We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou
Ranked #387 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Lørenskog, Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed in room 2002 and had a great view at Canton Tower. The room is nice except for the bathroom. There is no space for your body because of the door open into the room. You must hide beside the toilet to close the door. The restaurant in 2-3 floor looks no good, but actually have very good food. Mostly bridal stores around the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    92
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Skyline Plaza Hotel is known as TianYi Hotel (天一酒店) to the locals and taxi drivers, and also listed as TianYi Hotel on Google Maps. It is next to Exit E of the MRT station “Second Workers Cultural Palace” (市二宫) on Line 2, although some will prefer coming out from Exit D because it has an escalator. It is on JiangNan DaDao (江南大道), the famous Wedding Street which has hundreds of street shops and shopping malls selling wedding gowns, tuxedos, dresses for bridesmaid, flower girl, page boy, shoes, veils, costume jewelry, etc. Since the Chinese wedding ceremony requires several changes of clothes for the bride, from Western to traditional Chinese, there is a wide range of gowns and dresses in the shops. Alterations of off-the-rack dresses take 1 day, but a tailored gown made from scratch will take 1-2 weeks.

Skyline’s location is superb for independent travelers who need the convenience of a MRT station at its doorstep, and also for shopping at the Wedding Street. It is also reasonably priced at USD53/night from Agoda for a Superior Twin.

Skyline is in a 26-storey building, of which about half are offices and half hotel rooms. Hotel guests and office tenants share the 3 internal elevators and 2 external glass elevators. Only 1 hotel floor (21F) has non-smoking rooms.

There are Chinese restaurants on 2F and 3F, but these attract locals who spend the morning over newspaper, Chinese tea and dim sum. Service was non-existent and the food took ages to come. After the first morning, we went to better restaurants elsewhere in Guangzhou for breakfast. Highly recommended for lunch/dinner are Bing Sheng Restaurant (炳胜酒家) in DongXiao Road, and Panxi Restaurant (泮溪酒家) in PanTang Road, all around CNY10 taxi fare from Skyline. About 20 meters west of Skyline, on TongFu Road, is Fenfang Desserts (芬芳甜品) which is famous for sesame soup (芝麻糊) and tang yuan (汤圆).

Room had an old Sharp CRT TV, safe, mini fridge, kettle, hairdryer, bathrobe, slippers. The bathroom was small, and one had to step into the shower stall to close the bathroom door. Unlike other China hotels, Skyline did not provide free bottled water, and we had to go to the 7-11 just outside the hotel to buy water. If you need more supplies, there are supermarkets TrustMart (好又多) and Carrefour, about 100 meters south on JiangNan DaDao.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Singapore-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile


Well this is hotel is located strategically near the bridal street. If your purpose is to buy bridal items from gowns, veils lighting, photography, jewelry anything this is the best hotel to stay. You have McDonald's right opposite and restaurants nearby, a hair saloon too. Hotel room was big and the price was reasonable. However it will be good if their staffs speak a little English. Basically communication was difficult all around however in a big hotel we expected staffs to speak little English. Overall stay was good. Recommended to stay here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed in the presidential suite at the highest floor - great view and its very value for money. The location is strategically located at the intersection of wedding street and olden street. The room is clean and spacious with fully equip amenities. Only concern is their toilet setup which is rather small and cramp. Though its a presidential suite, the bathroom does not have a bathtub which is rather disappointed. Within 500m walking radius is the traditional dessert shop which serves authentic Canton dessert. Located right in front of Metro station - fantastic location!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This is a great hotel for brides-to-be because the bridal street is just at its doorstep! There is a nice wanton mee cafe (dumpling noodle) in the hotel premises, and the 7-11 was a blessing when u just need to pick up a magazine or a bottle of water. The MRT station which connects to the mrt interchange is also within 3-5min walk from the hotel which makes it a blessing if it should rain!

Room is decently clean, and comfortable although they could have spared some free bottled water.. Cabled Internet is free though.

One thing to note though is the booking system on their website. I contacted the person via their online booking more than three months in advance to reserve a room. While response was prompt & professional, I got a shock when I took out my hotel booking on the day of travel & realized they have issued me another hotel one mrt stop away instead! I called them immediately to rectify the booking but they told me that Skyline Plaza hotel was full for the dates I requested & this other hotel that they have booked me in wasn't too far away. (I later learned that the concept of distance was tricky when cabs refused to drive us to the bridal street from my other because it was across a river!) while i admit it is indeed oversight on my end, i would have appreciated if they had told me upfront they booked me into another hotel instead of letting me discover it by looking at the map they emailed me. Luckily for us, we found availability on Agoda the next day, and checked into Skyline Plaza hotel for the rest of our stay. A total blessing because of the mRt station!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-geok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

A fantastically located hotel in the heart of Guangzhou with very easy access to the train network. Approx 30-40mins away from the exhibition halls make this a great value for money hotel.

Rooms are presented with a very pleasant view of the city. A very high regard for cleanliness is apparent.

Only issue was lack of internet access.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MahmoodUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

yes after a big day walkin in the famous Guangzhou fairs.. this hotel has big rooms.. and some of them amazing views over the pearl river. stayed last week on 23rd floor.. u can only wish good takeaway was delivery with ur fav pint to ur room....aha... cheers
opphs by metro easy from pazhou... get down @ workers palace stop or get down aat changgang and enjoy the chinese bike ride.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeweTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Landmark Canton Hotel
#47 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Haizhu District
7 Days Inn (Guangzhou Ergong)
7 Days Inn (Guangzhou Ergong)
#871 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Guangzhou Bauhinia Hotel
#76 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guangzhou Hotel
#97 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Hai Zhu Hotel
#1,042 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Vertical City Hotel
#81 of 3,385 in Guangzhou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou

Property: Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou
Address: No.644 Tongfu East Road, Haizhu District, Guangzhou 510220, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 3,385 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Skyline Plaza Hotel Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing