We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jianguo Hotel(Guangzhou)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,764)
Filter reviews
1,764 results
Traveller rating
928
689
114
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
689
114
18
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubsummer palacechi spacanton fairexhibition centrethe pearltrade showriver viewindoor pooltrade fairbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffetbusiness triplate checklobby barrooms are spaciousshuttle bus
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 1,764 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I stayed 2 weeks in the hotel, both the interior and exterior part is amazing. The room was clean, well equipped and really comfortable, A/C works as it should.
The gym, the inner and the garden pool is really good!
All staff members are helpful friendly and kind. They want to do everything for your comfort (Instead of you, like opening doors, calling elevator, etc...) For someone who not used to it, its really unusual.

What i liked really much: for-your-health-mixture during breakfast, smoked fish, omlette, helpful staff, limousine service

The only thing i'd mention, that most of the outer sounds (horn, truck) can be hear in the room, this is something to do with the construction of the building, not the service of course.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view, but you won't be dissappointed with the view of the other side as well.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peking84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband, my 2.5 year old son and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights during our family visit to Guangzhou. We booked through the hotel's own website using the advance purchase promotion. The standard room was RMB950/night plus 15% tax. It converted to about USD 170/night in total.

It was in early June and the summer was hot and humid in Guangzhou. From the moment we walked in, we had been treated by warm staffs and with outstanding services. The hotel itself is beautiful and well decorated. We booked a non-smoking room with 2 twin beds and a roller bed for our son. The twin beds turned out to be very big, somewhat between an American full-size and an American Queen-size. The roller bed was a solid full-size bed and extremely comfortable. We moved the 2 twin beds together to make a giant king bed (bigger than you would with just 1 king).

Our room is on the 25th floor with city view. It overlooks the Exhibition Center. On a sunny day we can see miles away. I thought the city view was good enough and didn't pay extra for a river view.

The room was advertised to be about 400 sq ft. It is smartly designed and efficiently laid out to give a satisfactory feeling for space. Even with a toddler and our luggage, we didn't feel crowded at all.

The room and the bathroom were well equipped and well placed. I especially love the rainforest/spa shower head in the shower box. The room is equipped with an electric kettle that boils water in a couple of minutes. Wi-Fi is free, but you need to keep in mind that in China, there are websites being blocked by the government regardless where you stay.

Buffet breakfast costs RMB 135/pp plus tips, which is about USD$21-25/pp. It featured great global selection of food, freshly made every day. In my opinion, it is well worth the $25 we paid. The pastry section was to die for, so was the Cantonese breakfast station.

The staffs were on top of Housekeeping and tips for housekeeping were not accepted.

The best part of the hotel was the outdoor pool. Water was crystal clear and odor free. The depth varies from 0.5m to 2m. We had a lot of fun in the pool and it was great help in the hot humid summer. The hotel also has an indoor pool more suitable for workout enthusiasts. The gym also offered free exercises classes.

The hotel is about 10 minutes’ walk to the nearest metro station. There was steady supply of taxi cabs at the front door too.

The Shangrila Guangzhou is everything a 5-star hotel should be. We strongly recommend it and will definitely stay here again next time.

Room Tip: City view rooms on the higher floors are really good and there is no need to pay extra for river view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Efficient and friendly meet & greet service at the AP despite delayed flight and perfect limousine transfer with WIFI connectivity to the hotel to an equally friendly welcome at the hotel.
Had booked/requested 02 river view rooms and received 2 rooms on different floors with no river views.
Great Breakfast buffet with a very good choice - dinner buffet equally good albeit expensive but a good wine list with reasonable prices compensated.
Slow lounge service - 2nd floor bar much better with great service and a smile & humour. Staff well trained and efficient but not if not covered in the training manuals.
Wiping outside tables and picking up chairs lying on the floor after a rain shower was clearly not in the manual and took some convincing despite supervisors being present.
Location a bit of an hindrance unless a 20 minutes taxi ride to the lively city center.
Disappointing that no late check-out was offered after a 5 nights stay - this would greatly enhance and encourage repeat business and a degree of flexibility when the hotel is empty would go a long way.. To charge RMB 500 to print a simple boarding pass is not the money but the principle which would stop me returning to this otherwise perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The Shangri la was a little bit of luxury at the end of our 3 week stay in mainly Chinese 4 star hotels. We chose this hotel for the outdoor pool area and this did not disappoint. Nice to have a swim and something to eat in the pleasant outdoors. Breakfast buffet was excellent - at least 3 different fresh food stations - eggs/noodles/pancakes. Although not close to the city there are a couple of vendors selling drinks/snacks on the ajoining street corners (near subway entrance). Riverside park across the road for evening/morning stroll. For business people - I have never seen a better set up desk (even a stapler).

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Vada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is located in the business district with no shopping or eating places near by, but it didn't not inconvenience us that much since we had a private driver throughout our trip to take us wherever we wanted to go.

We had been travelling throughout China and this Shangri-La was beyond our expectations even though our initial rooms were filled with smoke and some indescribable odor. The staff was efficient and quick to change rooms to our liking. There is no doubt that there service was one of the best.

The dinner buffet, although a bit pricey even according to American standards, and the staff at Cafe Wok Too were also superb. My mom is a vegetarian and they went absolutely out of there way to make sure she had something to eat, which in turn took the stress off of me. Kelly Zhang at Cafe Woo took care of my mom each morning with a smile. Not only was the customer service superb, but they had enough staff who seemed genuinely happy to assist with whatever the guests need.

The only inconvenience that I was suprised was that for such a metropolitian area they did not cash traveler's checks.

Room Tip: The hotel recently converted certain floors to non-smoking so there is some residue cigarette smell once you turn on the air to a lower setting. Save yourself the trouble if you are sensititive or have asthma.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B1young1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews