We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place for tourists”
Review of New Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Century Hotel
Ranked #111 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent place for tourists”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was there 3 nights earlier this month. There is a shuttle bus travelling between Hong Kong and Guangzhou which only takes 3 hours and 10 bucks. And the destination is the hotel exactly. Since I have visited lots of different hotels at 4-star standard in mainland China, I got to say this one is really lovely and stands out .

My first impression towards it is about its grand and old china decoration style. The lobby is huge and nice. It also got fitness room, swimming pool , bar, a Western restaurant and a Chinese restaurant(I love it : traditional and the food are delicious). The room is clean and tidy. There are staff who can speak English and the breakfast provided is good.

But what really matters is its amazing location. It is like in the center of Huadu that we can have anything we want. Food , expensive or cheap , tradition or foreign, it's all around the area which takes one or two mins walking. Shopping, it got large shopping mall nearby and at night there are many hawkers around selling almost everything at incredibly low prices( I got to say it's a fun experience bargaining for the price.I got nice necklace at 1 buck and good eyeliner pen at 6RMB!).
All in all, it's a lovely hotel to visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stella k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    127
    61
    15
    10
See reviews for
12
30
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed due to a 24 hour gap between our flights. The hotel is lovely and has a pool and fitness centre. We had a lovely litle suite with nice big rooms. The staff are really friendly and most spoke english well. We had a buffet dinner which was really delicious. The buffet breakfast was really good too. The only negative was the hard bed but I still slept fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank quiet_traveller_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Staff - very helpful, adequate English
Room - clean, comfortable, everything works (Yes, the beds are hard, but that is the Asian standard! We slept very well. And no, no bedbugs in our room.)
Breakfast - very adequate, both from an Asian as well as from a European point of view

Transit - ah, now that's worth a paragraph: It seems China Southern is learning by leaps and bounds. Unlike what earlier reviewers experienced, our experience was excellent. China Southern staff met us right outside the plane, gave us a map of the airport, explained the whole process and where we would need to meet the free shuttle, were on time, took us to the hotel where the check-in was very smooth, timely wake-up call the next morning, transfer to airport on time. Really couldn't have been better!

Location - maybe technically not Guangzhou, but that didn't matter to us - we just wanted a transit hotel. In the morning we had time to explore a bit, walked to a local street market (where people apparently enjoyed having their pictures taken, thank you!), then had some tea in a tea house. We don't speak any Chinese, but it all went just fine!

Overall: It is not a 5-star hotel, but it provides a very good transit experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Come in this hotel many many times for business

It t is one of the best and cheap hotel I Huadu. Room is clean, service is nice (very poor english) and buffet breakfast is more then acceptable for price.

I tried also dinner buffet and chinese restaurant inside....It is ok.

But remember this Hotel id NOT in Ghuangzu is in Huadu. .huadu is 1 hr from Ghuangzu.
So check before book with is you area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank alessioflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night (room 808) in March as provided by china southen airline, receptionist was very friendly and warm welcome, the room was big and clean with good selection of tea. I enjoyed bath and green tea and nearly fell sleep. In the morning with buffe' breakfast it's exceeded expectation with a good variety food to choose from,plus all staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemonkey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixton london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Do not stay here!! I was put here over night via China Southern during a transit flight back to london on the 5 june 2014. This hotel has BED BUGS i stayed in room 811 and i was bitten to peices.. absoulute disgusting. The room is old and dingy aswell as smells. the beds are like coffins and are rock hard!


BUT THE MAIN THING IS THE BED BUGS!! STAY CLEAR OF ROOM 811

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guangzhou hotels

Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a short business trip. It provided all the comforts I needed to make my stay pleasurable and productive.

It is located close to a mall so you can always pop out and grab all the basic necessities.

Nice and pleasant staff as well. I will recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#46 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
92 reviews
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#32 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
574 reviews
Huadu District
Henry Business Hotel
Henry Business Hotel
#187 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Hotel
#884 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
123 reviews
Vienna Hotel Guangzhou Airport
#54 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
41 reviews
President Hotel
#70 of 3,436 in Guangzhou
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel

Property: New Century Hotel
Address: No.43 Huadu Xiuquan Dadao Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 3,436 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your New Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing