We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay”
Review of Guangdong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guangdong Hotel
Ranked #982 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 8 October 2006

I stayed here in early October 2006. The hotel is well appointed and staff are eager to please. Every floor has a manager who spots you heading for the lifts and gets it for you. I personally find this sort of thing a bit unnerving but it is all nicely done and tips are definitely not expected.

Rooms (business room) reasonable with all the bits and pieces you would expect. These rooms are recently refurbished according to the hotel blurb.

The hotel is pretty central and only 5 minutes from a metro station, Parks with museums and historic buildings are all within a 20 minute walk. Shopping streets likewise. You can get here from Guangzhou East station (from Hong Kong) by Metro if you can escape the clutches of the taxi touts. Make one change.

Restuarants are Chinese food only and English very limited. I spent an evening with a hundred Chinese watching me waiting for me to drop the chopsticks. They did give me forks and spoons but I had sent them back.

Food is good and if you are on your own impossible to finish the portions.

There was supposed to be a breakfast Western Buffet in the coffee shop but this was never functional.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Disgusted-Bagshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Guangdong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontonian_in_Daegu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
广东大厦, 客户关系经理 at Guangdong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
广东大厦, 客户关系经理 at Guangdong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank chunglai k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank o2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 31 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
广东大厦, 营销主任 at Guangdong Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#48 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#26 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gangrun Xi'erbin Hotel
Gangrun Xi'erbin Hotel
#959 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beihaidao Hotel Guangzhou Weijing
Beihaidao Hotel Guangzhou Weijin...
#946 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sino Trade Center Hotel
Sino Trade Center Hotel
#67 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#38 of 3,480 in Guangzhou
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangdong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangdong Hotel

Address: No.309 Dongfeng Middle Road, Yuexiu District, Guangzhou 510045, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #982 of 3,480 Hotels in Guangzhou
Price Range: £37 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guangdong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 491
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guangdong Hotel is a 4-star hotel with accommodation capacity of 500 rooms. It's located in the downtown city and near the beautiful YueXiu Mountain and the world-famous Dr. Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall. From the hotel, it only takes 10 minutes' walk to the main shopping street and 5 minutes' walk to the nearest metro station. The distance between the hotel and the Guangzhou Railway Station and the new International Airport is only 3km and 26km respectively. The hotel features exquisite contour, multi-layered open green balconies, garden-like podium top, spacious and magnificent lobby with trees, flowers and fountains on its middle floor, which presentss all guests a picturesque southern landscape. Supplying complete facilities for services, recreation, business and conference, the hotel also provides the guests fine western and eastern cuisines in hotel restaurants with stylish dining atmosphere. It is an ideal place for business, tourism and conferences. We are cordially waiting for your presence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guangdong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing