chinese but do have eggs and toast.
If you want to relax and explore the Baiyun Mountain this hotel would be perfect. For business I would recommend staying somewhere else.
I keep going back to this hotel as it is great value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Check in took about 20 minuets as they could'nt find the booking. Rooms were basic and trying to figure out the waste plugs in sinks and bath needed a degree in plumbing.
Mini Bar was never stocked in the five days of stay. No Bar but could get a drink in lobby, with no atmosphere. Night Club ok for the welloff. Probably where it got itys name from The Weathy Mans Club, think it was a glorified knocking shop. Location in the middle of no-where. Restraunts basic. Tried the Chinese but looking at the menu walked straight out. Very little English spoken by staff and when you consider the size of the Conferance facility not very good. Not a place to stay for enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisorganisedUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I booked for King size bed, but when I checked in they upgraded me to 1 bedroom apartment. Nice, clean & excellent service. Close to all Indian & Arabic restaurants. Shopping street Beijing lu is only 10 minutes away.

  • Liked — Location , price, service, quality
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank s_hiroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
6.0 mi away
Yihe Business Hotel
Yihe Business Hotel
#290 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
64 reviews
6.0 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#42 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
391 reviews
6.0 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#37 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
2,532 reviews
6.3 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
606 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,448 in Guangzhou
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangzhou Yihe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangzhou Yihe Hotel

Property: Guangzhou Yihe Hotel
Address: Summer Palace, Tongtai Road, Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510440, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,572 of 3,448 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangzhou Yihe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Guangzhou Yihe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing