We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never judge a book from the cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #23 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in December 2012. First impressions on arrival are not good. The approach is through busy narrow streets and there is limited vehicle access and certainly not the expected grand HI entrance. The hotel foyer appears to be in a shopping alley and visitors are confronted with local restaurant cooking smells. However after taking a lift to Reception on level 4 all impressions change. We were blown away by what turned out to be one of our the best hotel stays we have ever experienced. The reception lobby is spacious and inviting. All public areas were clean and sparkling. Reception and Concierge staff are very friendly, efficient and very helpful. All our booking details were quickly recovered and we were quickly and efficiently shown to our room. Our baggage arrived shortly after. Our room was clean and comfortable, everything worked and an excellent range of toiletries is provided and replentished daily. The ensuite was roomy and very clean. The only maintenance required was three patches of peeling wallpaper. Linen and towels were clean and fresh. The location turned out to be great for shopping and local restaurants. In all we were disappointed that we had to leave. Congratulations to Management and all staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockyj837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

When you return from the hustling bustling street of Guangzhou to your hotel room to retreat, you will find as though you have just returned to paradise. The rooms are spacious and bathroom is clean. There is a weighing scale in the bathroom. Proper amenities are provided. Hair conditioner is also provided. Very thoughtful of the management. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on arrival. The only downside during my stay was due to the overflow of the toilet bowl. We then requested for a room change and was transferred to another deluxe room in an instant. We appreciate the front desk staffs efficiency and patience with us. There is a soccer pool table on the upper floor near the swimming pool. It was provided free of charge and my kids had plenty of fun there. Swimming pool and gymnasium are located on the same floor where sauna and changing rooms appears clean.
A nice and pleasant stay overall where staffs are striving hard to make everything possible for guests. There is a manicure and pedicure outlet next to the hotel. No free parking even for hotel guests. Merely offered a certain discount rate. Accessories sold along the small lanes and stalls are much cheaper than those offered by the retail shops. Walk further away from the hotel and you will find better bargain on garments and accessories. There are many cafes around this area. Avoid going out during rush hour though to avoid the horrendous traffic congestion in and out of this area. Note: Would appreciate if the management can consider cleaning the room wallpapers/wall which are quite stained.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TYYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Shifu in Guangzhou for three nights. The overall experience was negative. The room was dirty, with the floors and the bathroom walls stained with who knows what, and the environmental controls did not work (it was freezing in the room). Aside from the mediocre room, I was shocked at the abrupt and rude attitude of the hotel staff. I have stayed in many Asian hotels, and the staff is ALWAYS eager to serve and stands out as some of the most polite people I have encountered. Not so at this hotel. We actually had our breakfast bill thrown at us! We looked at our own behavior to see if we were causing the problems, but this seemed to be a very isolated situation. We were perplexed and a bit offended. There are many hotels in Guangzhou--go have fun somewhere else. I wish we had.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

The room is huge and comfortable. Good location for shopping but not so great for taxi to come as some don't know how to get to the entrance. Even my friend grumble when knowing that they have to pick me up from the hotel, as the streets around the area is one-way. Sometimes getting out for the area is a problem for cars n taxi. However apart from the problem in transport, this hotel is perfect for me. Room is huge n I can shop til 9pm, that's when shops right at your doorstep closes. Service is wonderful too and I hope to be back here next time I come Guangzhou again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coralie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel’s centrally located, nearby a pedestrian precinct. Many shops all around. The rooms are somewhat old fashion but comfortable. I don’t really like the bathroom.
The buffet breakfast is served. For Western taste there is a buffet area, where also the breakfast is served. Wide choice, eggs, the chef prepares a too, basically everyone found something. Tasted it was sufficient however the great breakfast buffet from Hong Kong over, where I recently had been.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARNOUX2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This was our 2nd trip to Holiday Inn Shifu - September 2012 and again the hotel was great.

This time we travelled with our two children, we had a very large and very clean twin room.

The location is wonderful - straight out the doors and you are on Pedestrian Street, great shopping and lots of places to eat.

It was a bit of a walk to the subway, but we still did it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This hotel is all about its location. It is located in Liwan district with immediate access to Shangxia Jiu St (shopping and food). Walk the other way and it leads you to QingPing Lu for pet shops and rows and rows and buildings of Chinese dried goods which are sold at wholesale prices! An overhead bridge further from QingPing will lead you to Shamian Island - all within walking distance. This is important for our 3 nights stay, as it rained for 2 days and we still get to enjoy the best of Guangzhou.

Room:
- Very big but smells damp, rather dated and poorly maintained. Its furnishing is as expected of a 4-star hotel
- Bed is very comfortable and that is a redeeming factor
- Bath room has a blind that separates the glass wall which was dirty and worned.
- the tap water (not sure if its in this part of China) after boiling comes with a unique taste. So had to buy more bottled water, although 2 free bottles given.
- the hotel only accept certain currency for changing money and unfortunately, Singapore $ is not one of them
- When we checked in at 4pm, one of our 3 rooms was not ready! We were asked to go in at 5pm. Had to request for a change of room as the one that was the last to be ready was reeking of cigrette smell.
- Although next the major shopping street, the room was very quiet and we could sleep well.

Service
- professional reception and concierge service.
- asked for extra kids pillow from housekeeping and although prompt, I find it strange that the lady had to barge into my room to pass the pillows to my kids... she was expecting a tip.

Location for great food/mani-pedi and shopping
- coming back to location, if you are staying here, or shopping at ShangXia - must try Lian Xiang Lou. It is one of the over hundred years old Cantonese restaurant that is still around. The food was fantastic and the price reasonable. We had many meals here and every meal and dish was unforgettable.
- GuangZhou restaurant, another "founding restaurant" of Cantonese cuisine is right across the street and can be seen from our room. The food is pleasant (winner of many awards) and focuses on bringing out the natural food taste, which can be bland to some. Price is about double that of Lian Xiang Lou.
- There is a nail parlour just next to the hotel. Very reasonably priced and although I had my nails done at 10.15pm after all the shopping, they were still smiling and attentive.
- We could also bring up our shopping bags and go down for another round of shopping!

Based on the above, I will still come back to this hotel and will recommend it to anyone visiting GZ who love good food and shopping (economical). As long as the hotel and room's standard does not deteriorate any further...

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the Shangxia Jiu shopping street. It will not be noisy. If its facing the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOTRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Jianguo Hotel
#27 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#33 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
598 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#33 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £73 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing