We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service EVER !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
Ranked #4 of 3,435 Hotels in Guangzhou
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The best service EVER !”
Reviewed 17 August 2010

You wont find a better hotel on service with room-checkin, always helpful staff, recommendations excellent, concierge service and yes not to forget an excellent room. Spanking new feel.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    274
    47
    10
    13
See reviews for
58
54
35
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I am writing this from my hotel room. My room is well appointed and comfortable - particularly the bed. Not too soft or hard. The buffet breakfast has many items and is very good. The problem here is the constant construction noise - I have been here 3 days over a weekend and it didn't stop. All day and all night. Our company in Guangzhou first put me in a government employee hotel and I rebelled. They called several hotels and thought this would be good since it is new and in a new part of the city. The whole problem is the noise - it didn't keep me up because it was softer at night. It will take months before the noise is gone. I am on the 35th floor and it is loud. If you plan on staying here - get a room closer to the front. I got the last nonsmoking room. I would have changed hotels but since I made an issue about the first, I felt bad about complaining about this one. I would give it 5 stars if not for the noise.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Well I choosed this hotel because of the brand . The hotel is very good , nice executive rooms . The lobby seems little comapring with the dimensions and volume of the hotel building . I think that lobbys must be nice so from this point of view the lobby is not fantastic . The rooms are big and the restaurant is good . Great breakfast and good cooking for lunch and dinner . The negative parts I have found are : 1 ) the location . youjust cannot go out to take a walk and eat in a close restaurant . you have to take a taxi and go . near the hotel are only office buildings . 2) no free internet . I thought that , if you pay 400 Euro / night at least I will get free internet ! the internet was a little expensive
3) The cost to eat in the restaurant seems over priced taking into consideration that if you want to eat you must take the cab 10 min .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I travel to Guangzhou for business quite often and have chosen to stay at the Ritz most of the time because of the location. Yes, it is in a developing area, but close to where I need to go. The hotel will be at the center of the 2010 Asian Games, so perhaps by November 2010, the hotel's location will be a coveted area.

Service is typically ... how should I say this ... China. Don't expect the world or the refined service you may find at a US or European Ritz. The staff needs much training, but don't forget you are in China and although the culture and people are evolving and adapting quickly, it isn't up to par with the world just yet. This will be the challenge of their current GM, Michelle Caporicci’s job. Have never met her, but she doesn’t seem to answer her own mail. She usually has her assistants answer them.

The rude and curt nature of the staff is somewhat typical of Chinese service reps. I like to blame it on a cultural thing.

After reading a few other reviews, I will have to agree that they do give preference to English speakers who also “look” like they only speak English. If you speak Chinese to them, their attitudes change very quickly and not for the better. Trust me…we spoke English during the remainder of our stay after seeing this and service was considerable better. It is quite disappointing and upsetting given the price you are paying every night. In addition, the elevators take FOREVER to arrive. Whoever set their elevator system up did a very poor job at facilitating the traffic going to each floor. In short…it’ll take you at least 10 minutes going up or down when there is a crowd.

Don’t get me wrong, the hotel is still pretty new and clean. The fixtures are nice, but as another reviewer indicated, they were installed poorly. My bathroom door did not lock because the deadbolt was installed too high on the door. Hindsight, it was a good thing it wasn’t the main room door.

Anyway, they still have a ways to go. I think I will be trying the Grand Hyatt Guangzhou the next time to see if they are any better, but from the reviews, it might just be the same.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc_travellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The final hotel I stayed in during my tour of china. Compared to the other hotels that I stayed in (intercontinental Shenzhen and Sheraton Sanya) it was O.K. Rooms were very large and spacious and room service was good. Food was kind of lousy in the hotel. Well decorated and attractive. Can't say anything much about entertainment and leisure because i only stayed thier one night

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zane033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2009

The interior decoration of this luxurious hotel is reminiscent of Versailles. Its location in the "New Town" means there is much construction around, and not much else. But rooms on one side have stunning views over the Pearl River and across to the city's Tower. One day, the location will be fabulous. The staff are polite and service is good. The restaurant provides an enormous variety of high quality food. Business services are good, if expensive. The pool setting is nice, but not appealing in winter. If you are coming to Guangzhou for a night or two and would like to live it up, this may be the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentFrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

A new hotel; great rooms and service. Location under development, so that is subject to change the coming years

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinLiAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
Mandarin Oriental, Guangzhou
#3 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#7 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
718 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#1 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
W Guangzhou
W Guangzhou
#2 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
Sheraton Guangzhou Hotel
#8 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
Guangzhou Marriott Hotel Tianhe
#9 of 3,435 in Guangzhou
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou
Address: No.3 Xing'an Road, Pearl River New City, Tianhe District, Guangzhou 510623, China (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Guangzhou)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Guangzhou
#3 Spa Hotel in Guangzhou
#4 Romantic Hotel in Guangzhou
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guangzhou
#13 Family Hotel in Guangzhou
#71 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the new CBD Pearl River New City of Tianhe District, the 351-room Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou is a luxury destination in the hub of Southern China. With 40 minutes drive from Baiyun International Airport and ten minutes from Guangzhou East Railway Station, hotel provides travel routes to various destinations in China, including direct trains to Hong Kong which take less than two hours. A series of new city landmarks such as Guangzhou Opera House and Guangdong Museum are at just steps away from the hotel. Distinctive services and facilities include 6 restaurants and lounges serving Cantonese and Western favorites, special cigars and wines. From intimate groups of ten to a conference for 800, meetings planners can choose from over 1,000 square meters / 11,000 square feet of exceptional function space available in The Ritz-Carlton Grand Ballroom, three multifunctional meeting rooms, two boardrooms and spacious pre-function areas. An extensive health club and The Ritz-Carlton Spa(R) rejuvenate body and mind, while The Ritz-Carlton Club(R) Level anticipates guests' needs with its dedicated personalized service. The Residences at The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou features 91 luxury serviced apartments of one to four bedrooms in size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Guangzhou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Hotel Guangzhou
Ritz Guangzhou
Ritz-Carlton Guangzhou
Guangzhou Ritz Carlton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing