We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Ranked #25 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“going downhill”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have stayed hear for the last few years for the Canton Fair. In the past it has always been a fairly good value during the fair period but not any longer. The rooms are a bit shabby and the breakfast buffet has seen better days (the coffee was terrible).
Worst of all it seems that they shut down or limit the air conditioning at around 3:00am so by the time you wake up you are in a sweat and the breakfast room was like a sauna. Not much fun to sweat before work.
The dinner choices are very limited and communication with the lounge staff was poor.
I think the next time I go to Guangzhou I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASHP222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    138
    45
    11
    3
See reviews for
8
6
17
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heilbronn, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

It is my first comment on Tripadvisor, but i am so p.. about this Hotel it is unreal.
The Service is awful, everybody is just Standing around and steering in the air! the WLAN does not work at all. Sometimes but this is a business Hotel and i am spending 150€ a night during the canton fair.
And they try to rip you off any chance they get!
I have been in many Hotels in China but this is by far the worst! So please mind it!
The breakfast buffet is not a buffet, they have one sort of sousage, 3 of cheese, the bread and toast are low-quality. Mind the evening buffet they charge you 40$ for nothing, all the dishes i have tried were cold!
The rooms are ok, but i have found some hairs in the bath room.

Overall, as i said it, it is a shame for Ramada to gave the licence to a Investment Group! This Hotel is not runned by Ramada it is private owned...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel on January 13 with my girlfriend and booked it via Ctrip.

This hotel is located on the side of a highway and I came here via taxi. The bellboy came right away to take my luggage and the check in was fast. On the way up, I noticed the elevator did not require a key card like other 5 star hotels so that was a bit surprising. The view from the elevator is great because it is transparent and you can have a view of Guangzhou East Station.

The room does not convey opulence like other hotels but rather a more business like feel but still nonetheless the ambiance is great. The bathroom is pretty spacious with the usual amenities. Do note that if you plan to take some of the amenities with you like the shower gels, they are easy to open it is advisable to put it in a separate bag. Our room was at the back of the hotel. The view isn't much, a mountain and a condominium in front of it. However, I was surprised at how quiet the hotel was considering we were next to a highway, even when I opened the window.

I tried both the Chinese and Western restaurant. The restaurants are located on opposite ends of the hotel. The Chinese restaurant and the food was surprisingly decent and not expensive. For the Western restaurant, the fish was a bit bland, but the soups and fried rice was good.

The service was prompt and the concierge was very earnest in helping me find a place I wanted to go to, even letting me step behind the counter to look at the online map. The restrooms in the lobby was very nice but there was a overwhelming smell of mothballs.

The location of this hotel is not the most convenient. You have a walk a bit to get to the nearest subway station exit, exit J, and you have to cross a pedestrian bridge. Do note that certain exits like exit J do not connect you to the Guangzhou East Railway Train Station. You can also walk a bit further and go through a pedestrian tunnel and through the tunnel you are on the other side where there is a KFC and where you can walk to the other popular parts of Tianhe.

From the hotel, it is walkable to decent shops and restaurants, it is just takes a bit of time. Start walking to the left of the hotel and after 10 or so minutes you will see a street full of it.

Overall, while the location of this hotel is not the most convenient, it is still accessible and despite being on the highway, a quiet and relaxing night's rest is certain.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This hotel was one of my fav. hotels in gaungzhou.
I was there several times in the past 6 vears.
Unfortunately now this is not longer a business traveler hotel...
Some samples:
- wifi is not working...
- cable internet in room is very very very slow and dosen't works often...
- they toke out the minibar from the rooms
- lot of things on menu in rest. is no available
- NO real "non smoking rooms" available. also the "non somking rooms" smells terrible from cold smoke. i chaged the room two times... after a give it up....
Management says: "somethimes we haven't engouth smoking-rooms than we give the "non smoking rooms" for in room smoking guests...

Reception-People & Room Cleaner are friendly and helpful.... but the can't help.... it is, like it is.

Room Tip: sorry, there is no tip - i changed the room three times, but didn't find good room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I booked this hotel due to it's location next to fair complex.
1- Arrival from Guangzhou Airport is just through underground metro from the airport - direct to Guangzhou east railway station, then exit J & cross the street. You are there! - Please mind there are steps if you do carry lots of luggage
Cost is 7 RMB (Around 1.1USD)!
2- Check in: I booked my room through Ramada website since it has a super saver package with Breakfast & including 1 dinner / stay. Although when i arrived, i only found the reservation on room only basis , even without breakfast?!
So, after 14 hours of flight duration, i should expect a fast check in, but it took me over 45 mins to scan my ID. Pay the room, pay deposit, exchange money, it was very tiring and shouldn't take that long in such 5* hotels
3- Room was upgraded to Suite which has a big living room, 2 LCD TVs Fax machine, computer, Upgrades are nice!
4- Breakfast: It is good with some western stuff to eat, although most of it was Chinese food but overall it is ok
5- Swimming pool is extremely cold, although the weather is around 24-28 degrees, the water temp was 15 degrees.
6- The fitness center is over priced for entrance, you pay around 400RMB for using the sauna, shower, Jacuzzi..etc Although for extra 40 RMB you can take a massage which can be a good value
At the end, staff is polite, willing to help, do their best to understand English.

Room Tip: Backside has no view! Choose he front side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here for the Canton Fair, for a week and I was very happy with my stay. Great friendly staff, very clean, great rooms and great comfy bed ( for Asian Standards). Only thing I would say about this hotel is the location. There is nothing around the hotel, and you can not walk anywhere. There is the metro station about 10 min walk, and there are plenty of taxi's around, taxis here are very cheap. Make sure you use a meter taxi.
The hotel has 2 restaurants, but I only ate in the Western restaurant, I thought the breakfast buffet had plenty of western and asian selections. The lounge is a nice spot to relax at the end of the day.
I will stay at this hotel again if i am here for business. If you are here to visit you may consider another hotel within city limits and walking distance to attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adolmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Ugly:
Location is not good. Far from main shops, and right on the highway. Internet connection is close to non existent (extremely slow), which can be very troublesome in a business trip. Chinese food is ok, but if you are not into that the other options are awfull.
The Good:
The rooms are pretty spacious, well maintained and the bathroom is great. The gym is good (not great), and the Staff is very nice and pleasant.

It is not a bad hotel at all, but on business trip you really need a at least ok internet connection, and it is difficult to get around. The Marriot in Tianhe, for almost the same price is a better option

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.3 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#28 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
643 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
9.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou - Science City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Leeden Hotel
Leeden Hotel
#31 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Hotel
Ocean Hotel
#42 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
390 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
Ramada Pearl Guangzhou
#63 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Guangzhou

Property: Ramada Plaza Guangzhou
Address: No.313 Shougouling Road, East Guangyuan Road, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510610, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
#38 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Plaza Guangzhou 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Ramada Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing