We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #24 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Compliments”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before. The location is excellent as it lies in the pedestrian mall type of shopping.

I had a problem where my shirt was burnt when using the hotel's iron....but the Front Manager Kevin came to address my problem professionally....I was happy with the way he handled the situation.

I would certainly come back again to stay at this hotel in my next Canton Fair trip. (However, it would do this hotel good to have its own Canton Fair registration team and better bus trips....ie just like the other Holiday Inn at City Centre).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aDusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    426
    78
    15
    10
See reviews for
117
96
46
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We booked the premium room and it is big, around 700 sq. clean and simple design room and bathroom. Has tub and stand shower, bathroom is as big as the living room itself. Staff are mostly nice. The location is so convenience that food and shopping malls are just downstairs. If this is your first time in China and this is your first hotel, you might thing the location is ugly and dirty. But most of the city in China are like that, busy, lots of people, food everywhere.

Room Tip: Don't need to upgrade for a view, because this hotel is in town and no view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Being located in a bustling location in Guangzhou, this hotel offers the convenience that one would desire. Staff were helpful in providing very good recommendations for restaurants. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

First, the hotel staff I found to be very friendly. The lobby is very clean and the buffet restaurant is nice and offers something for everyone. The first impression of the room was how nice and spacious the room was with a large dressing area as well as a large bathroom. There was a nice fruit platter upon arrival and a large picture window offering a view of a more traditional Canton neighborhood. After being in the room for a while and taking a closer look, the room was in terrible need of a deep cleaning. The carpet was stained, the walls dirty and the bathroom unfortunatley, loaded with mold. It must be tough keeping up with the mold because the heat and humidity while I was in Guangzhou was extremely high. On a better note, the sheets very white, crisp and clean. As far as location, I would not recommend this location over Shamian Island if you need to be in this part of Guangzhou. They mention this is a great area for shopping, it if for teenage styles and sizes only. Cheap clothing is sold in the crowded pedestrian street adjacent to the hotel. I found better shopping along the Beijing Road where I met friends for dinner. Beijing road was also much cleaner.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good location if you like shopping and there are many restaurants nearby. The shortfalls is not easy to get a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyliketravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geithus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is nice, but the prices are like in Norway, over 250 NOK for breakfast (it was good though) and 10 NOK just for printing one page! The location was terrible, in the middle of some slum, with terrible smells, and poor dogs and cats wheeling trapped inside small cages, hated it there, so we left early. The staff spoke neraly English.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We moved from another GZ hotel into Holiday Inn Shifu, we immediately noticed the superior services, from the manner of how our 3 suitcases were unloaded from taxi, how they held the door and elevator, how they delivered luggage to our room, well trained excellent services. Large marble lobby on 4th floor, our room on 11th floor is very spacious, double size of many Guangzhou hotel rooms, such as Garden hotel regular rooms, high quality room. Large and good quality breakfast buffet, limited selections in the Chinese breakfast area. Dinner buffet was not very impressive and expensive at 300+ yuan per person.

Bus to Canton Fair is 3 each way per day, less frequency than some other high end Guangzhou hotels, 30 minutes each way.

The location is exceptional, the best location if one wants to be in the center of the busiest Shanxiajiu shopping street in Guangzhou, there are shops and restaurants everywhere you turn. Located in the old part of Guangzhou with narrow streets and small shops, but actual traffic speed is no worse than other parts of Guangzhou. Our room overlooks the Shanxiajiu street, interesting to see the crowd on the street.

Holiday Inn Shifu is an excellent business and vacation hotel, we will certainly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacJourney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
570 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
598 reviews
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#32 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing