We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overseas Chinese Friendship Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Shangri-La Hotel Guangzhou(Guangzhou)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou(Guangzhou)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
19
74
22
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
74
22
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationstayed herewould stay here againcomfortable bedsnice roomexcellent locationsupermarketfloorconveniencehairdryertianhewifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Clean & comfortable room for a good price.
Staff was helpful and speak some english.

The hotel is ideally located in Tian He, 100m from the Shipaiqiao metro station (exit d). Despite one or two connections to go downtown, going anywhere in town is very easy and fast (connections are quick).

Several shopping malls are within 5mn by foot (Onelink, Tai Koo, Grandview, Pacific Digital, MoPark). Very good and cheap restaurants are located next to the hotel, or the Deluxe (more pricey) for good dim sum in the onelink mall.

Easy to find with a taxi.

We had daily complimentary milk and biscuits in the rooms for the Spring Festival. I did not pay for breakfast, as the soup restaurant next to the hotel is providing top meatball soups, and as there are several bakeries in the grandview mall, and a costa coffee in the onelink mall. Price on site was 15% cheaper than Book***.com (local price was including the 15% tax. On my second visit, I paid 238CNY per night instead of 273).

Cons :
Very very cold in winter (february). The in-room ac system does not warm. Avoid the deluxe rooms numbered xx01 as they are at the corner of the building with two walls connected to the outside, and then very cold, prefer rooms xx02 or xx03.

We learnt on check out that the hotel was providing small heaters (learnt that too late, I had bought one for a cheap 200 CNY in the Gome shop across Tian He road, 100m away). No bathtub in standard rooms (large cabin shower instead), and bathtub is not that convenient in the deluxe rooms. No seating in the lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sonysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you are afraid of this hotel, just don't be! I know all hotel qualities from 2 stars till 5 stars and this 3 stars hotel in Guangzhou is much better than some 4 stars in Europe! From other comments I guess it was renovated few years ago. I stayed in room 1107. The rooms are good enough to get a 4 start level. The beds are hard, but I sleep well on them! Not a problem for me. The bathroom has good new style with glass and nice shower. They provide free bottled water and internet (not very fast - 1mb - but enough to work!) in the room. The breakfast had good variety and also quality, enough for a 5 days business trip. If you are the kind of person that needs a huge breakfast to keep you satisfied for the next 8 hours, then you will consider the breakfast not good enough. For me it was very good - 5 fruit types, noodles, rice, potates, bread, butter, cakes, eggs, sausage, juices, milk, tea, spring rolls, etc.
There was plenty of staff and enough of them spoke very good english. Maybe this was for the special occasion of Canton Fair. The first day one of the customer care staff even walked with me outside to buy a chinese SIM card for my mobile! Can't ask for more! They have free shuttle bus to and from the Canton Fair and they even provide a great service on the way back at the end of the day: complimentary water, chocolate and cookies! This was a nice treat, not all other hotels in the fair complex had this type of treatment, including 5 star hotels!! Rachel in the customer care was great, she advised for all restaurants!
The hotel is located 5 minutes walk to all big shopping malls, metro and restaurants! Across the hotel there is a 3floor supermarket! 100mts to the left as you exit there is a great western style restaurant BUTTON with good price and very good quality, around 120-150RMB full meal per person!
I will return to this hotel. If you are on business and prefer to work on low budget, this is way more than enough for a nice stay. I can only keep good memories of this hotel!
I was afraid before arriving, but check my photos, you will see you don't need to look for expensive hotels around! We paid RMB 700 per night including 15% tax.
Hope this review will help you!

Room Tip: Ask for the most recent renovated rooms. I stayed in room 1107 and had nothing to complaint about.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEMIDEUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Overseas Chinese Freindship Hotel is very near Shepaqiao metro station. It is in Tianhe District. Near is bank and everything is easily available. Room is comfortable and very good.

Hotel staff can speak English also. But do not expect every staff to say English.

Lobby is good and reception people are very helpful.

Breakfast was also free and it is in 13th floor. Breakfast was also good and had variety.

If you are scared that you might end up choosing a bad hotel, believe in this hotel. It is completely worth it paying the money it asks.

I have stayed at many hotels in Guangzhou. Found this one worth the value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibhorberiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Very friendly staff, barebones hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. Stayed there because it was close to US Embassy where we had business to attend. It was really cheap, RMB 338 per night. We moved there from the Holiday Inn City Centre, I would much rather stay here than the Holiday Inn.

They have the standard "rock-hard" beds you find in most Chinese hotels. I hate them but they seem to be the standard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakd602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed here March 2011. Decent hotel. For $39/night hard to complain about anything. Staff spoke English and provided excellent service. Room had windows along exterior wall and one upper area opened. If one plans to take a taxi to this hotel get the name and location in Chinese otherwise English name and location meaningless to locals especially taxis. Hotel only 5 minute walk from Metro (subway) stop Shipaiqiao. From airport take line 3 to Tiyu Xilu, transfer to Shipaiqiao. Takes about one hour and costs about $2 USD. Taxi may take longer as many traffic jams in this large city. Subway token machine does not take bills over 10 yuan; there is a bill change area near Metro entrance but bills must be yuan . Free shuttle service to exhibition center. Many restaurants and malls nearby. The excellent Metro is easy to use. Room has Ethernet cable but download speed less than 1Mb/sec.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews