We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food, but location is remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #12 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Pros:
- the food at the hotel was excellent. Breakfast was good and had a large selection of food. We ate lunch at the chinese restaurant in the hotel called "summer palace" which was so delicious. The staff couldnt' really speak english, but there was an english menu and a chinese menu with pictures. The chocolate mousse cake in the lobby was also delicious.
- there is wifi in the room which was free and fast !
- the hotel was very big with a nice spa and big swimming pool. So it's good if you have children who wants to go swimming. Also they have a big garden to stroll around, and a mini golf course for chipping.
- there was turn down service. (so they make up your room in the morning and in the evening)
- Sleep quality was excellent. We slept like a rock.
- location is next to the Canton fair exhibition halls, so it's good if you have to go to the fair, but not ideal if you want to go sightseeing.

Cons:
- The hotel is quite far from the city center. it costs around 30 to 60 yuan (around USd 5 to USD 15) (lucky the taxi here aren't too expensive) to go to the city center for shopping or sightseeing. During our trip we visited the temples and museums. You could also catch the metro from and to the hotel, but we didn't bother to take the metro, as taxi were available nearly everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Profiterole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

This hotel is a fantastic choice if you don't mind spending $5 on taxi rides because it is about 10-15 minutes from the city centre but the service and the comfort is beyond any other hotel in GZ. The rooms are very large, the gym is wonderful and above all, the service. There are few people that amaze me every single time. Felicia, Shadow, Jackson, Sue, Hebe, fanny and Allon. But we should not forget everyone else.
Thx
Arash
canada

Room Tip: Dont spend the extra $ to get the river view unless you really don't care for $50. You will bare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arash m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

As usual, Shangri-la is a t the top. I wasn't expecting less. The well known hotel is the same in any county you visit.
Good service, clean and tidy, polite personnel, and you get a little bit above what you expect.
I gave a a rate for 4/5 because I had a small issue at one of the breakfasts during my stay, no a big deal but still.
I recommend it, especially if you are visiting canton fair and you want a 5 stars hotel.
Enjoy your stay....and use all your benefits at horizon club.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jas961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Stayed in may 2012 in this Hotel for first time after several other hotels in Guangzhou.
big hotel but upgrated to Horizon club and then you have the service you need ( if work trip). Horizon club very good ( breakfast, tea time, happy hour, meeting rooms,service, ....).
Health club fore sure also ok.
Bars were VERY quiet when I was staying, so not the right feeling (time) I think to judge them. Will do next time.
Loddy friendly and chek in/out easy.
Had dinner in Japanese and Italian restaurant : both ok although the Japanese was the better one.
Breakfast in the big restaurant was not up to scale of other hotels I stayed, to little choice ( Go take a look in the Hyatt hotel if you want to have a example of how it should be, I would suggest :) ), this is the reason I had breakfast queitly at the Horizon club, with nice view as surplus.
So ok for me, I booked already again for my next stay.

Room Tip: upgrade to Horizon club if you want quiet extra service and take river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenVHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I really wanted to have a great experience as I have stayed in other Shangri la hotels before, unfortunately its not quite 5 Star yet.

Staff are not 5star (they dress the part) and seem enthusistic, but they are too busy fobbing off questions. eg I wanted to see if I can get my airline ticket confirmed....before i finished, I was pointed to a 'special desk' . The bored looking guy at the desk said there's a charge (what ever happened to service in a supposedly 5star hotel? ) Even if there was a charge, the girl at the reception should have told me instead of making trudge all the way across to a guy who couldn't help me.

Thats pretty much my experience in the week or so (really, really long week) that I was in the hotel. Lot of people who couldn't speak English, who wanted to fob me off because they couldnt be bothered!

** Strangely the room service, housekeeping etc were excellent and I swear they spoke better English than the reception.


Location:
I knew this hotel was way out,but I didnt realise how far it was from everything. Normally you have a small shopping mall or something to see. So unless you are attending the Canton Fair and plan to be only at the Fair, I would go to one of the other hotels in the 'city area' which are also 5 star and much cheaper.

Rooms:
Pretty much as shown in photos by other tripadvisor people. There seems to be no difference between Deluxe and Premier view (Other than being on higher floors so you get better views). Rooms 42sq, but older style with ancient air conditioning units above . Good things: Bathroom with different showers, bathtub and nice fluffy towels. Lots of storage space with places to hide lugguage. Excellent stationary (including a ruler and stapler as well as a jogging track map on a lanyard).

CONS: Nosiy rooms. The ceilings and walls are not well insulated in parts so if you are a sensitive sleeper, I would not recommend this hotel. Also the curtains dont block out the lights as pelmets have a gap.

You can hear every flush and some hilarious sounds from other rooms.

Things to do:
Nothing at all- one menswear shop inside the hotel and a gift shop with limited wares (mark up for kids chong sam is like 1000% from the shops in the city)
Theres a jogging track, but you need mosquito repellent, if you walk up 2km or so, there's a beer museum (a factory that does tours) and a night life area for craft beer and Spanish like tapas area.

Facilities:
Good range of pools for serious laps (on 4th floor) with lifeguards which is funny as the pool is only 1.4 m deep at the deepest end. There are nice daybeds and lounges, but you dont get much sunlight as its indoors. Theres a family pool and lounge area on the first floor...and a kiddy pool.

Gym- small but adequate with cardio and weights. Lots of clean towels and water bottles. They even offer bannana and apples for post work out snacks. The change rooms have wet and dry sauna as well as a spa. You need to ask for a locker when you sign in but theres plenty of bathrobes, towels, swimsuit dryer, basic hair and body mositurisers etc.

Food:
Some good, some not. Breakfast is ordinary buffet and lot of the dishes are mislabelled (not a lot of love in preparation Im sensing). Room service food better and there seems to be no difference in price. The Summer Palace is good but rest of the food outlets are underwelming.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms if you want less noise, and ask for higher floors as there are mosquitos on low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globalgal444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

It is nice hotel,clean and in clean calm part of city
The restaurant there was not as good as other Shangri la i tried before but still good.
nice swimming pool ,staff can speak english good.
if you choose Horizon club you can enjoy free beverage all type and snack also late check out.

Room Tip: pearl view room are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

DETAILS:
- Stayed for 3D/2N from May 1, 2012 to May 2, 2012. Room had a view facing the river.

PROS:
- Room – was bigger than expected. We travelled to Guangzhou for the Canton Fair and needed much rest after a busy travel/fair schedule. Though I shared a single bed with another person, I still found the space ample enough to comfortably sleep at night. A big plus was the huge bathroom which had a bathtub far away from the toilet and shower area. Just shows how spacious it was. Aside from this, I really love the view of the river from our room.
- Food – was excellent. I’m only basing this on the two breakfast buffets that I had. It offered an international selection like pastries, noodles, dimsum, cold cuts and more. Just what I needed to start the day right.
- Staffs – were friendly and prompt given the large amount of guests that they had during the time I visited. Service was quick and excellent especially during breakfast even if it was a full house.
- Location – is excellent if you’re planning to attend the Canton Fair. It is situated right beside one of the huge convention centers.

CONS:
- Location – is quite far from any other areas of interests like shopping districts, night markets, etc. I don’t recommend this hotel for travelers who are seeking more leisure than doing business specifically for the fair.

OVERALL
- Stay here – if you plan to visit the Canton Fair (or any other fair being held in the convention centers right beside the hotel).
- Do not stay here – if you’re planning to visit Guangzhou for travel and leisure. You might want to get a hotel that’s nearer the city center/tourist hub unless you’re willing to pay extra for the travel fare.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xpao87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,596 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
829 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#54 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £85 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing