We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting location and wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Ranked #24 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend on a trip to China. The hotel is in the middle of what does and will feel like the shopping district. The outside can become very crowded and I found that just plain awesome. Street food, shops, and vendors of all types to be found. The area around the hotel is worth the price of the hotel. Very near the Wenhau Park and Huangsha stations, so be prepared to walk a couple of blocks. The walk is worth it, though. You will start to get the feel of Shifu and see many things you'll want to leave the hotel for so you can explore the area. The room itself was lovely, with a great view of the surrounding district. Bed was nice, bathroom was large, as was the room itself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTMurdock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest, Much grateful for your unvarying staying and thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your feedback is very important for us to ensure ongoing satisfaction to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel offers a large clean room with wifi, king size comfortable bed, clean bathroom, good airco, very friendly staff, wide offer for breakfast ( ms Apple, the manager has everything under control). It is located in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the traditional shopping street right below.
The lobby is on the 4th floor so the initial impression can be a little bit shocking as the entrance is in front of traditional food area with the smell accompanying the guests into the elevator.
All in all a serious 4 star hotel. Have the reception write in large chinese its address, as the 50+ cab drivers are not able to read the printed cards written in a small lettertype.
Too expensive the western restaurant, ok the chinese one.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank dlcmilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your kind word. It is our pleasure to ensure a great stay and memorable experience for our guests, and many thanks for your valued feedback and encouragement to us. We would look forward to having you stay with us in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stay here every year when I visit Guangzhou. Everything works well and the staff are friendly and helpful. Also, with the Holiday Inn-badge comes a certain guarantee of comfort and cleanliness.

During the Canton fair, this hotel arranges free transportation to the exhibition center. The travel time is about 40 minutes.

The hotel is close to a local pedestrian shopping street, filled with Chinese fashion. The beautiful Shamian Island with its western restaurants is a walking distance away.

Room Tip: Higher is better, because of noises from the shopping street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaakko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest, Much grateful for your unvarying staying and thank you for taking time to write us a review. Your feedback is very important for us to ensure ongoing satisfaction to our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is very nice when it comes to the rooms, very cozy but if you are going to Canton fair forget it, it is 1 hour far from the event, all nearby the hotel is very dirty and ugly. Hotel staff are not fluent in english, they will only speak formal sentences, if you ask anything different from the usual, they will not respond.
As usual i exchanged 200 usd at the reception for my unfortune the reception manager gave me 600 RMB in fake notes. For one second I was distracted by the porter and the reception person gave me fake notes.
I will never stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu. We apologize for the inconvenient and upset experience that you had during the period. Once again, we are so sorry about that and manager on duty will conduted the case checking what the detailed happened.
Wish you all the best and sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The public areas and the rooms are nicely decorated and furnished. Modern, clean and comfortable. Club room was spacious, quiet with comfortable beds and good air-conditioning (which is needed because outside is very humid even in spring!). Good rainforest shower. Free wifi was fast and worked well.

The club lounge was very good - tea/coffee/soft drinks/cookies all day, open bar and canapes for 2 hours in the evening. While it wasn't the best variety or quality of food I've ever had in a club lounge, it was more than adequate and we didn't need dinner afterwards. Breakfast in the main restaurant was excellent with a great variety of western and asian dishes and a freshly cooked egg station - the restaurant is also nicely decorated (not the usual hotel-bland!), with a koi fish water feature in the middle.

Rooftop pool is good to cool down after a day of sightseeing and the gym is great with new modern equipment.

Staff try their best and are friendly but as in most of China there is a language barrier when you get beyond the basics.

Location is in 'old Guangzhou' and some of the surrounding streets are very 'local' but are very interesting to wander around - check out Qingping road for traditional shopping, or the pedestrian street outside the hotel for more modern shopping. The only slight negative is that the nearest metro is 10-15 minutes walk away. Also, be sure to take a map printed in Chinese otherwise taxi drivers will have no clue - ours had trouble even with a map!

Room Tip: Club rooms are great value
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu during your recent visit to Guangzhou.
We are pleased to learn of that you were satisfied with overall service delivery and staff engagement and interaction during the whole process of guest experience.
It is always gratifying to receive a complimentary comment like yours, we hope to be able to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel itself is excellent. With decent rooms and lobby, sincere services offered by staff makes me a pleasant stay.

However, after descending to G/F by lift, it's a whole different story. The hotel is located in old town area, which the surroundings are dirty, messy and full of disgusting smell. Watch your every step; you have a great chance to step on rubbish or even human poo.

Last, I'm not sure whether people are yelling too loud or the sound isolation measures are too bad, I can hear people talking loudly in room.

Room Tip: Pick room with old town view. If you like Chinese old stuff, you'll like it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raptor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Guangzhou Shifu during your recent visit to Guangzhou.
We are pleased to learn of that you were satisfied with overall service delivery and staff engagement and interaction during the whole process of guest experience. For bad smell from the main entrance street, we are working on this and will handle it properly soon.
Wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I frequently stay at holiday inn properties as this is a standard holiday inn. The room we had was a club suite which was perfect for a family of four. The room was spacious and clean. Hotel facilities were good. The club lounge food offering was poor especially the breakfast which was horrible we went to the restaurant instead. I did object to being charged full price for breakfast for my 6 and 7 year old when all other holiday inn provide it free of charge for kids and when I booked via their direct web site it advised that their breakfast was included. The price for the room was also expensive but it did have the conveninece of a shuttle service and registration office for the canton fair. The hotel is difficult for taxi drivers to find and given I dont speak chinese I was lucky that I had google translated the address otherwise I doubt we would of got there. The pool staff also didn't like the idea of the kids playing in the pool which was part of the reason why I booked to stay there as it gave my kids somewhere to play whilst my husband attended the trade fair. The pool attendant was constantly standing over them both of whom can swim it made them feel uncomfortable. The rooms were also a little noisy from the street noise but given how loud it is outside that I suppose it is to be expected. Lots of shopping around. the hotel. Dont rely on the bell service for directions they sent me and my kids in the complete wrong direction and was only when my husband pointed out that they had said the river was in a complete other direction... If I was going there again I would consider staying due to the trade fair services tehy provide.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCiliberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay experience in our property. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems happened and inconvenience caused in the whole process of service delivery.
I discussed your review words with department heads concerned and surely all necessary actions will be taken to avoid a repetition of similar case in future..
Once again, we are so sorry about that and hope to be able to welcome you back to in future days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
DoubleTree by Hilton Guangzhou
#18 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
579 reviews
11.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Guangzhou Dongpu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou City Centre
5.4 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
617 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jianguo Hotel
Jianguo Hotel
#31 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou

Address: No.188 Di Shu Fu Road, Liwan District, Guangzhou 510140, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#24 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#25 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#30 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £72 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou located in the historical cultural district of Liwan, where Guangzhou of yesteryear mixed with the today s vibrant modern age. In the midst of this hustle and bustle area, you will find a sanctuary in our hotel where you can unwind, recharge and be yourself in a friendly and comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou Hotel Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Guangzhou
Guangzhou Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing