We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #23 of 3,435 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room is spacious and well furnished, beddings and pillows are very comfortable and air con works perfectly. The hotel is well managed and the staff are well trained and very helpful.

The hotel is in the "old town" of Guangzhou and there are a few Chinese restaurants within one or two minutes' walk serving Cantonese style Yum Cha, lunch and dinner. We stayed in Tianhe area on the way back and found the food in Tianhe area a lot better in terms of both variety and quality. For sightseeing, this hotel is a short taxi ride to Sha Mian Island and Chen Jia Ci.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qipao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    431
    78
    15
    10
See reviews for
118
96
47
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Booked a triple sharing superior room and was fortunately upgraded to a suite. Hotel staff are friendly and hotel is clean. This hotel is situated in the middle of Shang Xia Liu pedestrian shopping street. On the other side of the hotel is a pet street selling pet dogs, cats, birds, pet food and accessories. At the end of pet street, there is another street selling Chinese herbs. There are plenty of food choices (KFC, McDonald, Guangzhou restaurant (famous for their dim sum). Will stay in this hotel again if I visit Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggiMee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was just ther two weeks ago, and since I was on a bussiness trip for a trading fair, we allways had breakfast at the hotel. The price was somewhere in the 35 USD per person. Since time was more important we did not care that much.
Staff was incredible. Ask for Simon, the bellboy.
For some reason We booked another room afetr the fair was over and the price of the room was considerably lower, very undertsandable (demand), but food was also half price. That I cant believe, since is food, if any, it should be lower.

Room Tip: Taxi cab for this hotel are very hard to find, they dont like to go to this part of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Shifu is loctaed just at the pedestrian area in Guangzhou and are near the old town and the local markets. There is huge shopping possibilities nearby but not many restaurants and bars. The hotel is nice with spacious rooms. The room I stayed in was a little worn. Very expensive minibar and bar at the hotel. The WiFi is not free and if you choose to use it you must be very patient - it is extremely slow. Nice big pool at the roof where the fair gym also is located. Breakfast buffet has a good variety of Chinese and western meals. Serviceminded and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Nice clean room - Holiday Inn standards. Friendly & helpful reception staff. Hotel at convenient location - close to restaurants & Pedestrisn Street/shops. Good selection of Chinese & western food for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmaker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here when we arrived at china and it was the best decision ever. It's bang in the middle of the bustling pedestrian street. Great shopping all around. Rooms nice and huge. View average. No free wifi in rooms. Staff very helpful. Definitely recommend if u wanna stay in the older parts of gaungzhou .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salonisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We are a mid fifties couple who stayed here for 3 days after a 2 week tour of China. This hotel is fantastic, from the minute we arrived we were made to feel special. The first thing we noticed was the beautiful smell that was thru the hotel foyer. Check in was quick, as were our bags to our room. The room was beautiful, usual supplies, toiletries, water and a fruit platter was a nice touch. Staff are very polite, speak excellent English, always smiling. They cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is superb, lots of choices, nice bar area very intimate. Location wise, you walk out of the hotel and you are in the main pedestrian shopping street. Highly recommend this hotel, one of the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Executive rooms include an executive lounge if you want to have breakfast away from the main restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#28 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing