We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great only if you are attending a meeting at the convention centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #12 of 3,522 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Expect the usual high standards of a Shangri-la Hotel but the location of this one is waaayy out of the city. And there is nothing around the hotel except for massive parking for the huge convention center. Great for business or work but if you are in Guangzhou for a holiday, better to stay in the hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MCF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2008

Having stayed at some of the best hotels in the world on a number of occasions over a business career spanning 4 decades, this hotel is unsurpassed in terms of luxury and service!!!!
It starts even before you reach the hotel, with the polite, professional and friendly service by email receieved when making your booking via the internet(Tracy Zhou)
On arrival at the hotel you are greeted by genuinely happy smiling faces, from the door staff through to the concierge and reception staff.
Horizon Club staff greet you at reception and escort you to your room.
The room itself can only be described as un-adulterated luxury with everything you could ever wish for right to hand!!
The service throughout the hotel is exemplary with special mention going to the Horizon Club team(Grace,Zoe,Candy,Gloria,Alan,Jessica and new girl Maggie) who make you feel really special during your stay!!!!
Any request that you make is greeted with a genuine desire to help and find the desired solution to your query.
This is a level of service not found in so called 5* hotels in the West!!
Just one example of Western culture learning from Eastern!
These levels of service do not just happen, they are clearly the product of a superbly managed hotel in which the well trained staff perform their duties in a happy and enthusiastic manner.

The fact that the hotel is situated outside the City centre is a real positive, because transport to and from the hotel is excellent either by tube train or taxi and it is nice to be able to avoid the hustle and bustle of down town Guangzhou in the luxurious oa sis that is the Shangri-La hotel, Guangzhou!!!!!

Thank you from George and Phil from London.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank BugsyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

The Shangri-La hotel is without any doubt the most luxurious hotel I have ever been in.

The staff and it service was perfect, the room was splendid (view on the pearl river)


What made it really unforgettable was the level of attention to service. It started when I checked in and got a fresh towel to whipe away the stress of the long intercontinental flight (Heathrow - Guang Zhou). It coninued in this manner throughout my stay.
Details that actually made the difference are:
- the porter who always made sure that my taxi driver knew where my intended destination was by explaining it in detail. Even changing cabs if necessary.
- the person responsible for the outside pool who helped me to find the lockers and the keys when I was bit lost, being the only swimmer early in the morning.

I really cannot find any fault in the way the hotel is run.

The only negative point would be the distance to the center of the city and the fact that the hotel is positioned in a commercial/businees district. Then again, the metro is close by (and very fast, reliable and cheap) and you can of course always take a taxi (a bit slower but perhaps more convenient).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JanDeconinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Shangri La hotel Guangzhou , Nice place to stay . I loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wisamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Excellent hotel, if you don't mind the trek into town.

Tremendous views

1-Staff greet you at the main entrance and escort you to reception.

2-Check-in is very quick.

3-Luggage delivery is flawless.

4-Internet connection required assistance from IT, but was connected in no time, quality connection.

5-Plasma screen TV was great.

6-Turndown service was done very well, typical Shangri-La standard.

7-Fantastic power shower with dual heads.

8-All-day dining restaurant was better in afternoon than in the evening.

9-Conference facilities were impressive to say the least, the coffee breaks were imaginative.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

What a hotel! Not only is it a great value compared to other Shangri-La's that are of the same quality or higher (our rate was only 900 something RMB per night- compare that to Island Shangri-La of 3,100 HKD per night), the service is just PHENOMENAL! You are really treated as a VIP- and we as a Elite member truly got what we were supposed to get and more! I've stayed here last year and already gave it a 5/5 for great service. This year was even better! Stayed here two times...but the first time was longer than the second (the second time we arrived really late and left early too....so not going to talk much about that experience).

On our first time, we came to the hotel by means of their Guangzhou Railway Station shuttle bus. Right when we reached their counter, it was all smooth sailing! After getting our names, the man there gave us chilled towels and chilled water from a cooler. No other hotel at the hotel counter stands had a cooler of any sort. After walking through the ultra hot heat, the chilled towels and water were great!

The driver answered our questions nicely, and after some traffic, we arrived at the hotel. But- there was something really special just even arriving at the front door at the hotel. Somehow, the Horizon Club Manager Grace and another lady were waiting OUTSIDE just for us! And the manager even remembered us from last year (even though we stayed there only one night!)! No other Shangri-La property has ever had service such as this.

Walking into the Lobby was a great change from last year. And that change was the people! The hotel was so busy! That day they had a big event for one company...and there was music from the lounge performed by people. A huge area (even a sitting area) was also made for Shangri-La mooncakes as well. None of this was existent last year- last year the hotel was virtually empty! Not only that, when we went during the weekend days, the hotel cafe Wok Too was almost full! Last year it was again at the most only half full.

Due to our membership level we got a free upgrade to an Executive suite (as well as use of the Horizon Club Lounge). All the views were of the pool and the Pearl river. One night we did stay at a regular room as you are supposed to only get a Suite for 3 nights as a free upgrade. Here are our insights of the rooms, in which both have a gold/ beige, white, and dark wood/black color scheme as well as splashes of colors from other things, floral arrangements, Samsung LCD TV's, work tables, and Grohe showerheads.

Executive suite: The first room is a big sitting area with 2 single seat sofa chairs, and then a large sofa in which can seat around 3 people. It's good for if you have people coming, or if you just want too sit and watch TV, in which is in front of the sofas. Entryway is complete marble, and the right area has a bathroom.

Most interesting is the coffee/tea making area. In the suites, they actually give you 5 tins of loose tea instead of 8 tea bags. And the tins are actually pretty big- you probably could brew at least 6 times. Also there are tea cups and cups, as well as a minibar, hot water dispensing machine, and a french press.

Then, you go in to the right (this is a --01 room, which is to the right side of the building(as from where you exit the elevators- left side you would flip that around) and the bed is there as well as a mural, and a makeup area. Also, the bedroom is at the corner, so 2 sides of the room have windows. In addition there is a closet with the nicest slippers we have ever tried on at a Shangri-La property, a luggage area, a safe, and lastly the bathroom. The bathroom has L'occtiane toiletries (unlike last year it was Aigner), as well as 2 showerheads in the really large shower head (one handheld and one that has two areas that pump out water). There's also a in bathroom TV and a large tub, as well as the toilet and a bidet.

Regular Room: Obviously more basic- entryway also has a large mirror, and meanders into the bathroom. Lavender toiletries here- no L'occitane. Further in is a closet with not so nice slippers, a safe, and also the luggage area. The bed is the same, and then there is a small sitting area to the far end of the room as well as the TV and work table.

Next thing is Dining. The food was again good, but slightly downward quality from last year. We had one dinner at Summer Palace and it was OK, but not particularly good. We had a BBQ meats platter, which was excellent, as well as a dish of veggies. Also ordered a sea cucumber and also a fried rice. However, there were 2 things that were not really "excellent". The fried rice, even though it had pork floss, fish eggs, and other ingredients, was just so so all because of the rice. The rice was HARD. Somehow, all the fried rices you get in Shangri-La are all hard! The sea cucumber had a little of a off taste in which we didn't like.

We had complimentary breakfast both at Wok Too and at the Horizon Club lounge.

Wok Too: This year was again different! They had a giant waffle maker this year that produced a really rustic waffle. Also, their dim sum selection had different things. Such as a orange colored sweet dumpling and a egg custard bun that had an egg in it! They now had different juices, and even chrysanthemum tea was part of the selection! The only not so good thing was that the noodle station didn't have the fish ball with an orange filling with fish eggs in it- it's now only at the Island Shangri-La at Hong Kong. Anyway, breakfast has: an western section, a chinese section, congee section, noodles section, bakery section, cold cuts section, juices and fruits section, milk and cereal section, and lastly a japanese section.

Horizon Club Lounge: It was okay. Very quiet in the Lounge, and the service was better. Porridge was served in rice cookers, and there was your usual continental breakfast and hot dishes. You could also ask things such as omelets, dumplings, and wonton noodles, in which were okay.

Health Club Facilities: Very good! The gym offered lots of machines, and was finally complete. Last year they were doing renovations. New signs were posted as well. The pool however was not maintained well enough. Started to have some green stuff on the caulking! And the pool was way too busy on the weekends- at least 40 people were in the pool, which made it hard to swim. Last year it was virtually empty! My last complaint was that one of the pumps for shampoo and conditioner had no shampoo and conditioner and the pump button was gone. However, the next day, that shower read: "Closed for maintenance". That's good- they do take a watch of everything!

And last and most importantly are the staff and service. I have to say they are just the best! What really made our stay was the Horizon Club staff. Unlike Kowloon Shangri-La's Horizon Club staff in which made our stay really bad, Guangzhou's Horizon Club staff made our stay superb! Why should I pay less in Guangzhou than in every other city...but get service worthy of the finest hotels in the world (and I have to say this is one of them)? Everytime we went in to their lounge, they recognized us and called us by name. One of the staff even taught me how to steam and make frothy milk using their gigantic coffee machine.

Even more interesting is their memory of people who stayed there. Staff in which we really didn't see often even called us by name. At the lobby, whenever someone entered the lobby, one member of the staff would ask you if you needed something or give you a nice greeting. And that is what I call good service!

At the health club, whenever we left, they would always escort us to the elevators, and wished us to have a good day. No other hotel has done that to us!

During our stay, we extended our stay 2 times. And whenever we extended our stay, somehow we got another set of welcome amenities! Our welcome amenities were always there when we got a room- never did we have to ask for it! Red wine here was a Charlotte Street 750ml bottle.

In conclusion, we had a truly excellent stay. The staff is truly superb and helpful, and they are truly worthy of a 5/5 rating! Have tons of photos, and will be downloading them on soon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BSA126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

It was my first trip to China mainland. I knew communication in English or any language other than Chinese would pose constant problem. But, I was in for a surprise when I landed at Guangzhou airport late evening around 11pm. I could immediately hop into a taxi which welcomes every passenger in Chinese and English through a recorded message. The taxi driver was very polite and friendly. He took me straight into Shangri-la through a free highway in about half an hour or so although the distance must have been more than 40 km. At the hotel the doorman greeted me and escorted me to the reception where check-in formalities were completed very deftly and efficiently. The lobby area was huge and very impressive. The room was quite spacious with a clear view of the Pearl river. Everything in the room was well placed and spelt quality. In one word it was flawless. Breakfast spread was quite elaborate so was dinner. The location of the hotel is a little away from midtown Guangzhou but very convenient for those who would visit the exhibition ground as it is within the same complex. The service delivered all through my stay of two days was extraordinary. I strongly recommend this property for visitors to Guangzhou even if he or she has to travel a few miles more to reach his or her place of work. Finally, I must congratulate hotel staff for their sincere efforts to speak well and correctly in English.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bablu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.6 mi away
Langham Place Guangzhou
Langham Place Guangzhou
#10 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
423 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Pazhou
The Westin Pazhou
#4 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
631 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Westin Guangzhou
The Westin Guangzhou
#11 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#13 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
2,596 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
Hilton Guangzhou Tianhe
#19 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
829 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
Sofitel Guangzhou Sunrich
#15 of 3,522 in Guangzhou
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou

Address: No.1 Huizhan East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510308, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#5 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#11 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#12 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#54 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £85 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel, Guangzhou is located adjacent to the Canton Fair with less than 1 minute walking distance to Guangzhou International Convention and Exhibition Center. Surrounded by lush gardens on an island in the Pearl River, the hotel's 704 guestrooms offer amazing views through the floor-to-ceiling windows of the nearby Pearl River and the greenery on the other side. The hotel offers its guest complimentary Wi-Fi and broadband internet access in all guestrooms and public areas. During the Canton Fair period, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle bus services to the fair as well as major hot spots across the city, with Wi-Fi available in the shuttle bus; guests can choose to take a walk or the shuttle between the hotel and the Canton Fair Complex. The Shangri-La offers a variety of dining options from East to West put together by award-winning chefs. Traditional Thai and fusion dishes are cooked up with imported herbs and spices at coolThai. Nadaman offers up the renowned menu of its worldwide Japanese fine dining chain. Guests looking for something more local can check out the regional Chinese offerings at Summer Palace. A selection of Asian favorites and contemporary international cuisine is available from the food-theater-style WOK TOO Cafe which provides both a la carte and buffet. Diners at the WOK TOO Cafe can eat inside the main dining hall, out in the garden or in one of the private dining rooms. Guests looking to eat Western cuisine can also head to il Forno, the hotel's Italian restaurant. Guests relaxing in the lush gardens around the outdoor swimming pool can indulge in a tropical cocktail or a light snack at the Poolside Bar & Grill. Live jazz performances accompany snacks and cocktails, coffee or afternoon tea in the Lobby Lounge. When night falls, guests can roll up to the Lift Bar on the second floor and enjoy drinks and snacks while looking out over the gardens and river. The flowing shape of this Guangzhou hotel's outdoor pool is lined by a tropical garden, giving guests a relaxing getaway from the hustle of bustling "Canton," and an indoor pool is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Guangzhou
Shangri La Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing