We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location to enjoy local food and shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #23 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“great location to enjoy local food and shopping”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Don't be surprised that it's rated at 4 stars: a lot of the Holiday Inns in China are upscale hotels, instead of the usual "nice motel" you find in the USA.

You can't beat this location. Bustling shopping area; and it feels great to be able to pick up some street food downstairs after midnight. The area is very old-fashioned authentic Guangzhou-style. If you are coming to Guangzhou for the first time, this hotel is probably a good place to start from.

My room was nice and spacious. Lobby had beautiful Christmas decorations when I visited too. The buffet breakfast provided a nice spread for both western and Chinese food at reasonable price. There was even a little canal in the restaurant. IHG member recognition and treatment were very good.

The hotel does show some age but the management tries their best to keep it up to date. The only problem I ran into was bathroom glass door didn't close tightly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable staying comments during your recent stay in our property. We are pleased to learn of that you were satisfied with overall service deliveries during the whole process of staying experience. For any further comment or enquiry, please send e-mail to serviceenquiry@holidayinnshifugz.com. Once again, thanks for your comments and hope to be seeing you on next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    430
    78
    15
    10
See reviews for
118
96
47
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Staying here for two nights. Hotel is on a major shopping area with one side a total pedestrian walk and a small street on the other. Might be hard to get to with most taxis. I got a taxi from the immigration terminal that I thought was a mistake at first (380 RMB) about $60 American,but they picked me up in a new car and took me directly to the front door. Hotel staff is nice. I got room 1215 on the Exec floor facing the street. VERY NOISY. Then at 11pm everything closes but all night construction across the way was so noisy it was impossible to sleep. Asked for a room change which was not granted. Don't go if you dont like a noisy crowded area. Construction is going on now while I write this. Wait a few years. Staff is wonderful. Rooms are large American style rooms. Carpet is filthy as with most Chinese hotels.I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest, Much grateful for your unvarying staying and thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your feedback is very important for us to ensure ongoing satisfaction to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have just arrived at Holiday Inn Shifu. After staying here before, it being close to area we need to stay, we made sure the booking included breakfast. BUT now they say that breakfast for 4 nights, 2 people, we must pay an EXTRA 828 rmb, around $200aud. It doesn't show up on the receipt that I have anything about breakfast, but I know that when I booked the room, the main thing I checked when paying, was that breakfast be included. I requested non smoking room, room smells of cigarette smoke.

The hotel is nice in reception area, the room is clean and spacious, apart from stink of cigarette smoke.

Asked about late check in (4 hrs), they want half a night extra money, which I think is a bit steep.

The staff are helpful, but really I think we have been a bit ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest,Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu. We apologize for the inconvenient and upset experience that you had during the period. Necessary training is provided to the entire team to improve the service. We appreciate your views regarding your stay, and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights in late December. Ample space in the deluxe room that we booked. Service was fine, except for the slight lapse at check-in. We arrived after 3pm, with a confirmed booking that we made over a month prior to arrival. So it was a little puzzling when we were told that our room wasn't available as the room had yet to be cleaned following the late check-out of a priority member. Eh... isn't late check-out on request? If so, why should the next guest with a booking confirmed over a month ago be made to wait? To be fair, the frontdesk staff were apologetic and worked to get the room ready in about half an hour. The hotel's location -- near a buzzling pedestrain shopping area, though yet still quiet enough for a good night's sleep -- was fine. Proximity to food joints, including those that serve up local breakfast fare, and also to spots like Shamian Island and Qingping market, was a certain plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalangm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your kind word. It is our pleasure to ensure a great stay and memorable experience for our guests, and many thanks for your valued feedback and encouragement to us. We would look forward to having you stay with us in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

The staff are extremely helpful, BUT you have to speak basic and pigeon English for them to understand. Sometimes they smile and say yes,yes, but have no idea what you are talking about. The hotel is clean and tidy, but I am not sure they know what carpet cleaners are! We have been staying here on and off for 4 years and the carpets in all the rooms that we have stayed in have drink staines all over them. Or that is what we hope they are! The Executive Floor and Lounge is well worth the extra money. You get a reasonable breakfast and then Happy Hour in the early evening with food and a good selection of branded spirits, beer and wine on offer. We found if you had lunch during the day the food at Happy Hour was sufficient. If not there are loads of places to eat nearby.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 74JoeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I was deeply concerned to learn of your staying experience concerning your recent stay with us.
At the outset, please accept my unreserved apologies that you were not satisfied with your overall experience in the property in which room facilities & cleanliness and staff attitude were singled out. I would like to apologize, we have no excuse in this respect.
With regard to room facilities, indeed we have worked out a Capex plan which will be carried out from year 2014 onwards to have all worn in-room facilities replaced by a phase-in approach.
Once again, we are sorry and hope that this kind of experience will not deter you from staying with us in future.
Wish you all the best and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This Hotel sunrich has a very good location and in your room you will have breathtaking overlook to all the new skycrapers of the city. Room is perfect as the hotel. Very good stay even though I found the hotel a bit too big in the end. I would come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to ensure a great stay and memorable experience for our guests, and many thanks for your valued feedback with encouragement to us. We would look forward to having you stay with us in a near future.
With all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Excellent location. Great rooms. A little pricey tho.

Everything is walking distance from this hotel.

Only problem is, there's only free Wifi in the lobby. For a hotel this posh, you could at least provide free Wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for having chosen Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Shifu during your recent visit to Guangzhou!
We are pleased to learn of that you enjoyed staying with us particularly during which you were satisfied with hotel location and felt being safe of lodging with us.
It is always gratifying to receive a complimentary comment like yours, we hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#16 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
485 reviews
Yuexiu District
China Hotel, A Marriott Hotel, Guangzhou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Property: Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#23 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#29 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing