We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a transit stopover”
Review of HJ Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HJ Grand Hotel
Ranked #166 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here on a transit from Sydney to London with China Southern. Good for a transit hotel, wouldn't stay here otherwise.
Good - huge rooms (two entrances to the bathroom!) with king bed desk area and chais lounge, complimentary water, good shower, free wifi in room and lobby (pretty quick)

Bad - not 5 star finish - wires loose behind bedside table and lots of derelict areas of hotel, smoking everywhere - room smelt of smoke and people smoking in lobby and restaurant, staff's english was terrible - it was a real struggle to order dinner and understand procedures etc and made us very reluctant to ask questions, I know you're 'in China' but when you're a hotel dealing with a huge number of transit passengers the level of English should be better. The 'concierge' that took us from the airport didn't have a clue what was going on - we were told to follow him by CS staff, he then raced off and we really struggled to keep up with all our bags, we just tried to follow other passengers we recognised, we then had to wait for another bus as the first was full and there was no communication from him as to what was going on. He just said '10 minute' and half an hour later we were still waiting. When we reached reception, there was about 10 of us from the bus and we all had to queue single file for 1 check in staff to process us, even though there were plenty of other check in staff!
TIME FROM LANDING TO CHECK-IN - 2 HOURS 30MIN.

Overall, good for a nights sleep to break up your long haul flight. Thats it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Our flights were delayed, diverted and scheduled to such an extent that the airline had to put us up for the night. And they choose H.J. Grand Hotel.

We were very glad they did.

The rooms were clean and beautifully appointed, the wifi was free and the restaurants nicely setup. We were happy with the service given that we weren't speaking the servers' native tongues.

It is unfortunate that our experience of the hotel was under such frustrating circumstances.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_in_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

It is hard to imagine an individual traveller ending up here. Like most reviewers we were given a room here during transit with China Southern Airlines. The hotel is enormous and has all facilities you would need. The rooms are nice and spacious. Breakfast was decent, even though some of the items were not fresh. We were too tired to go into town, which is really far, and went for a walk around the hotel. We did not see any signs of eateries or shop in the neighbourhood. Staff is helpful and makes an effort to avoid misunderstandings, even though their level of English in general is low.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmsterdamOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

China Southern airlines put us up in a room here due to a nine hour delay and a missed connection. This is their go-to hotel. It's massive; something like 15 floors with three wings. The facilities are good, the front desk is helpful. We got a strange "poker room" with a playing card table in the bedroom itself. The morning buffet, which China Southern included for us, was fantastic. If you want something cozy, look elsewhere. This is a large, near-the-airport place without much character but with good enough amenities. I don't know what the rates are, so can't speak to whether it's "worth the price".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night during a transfer between two flights. Firstly the staff hardly speaks English which makes each question very laborious. Then there was a party this night and the music was very loud until 3.00 am! If you need a quiet room to fall asleep, obviously you couldn't sleep at all this night. I asked to change my room to another one in the opposite wing but apparently the hotel was full... I suspect a certain lack of conviction from the personnel. The swimming pool and the spa are gloomy and dirty, with Chinese customers spitting and smoking around the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The main problem with this hotel is its location in Huadu. As it is near to Canton Airport it takes more than 40 minutes to get to the city centre.Outside of the hotel there are no restaurants or convenient stores within walking distance. The only place where you can buy some drinks / snacks is at the mini mart situated inside the hotel premises.Prices of items sold are much higher than those sold in the city stores.Most of the guests are tour groups and free transportation to / from the city is arranged by the tour operators. Unless you are on a package tour or have prearranged transportation I would not recommend your stay in this hotel. One way taxi fare from the city back to the hotel is around CNY 150.The hotel is relatively new and the rooms are spacious.Wifi which is free is only available to the rooms above the 7 th floor. For those on the lower floors a LAN line is provided. The floor is undergoing a programme of upgrading their internet network systems.Breakfast is buffet style with heavy emphasis on local Chinese dishes

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chan_pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Check in was slow with very rude staff insisting on high deposit of 1000 although room rate was only 499.
Upon entering the room found no complimentary water, dirty cups, used towell on the bathroom floor, used toothbrush and tooth paste tube on the bathroom vanity bench, and no stock in mini bar. Also very hard to communicate as only one person could speak English.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Failla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#48 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
97 reviews
New Century Hotel
#224 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
263 reviews
Oubon International Hotel
#1,570 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baiyun District
Holiday Inn Express Guangzhou Baiyun Airport
New Baiyun Airport
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Huadu
#30 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
269 reviews
Jingyi Hotel
#603 of 3,559 in Guangzhou
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HJ Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HJ Grand Hotel

Address: No.399 Yingbin Avenue, Huadu District, Guangzhou 510800, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 3,559 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £52 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HJ Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your HJ Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing