We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #11 of 3,430 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still good accommodation”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Second time to stay this year. The breakfast was less impressive than in April but the view from the room over the river is still great. Conference facilities were good. Service for lunch for conference (with 400 people) needs some improvement like supply of soft drinks and water. However, overall this hotel must still rank the best. Free Wi-fi is the key to success.

Room Tip: Beware of Guangzhou traffic : after 6 pm it is likely to have a traffic jam to the train station bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    672
    108
    17
    11
See reviews for
75
52
39
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The moment you walk Into the hotel you are greeted by a very presentable staff who escort you to reception. The hotel is beautiful and the service is superb. It is more expensive than the other 5 stars in Guangzhou but the service and quality is better. It is within walking distance to the fair grounds. The buffet dinner at the hotel is amazing, live cooking and lots of choice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Fantastic hotel, with truly commited staff and food that actually tastes as food should taste. The grounds are magnificent and are a nice respite from other clogged cityscapes. The pool was divine and the room was immaculate. I have stayed in other Shangri -la hotels around China and this is by far the best one. Horizon club is well worth the extra money and each night the food was scruptious and like breakfast was rotated and certainly far from bland and unexciting. Keep up the wonderful work! I would like to personally name all of the attentive staff but theres too many...I am looking forward to my next visit already!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortheloveofmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2012

It was the second time I've stayed at this hotel; this time with my wife and our five year old daughter. It is located in a very quiet area, which is very unusual for a city as large as Guangzhou or any other Chinese city I've been to. This makes it perfect if you want to relax. Besides, the commercial district and other places of interest are not far and taxis in China are not expensive. Not only the place is wonderful, with child friendly installations, but the quality of the service is unforgettable. It was a great experience from the pleasant welcoming scent you feel as you enter the lobby, the relaxing atmosphere throughout the facilities to the warmhearted and kind attention during our entire stay until the very last minute. Food is excellent and there is a great variety. Our first intention was to stay there just for a weekend, but ended up extending it four more nights and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in early August 2012 for 5 nights during a business trip to Guangzhou. Although I have traveled all over the world this was my first trip to China but not my first time staying in a Shangri La hotel. The service at Asian hotels can not be matched anywhere!
My room was on the 18th floor with a view of the exhibition center. The room was extremely quiet, the a/c worked fantastic and I had no issues with the free wifi. Yes some web sites were blocked but this is China. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a range of local and western options. I did not use the fitness center or pool and I did not eat dinnr at the hotel during my stay.
As others have said, the tremendous customer service and friendly staff make this hotel standout. From check-in until check-out, every employee I passed said hello or good morning/evening. The front desk staff were efficient during both processes and the door men were helpful in locating my car and driver.
The location was not important to me in booking this hotel as I knew I had a driver. But there are no restaurants or shops nearby so if you are looking to walk to dinner, etc. this is not a ideal location.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank platie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinidad
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed for 5days in March to attend a Tradeshow which this hotel was quite conveinient as the show was closeby. Must emphasize how pleasant and attentive staff were. Rooms were large and I had a great view of the river.
Room service was one of the best I have ever experienced. Best Spagetti Bolognese ever!
The breakfast and dinner buffets were also out of this world, so much variety and food tasted great, even though on the pricey side.
I purchased a box of chocolates for a birthday gift, staff made the extra effort to wrap present in my friend's favorite color, as well as adding some fresh flowers. I am really sorry I can't remember the young lady's name who helped, she was really great.
I must say this location is great for business if attending the fair, but not much else. If you want to explore and enjoy Guangzhou I must say the city is a much better option, as shopping and restaurants are close by and within walking distance. Taxis can be a bit of a challenge as the language barrier is an issue. Definetly determine price before hand with taxi drivers, my experience was not always a pleasant one. Ask concierge to assist with average cost and let them communicate with taxi driver.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed 2 nights in the hotel with my husband, simply love this hotel except the location is not so convenient. Firstly we love the Shangri-la signature smell that welcomes you. Secondly staffs are always friendly and helpful. Thirdly and most importantly they have very rewarding membership benefits, that brings us back to Shangri-la groups of hotels again and again. We stayed on the club floors this trip, love the amenities in the room, the lounge also provides very
good selections of snacks and beverages. On the day that we are checking out and taking a train back to HKG, staffs were really very helpful in calling and enquiring time and tickets for us,
and even extended our check out time without us requesting for it. We both travel very often and this is the third Shangri-la we were staying in Jul 2012, any where in the world, Shangri-la is always my first choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpprincess0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#9 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#2 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
666 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
2,497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,430 in Guangzhou
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#10 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#65 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing