We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive amenities, service is akward”
Review of Nansha Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nansha Grand Hotel
Ranked #82 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel almost every year since it opened. The facilities and property are beautiful and well landscaped. The spa has well trained staff. The pools are stunning.
The breakfast is good, the restaurants are good for chinese food. Language can be a problem. Some staff are much more fluent than others and it can be a challenge to get what you want. However, they are very polite and helpful and usually try their best to serve.
They have big plasma tv's with some english channels. Most of the rooms have beautiful sea views, some including views of the landscaped gardens and pools. The grounds are massive with a grassy full sized football field and other sporting areas. I know that there are bikes for hire to go around the area altough I have never ventured out.
The rooms are starting to feel damp since my last stay. Nothing too noticable but since I have been there several times, I feel the difference. The shower stalls are begining to look slightly worn. The language training for the staff can definitely be improved.
Overall, a good place for families with children to stay- as there is LOTS of space to run around.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

I stay for four nights from Sunday to April for a convention organized by the company and my 1st impression about this hotel was 'man! this hotel is in the middle of nowhere". I took a taxi from Baiyun airport and the taxi driver had to ask almost 10 people for directions.
The hotel interior is impressive with nice lobby and good layout. The room is bug with all the basic amenities. The TV channel however is disssppointing with only 4 English channels (CNN, HBO, ESPN,CCTV World) with the price I paid for the room ~RMB680++
The gym and spa is located in a separate building and facilities is top notch except the fact that the lighting at the gym is bad...the light was barely enough at the gym
In all, it was nice experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukri_karim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2006

For what is essentially a factory town the hotel facility is brand new and quite amazing. The pool rivals anything you have ever seen in Las Vegas (minus the horrible China smog) and the rooms are all suites with huge sitting rooms, plasma tvs, and amazing bathroom amenities.

The service though does not quite measure up to the facility. There are lots of people to assist you and they try hard but they just don't understand 5 star service standards and most do not speak more than a few words of English. Also the hotel while only a 5 min walk from the ferry is basically in the middle of nowhere so we had to eat every meal at the hotel. While there are five restaurants none of them are great. The Chinese one is probably the best.

Overall great building, great rooms, lots of potential but still not ready for prime time. But for the location its very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GlobalLuxuryCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2006

I enjoyed my stay at the Nansha Grand Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they even opened the fitness centre early for me. The fitness centre is just a temporary one - the 'proper' one has not been completed yet - but will be impressive once it has been finished.
The swimming pool is huge - I went for a swim one evening and had the whole pool to myself.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fleawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2005

This is a brand new hotel - so facilities like fitness center, italian restaurent, japanese restaurent are not operational - the hotel folks say it is most probably 1Q2006. They do have one cafe and a good chinese restaurent. One large outdoor pool and no, the floaties in the pool aren't some upset of the septic system but fallout from nearby power stations.

Notwithstanding that this hotel is about 2 hours from Guangzhou, 45 mins from the closest town, Panyu, it is conveniently located next to the brand new ferry terminal from HK. It is now surrounded by bush and new (almost empty) buildings.

However, the rooms are clean, staff are friendly and try very hard to please (not many speak english).

If you are looking to eat at more than one restaurent, want to have the opportunity to shop, nightlife, you might have to stay somewhere else. But if you wish a clean place to stay, have a quiet rest after work, this place is it.

3  Thank Quokkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank 332,690,142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Nansha Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Nansha Hotel
#81 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
3 reviews
35.8 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun
#27 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
453 reviews
18.8 mi away
Royal Marina Plaza
Royal Marina Plaza
#79 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
Phoenix City Hotel Guangzhou
#75 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
382 reviews
31 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
656 reviews
33 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nansha Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nansha Grand Hotel

Address: No.1 Trade Second South Road, New Coastal City, Nansha District, Guangzhou 511458, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#81 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £61 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nansha Grand Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nansha Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nansha Grand Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing