We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Guangzhou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #24 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels in Guangzhou”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

For my trip to the Canton fair this October I chose this hotel due to its location. Although located in the downtown area far from the fair and a good distance from the mtr station, it is for me a perfect place. Shopping is right at the back of the hotel. Street food as well as restaurants and coffee shops are nearby. Nightlife in this area is never boring. The hotel itself is quite good with a comfortable bed and a choice of soft and hard pillows. Bathroom is amusing which has a clear glass wall facing the bed; conducive for romance but weird if you are with friends or family, although it has blinds for privacy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    418
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
115
93
46
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel is located right on the pedestrian street which is a great place to take a stroll and soak in the sights. Loads of shops around but being a major attraction, the prices are on the higher side.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful, especially the bellhop (I think Justin) who would always write down on a card, where we wanted to go, which we would then show the taxi driver. The rest of the staff too is polite and friendly and make you feel welcome. Also, we were upgraded and the room was quite spacious. We also got our money changed at the hotel itself as they offered the same rate as the banks.
There is a rooftop pool, but I never got a chance to check it out :( Also I should add, the hotel is a bit far off from the more upscale TianHe area. Also the shuttle from the airport to the Canton fair takes about an hour, so anyone looking to stay here during the period of the fair should keep that in mind.
Overall we had a great stay and would definitely recommend it to any other travellers here :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the pedestrian street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhruv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, was almost put off due to the location. The staff are very helpful, friendly and will go out of their way to help. The room was very big, lovely bathroom, had a separate bath and shower. Super comfy bed, I usually find it hard to sleep on a different bed from mine, on this I slept like a baby. Food is fantastic if you go downstairs, but the room service food is not the best. Would I stay in this hotel again YES. The hotel is central and you can walk to do your shopping. The Internet is not perfect but liveable.

Room Tip: To be honest, the location seems noisy especially as it is so close to Liwan plaza, but once you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonkiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My second time at this hotel, I was upgraded to a Suite as the hotel was fully booked. The room was massive with a separate lounge and bathroom as big as a board room. The internet connections in this hotel continued to drop out for the 2 days we were here. The club level was well worth it as the snack food was enough for dinner. The hallways are a bit smelly but the rooms are very clean with no smell. The business centre was okay but the language barrier caused a few problems. Comfortable beds and good water pressure in the big clean showers. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Use the Club - its worth the upgrade - but better value if you do it when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Simply love this hotel in GZ. Had stayed in both Holiday Inns in GZ but the one has prime location where shopping and food are easily found. This is a tourist hotel whilst Holiday Inn City Centre is a business hotel but also very good. This hotel has big hotel rooms and overall service staff are good too. Most importantly, hotel is within SIFU area where there are lots of shops and stores. The place is active from noon till night. I have stayed in this hotel for all my trips in GZ todate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dordor-Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I loved this hotel, expecially the super comfortable beds, which are not easy to find in China. The pillows are great too ! The service was wonderful with English understood for everything we needed.
The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance of Liwan Plaza, right on the pedestrian street, lots of restaurants, spas etc very close by.
Nothing was too much trouble and the staff , especially the boys downstairs went out of there way to help us. The hotel rates are very reasonable and my only complaint would be the food prices, which are pretty up there for China. We will stay again on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenasia, Gauteng
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

The benefits of been a priority club gold member was upgraded to a business room and given free drink vouchers. Warm welcome and concierge very helpful and speaks very good English. Room was spacious and bathroom was huge. Lots of shopping just outside the hotel with lots of restaurants all around. Guangzhou railway station about 30mins from hotel. Metro station is 10mins walk. Overall good hotel in old section of Guangzhou

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIA786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jianguo Hotel
#29 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
White Swan Hotel
#18 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#35 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing