We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #13 of 3,460 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Tehran, Iran
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The staffs are very Kind. The Hotel is very Clean, Good breakfast and foods, Good swimming pools, The foods and the spa price is little high... It is very near to conton fair... needs 15-20 min to go to city for shopping...I think many people will come to this hotel because is near to exhibition and it will be very good if hotel arrange bus for these customers. I enjoy my 4 night stays in this hotel...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Babak Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Babak Z, 

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou. It is our pleasure to see that you have had a delightful stay. 

Kindly note that our complimentary shuttle bus, running all day every day takes our guests to the Canton Fair complex and other key locations in the city. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is also available in the bus. 

Great to hear that you enjoyed our extensive leisure facilities and gardens. 

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    679
    110
    18
    12
See reviews for
81
55
39
520
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

謝謝廣州香格里拉酒店的全體服務人員,在我5/18~5/23入住的五天裡,給我親切的服務,主動的微笑,讓我在廣州,有回到家的感覺。健身中心的游泳池相當乾淨,且維護非常好。桑拿也乾淨,同時裡面的阿姨也很親切,打掃得很仔細。早餐的人員,謝謝你們引導秩序,服務我們排隊的人,沒有讓人插隊,這樣的感覺很專業也國際。
特別感謝3樓的阿偉,四天的會議,照顧會場的器材需要,並隨時詢問我的需求。
下次我去廣州,我會再去香格里拉。

建議,可以多點廣東食物嗎?
Thank you all service team at Shangrila, you gave me a warm service, nice greeting during my stay from 18~23 May, year 2014. The health club is well equipped. The hygiene of Suana is good. I thank the service representative to help the customers who stand in line, it makes me feel good and make sure my self was in an international level hotel.
Especially thanks the staff:阿偉, he took care all details and make an excellent service when 4 day training at 3F.
I am sure to visit Shangrila when go to GuangCho.

~ Annie Huang, from Taiwan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mingming0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Annie,

Thank you for sharing your kind compliments. Your feedback is truly motivating to us. 

It is my pleasure to pass on your kind words of appreciation to our colleagues, in particular Richie Zou from Banquet team, who will be happy to know that his hospitality from the heart is recognized. 

Thank you again for your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our urban resort in the near future, whether for business or pleasure.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

There is a wonderful hotel, def worth the 5 stars, staff are very helpful, rooms are massive and the pool is amazing, the Chinese restaurant is lovely although a bit expensive, if you have a city view room stand your ground and insist on a river view upgrade for free and you will get it if it's not busy, wish I could stay longer, all staff are good with English so a Luxury stay butch worth it for the price

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaddyOByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear PaddyOByrne, 

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou! We are delighted to learn of your satisfaction with our facilities and services.

Thank you again for your compliments, we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La in Guangzhou for 4 days while attending the Canton Fair. The hotel itself is magnificent - clean, well-appointed and well staffed. The staff is well trained and very service oriented.

We chose the Shrangri-La because of its' proximity (directly across the street) to the Canton Fair. This was our first experience traveling in China, so we wanted to keep it simple. Having stayed there, I'd have to say the location has both advantages and disadvantages.

On the advantage side, it is VERY convenient to the fair. No shuttle buses required.

On the disadvantage side, other than the fair there's nothing there. If you want to eat somewhere other than the hotel or do any shopping a cab ride is required. Taxis are cheap, but depending on where you go, getting one for the return trip is sometimes tough.

The hotel is pricey - we paid $360 per night during the fair. Food & drink is of generally good quality but a little steep. The breakfast buffet comes out to about $40 per person USD. It's a magnificent buffet, but it's still $40 pp for breakfast. Drinks in the bar are $12-15.

I would stay there again if all I wanted to do was go to the fair and get out....but next time I'll seriously consider a hotel in town.

One aside - and this is no reflection on the hotel whatsoever.....

Do not use freelance taxis in China. Before you get in a taxi, make sure they have a working meter and never pay in advance. We got scammed taking a cab from the bus stop (from Hong Kong) to the hotel. The car has the normal taxi lights on top, but the meter was broken. The driver asked for payment up front and we paid him 300 RMB (about $50) not knowing that the ride should cost about 1/10th of that. Then he gave us back our bills, saying there was something wrong with them. I paid him $50 USD but then got wary when he offered to exchange for USD for RMB. Turns out that my caution was well warranted. When we tried to spend the 100 RMB notes at the hotel, we found out they were counterfeit. Apparently freelance cabbies are notorious for not only overcharging, but for doing a switcheroo with the money. You hand them good bills, they hand you back counterfeits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Gringo_Allegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear El_Gringo,Allegre,

Thank you for choosing the Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. It is our pleasure to see that you have had a delightful experience with our services and facilities.

I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience with taxis in town. Kindly note that our complimentary shuttle bus can take you to and from the city’s key locations including the East Railway Station, complimentary Wi-Fi access is also available in the bus. Meantime, our Concierge colleagues will be more than happy to assist in arranging the licensed taxi for you to ensure you an enjoyable trip.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are going to the Canton Fair I would definitely recommend the Shangri-La. Next to the fair ground and with great food and service. It was a pleasure to spend time there. I would certainly recommend that someone enjoy the spa, fitness centre and pool area which are all first class.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the hotel are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear RobertG99,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on your recent stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou. It is our pleasure to see that you have had a delightful memory of our facilities and services. This beautiful urban resort is an ideal place for both business and leisure travelers.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Absolutely wonderful property, wonderful service and the rooms are a great size, well appointed and have everything the business traveller needs.
Great restatuants and bar!
It isnt located that close to the city however taxis are very affordable so it isn't that big a deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riding-Giants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Riding-Giants,

Thank you for choosing the Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou and sharing your comments on your stay with us. It is always our pleasure to leave our guests with an enjoyable memory of our services and facilities. Your satisfaction will always be our motivation in carrying on our heartfelt hospitality. Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A fantastic destination for your business and leisure requirements. Very near to all important locations in the city. A great unforgettable experience. Extremely courteous staff comfortable rooms and good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Prashant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLPGPR, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Prashant W,

Thank you for sharing your compliments on your recent business stay at the Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou. It is always our pleasure to see that you have had a delightful stay with our services and facilities.

Philip Dewar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
3.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#3 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#18 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
781 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#16 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
1,511 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#12 of 3,460 in Guangzhou
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#7 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#65 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing