We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average hotel, though good for conventions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baiyun International Convention Center
Ranked #255 of 3,562 Hotels in Guangzhou
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Unless travelling here for a business convention, I would try to avoid this place. It is far from the city centre and the food is in the restaurant is of a low standard of quality, particularly the bizarre choices of western-style food offered. Although I believe it is marketed as a 4/5 star hotel, my impression is that should actually be of the 2/3 star rating. One thing I found particularly annoying was the 'jazzy' lobby-style music that was constantly playing around the hotel, even outside my hotel room!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank lizmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

My room was in building 1 3rd floor. As soon as we walked off the elevators it stunk of cigarette smoke. Nothing unusual for China. But I walk in to my room and it stunk of cigarettes. I requested a room change but there were no vacancies. They said they'd come up to freshen the room. Which meant spray floral room deodorant. It didn't work. Finally we switched with a friend who didn't mind the smoke.

There's cig burns and stains in the carpet. Like another reviewer said. " not great , not bad, wouldn't stay here".

Only good thing is the staff try there best given the language problem. They speak a little English, some Cantonese, but mostly mandarin.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayward888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Avoid this hotel unless you get an amazing deal and don't mind being far away from the city centre. Athough it is clearly modelled after Western 5-star brands, this is the Chinese version, so expect stained carpets, a pool too shallow to swim in, and a fairly random menu choice in the restaurant; as with so many recent Chinese buildings the quality of finish and maintenance is poor, with the uneven surface of the floor visible underneat the carpets, dirty windows and mould and mildew behind the curtains (a general problem in hot and humid Guangzhou).

The subway station is within 3-min walking distance from the hotel (and 4 stops from Guangzhou station in the North West of town) but the hotel staff are unable to explain were and how to catch the subway and equally inefficient in atracting a taxi. The airport is a 20min taxi ride.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axispanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This hotel also goes by the name Oriental International Convention Hotel. This hotel is attached to a convention center. I stayed there as part of a package for a meeting I attended. Although the hotel was presented as a 4-5 star, based on the other hotels I stayed at in Guangzhou I'd rate it 2-3. It is a place to avoid if you have allergies to mold or cigarett smoke. Even the "clean rooms" smelled moldy. It was also the only hotel I stayed at in Guangzhou that had a significant problem with mosquitoes inside the hotel. I woke up the 1st morning with bites that would tear your heart out. The windows were closed. Since these pests carry a lot of nasty diseases in this area I was concerned. The food was at best mediocare with very little selection. The staff spoke very little english although they did try and would have me write down what I wanted so that they could type it into google translator. The location of the hotel is so far off the beaten track that my tour guide had trouble finding a cab that would drive that far. I strongly suggest that if you have a meeting at the convention center you stay off site. The cost of the cab (about 7USD from the city center one way) will be more than offset by the better rooms, better location at a cheaper price. I stayed before the meeting at the Dong Fang which is right in the middle of everything and it was great, not to mention $80 cheaper.

Room Tip: The rooms here are quite 'cause there is nothing around here. Be careful of the mold and mosqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It was presented to me within a conference packing as a 5-star hotel although for french standards it must be classified between 4 & 4.5-stars. Its' modern, clean, rooms are large and the environment is very calm. The staff need with some urgency in some cases additional lessons of english. Restaurants have a limited offer of cuisine other than chinese. Wine can cost you a little fortune, just for a glass.
It's well located close to the metro station and cabs are easily available. Be careful about prices that taxi drivers can claim to you.
This hotel is close to the convention center, a very nice and modern building with modern technologies available. So it means this hotel is comfortable from this point of view.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at his hotel because it was in a package for a conference. The hotel is attached to the conference centre, it's not close to anything else but there is a metro station about 10 minutes away (walking). It's clean (not spotless, but clean enough) , the food in the restaurant that provides breakfast is edible, but nothing is great. I think this hotel was probably a really nice hotel at one time, but I don't think it's been maintained appropriately....there was a mirror broken in the room, the bed was pretty hard and the staff know enough english to get your point across. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank superjules123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Room was okay, bussiness style, wifi works great. You`d really chose this play if it`s convinient for your location or you came specially for the conference in Convention center. It`s not for long comforting living.
Most of windows of this hotel faces the wall, so double check if you want to have mountain view. I actually asked for this when booked the room but still had the wall view.
Swimming pool is not for swimming, not comfortable at all.
Hotel has its own calm green area where you dont hear any noices from the streets. Metro line is 3 minutes away.
Do not eat in the Western restaurant! It`s crazy expensive and crazyly not tasty, I tried many things in there and everything was merely disaster.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun
#29 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
464 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
Hao Yin Gloria Plaza Hotel
#47 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
100 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Orange Hotel Guangzhou Huadu
Crystal Orange Hotel Guangzhou H...
#376 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Dragon Lake Princess Hotel
Dragon Lake Princess Hotel
#65 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
96 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
The Garden Hotel Guangzhou
#14 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
2,635 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,562 in Guangzhou
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baiyun International Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyun International Convention Center

Address: No.1039-1045 Baiyun Avenue South, Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510405, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range: £30 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baiyun International Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baiyun International Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyun International Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing