We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far away from anything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baiyun International Convention Center
Ranked #263 of 3,408 Hotels in Guangzhou
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So far away from anything”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were here for a convention but it's miles away from the center of Guangzhou. The concierge didn't speak English & neither did most of the hotel employees so we felt quite isolated. Food was bland and service was horrible. Impossible to get good wine. The shower doors all leaked and flooded the bathrooms every time. The lobby & restaurant were always freezing cold.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GayD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    93
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
3
6
3
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

It's just ok for conference there not even for Canton Fairs as it's too far away and need to spend an hour in the bus one way. Away from city center. Food just average and expensive in the hotel. Rooms are nice and clean and it's the biggest strenght of this hotel. If you don't have business taking place in this hotel I recommend finding better hotel for same price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

As the name implies the Baiyun International Convention Center Hotel (or the Oriental International Convention Hotel as it is officially known) is the hotel component of the huge Guangzhou Baiyun International Convention Center complex that comprise of five large buildings, numbered from 1 to 5. Buildings 1 and 5 are the North and South Towers of the hotel, respectively while the other house comprehensive facilities for conferences, exhibitions, banquets and the like. The complex is so large (apparently the covered area is more than 320,000 square meters) that the two wings of the hotel are separated by roughly half a kilometer. The hotel boasts more than thousand rooms (two wings). Probably due to the sheer size of the establishment (and individual sections) the hotel exudes a desolate and forlorn look most of the time- not homely at all. In spite of the grand vision that probably drove the development of the facility, it seems not to be attracting the intended volume of business (and bodies), and that appears to be affecting the overall service levels.

Concentrating on the hotel, although billed as a five-star hotel (and priced as such by Guangzhou standard), the quality of the rooms and service would indicate otherwise. The rooms although fairly large and well appointed originally, are looking tired and ragged, and we had to change our first room due to faulty plumbing. The carpets in the corridors and common areas seemed to be coming loose off the floor. The daily room service was cursory and one could clearly detect a sense of complacency. Having met a coupe of the service staff (limited interaction due to lack of English), one gets the impression that they lack training rather than commitment. Interestingly, although the hotel is at the foothills of the Baiyun Mountain range (a popular resort area), the design is such that most of the rooms actually have little view (including the convention centers). As a matter of fact, a large number of the hotel rooms have no outside view at all, as they look into the inner courtyards. Although we were housed in Building 5 (South Tower), breakfast was served in Building 1 (North Tower), a good ten-minute brisk walk through the various convention halls that lie in between. Breakfast was adequate with a haphazard/curious combination of Chinese and Western items. However, service was again sloppy, with a number of items unavailable at any one time due to slow replenishment. The restaurant staff were equally complacent.

The hotel is not close to any major place of interest to the average tourist. Admittedly, it is easily accessible by public transport and the local Metro station (Line 2; Baiyun Culture Square) is about ten minutes away on foot. However, there are better options (both ambiance and value) nearer to the city center, and the Baiyun Convention Center Hotel will probably have to depend on the captive conference participants for business now, and in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at higher levels as they seem to be better apponited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nafis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago. They seem to be improving their game (although possibly there is variation between the buildings in the complex -- sorry, I can't remember whether I was in the same building last time). There was marked improvement in cleanliness and everything -- even the internet -- worked. The room I had was large with reasonable desk space, a comfortable chair, and (unusually for mid-priced hotels in China) an excellent bathroom. Unfortunately as with most Chinese hotels I have stayed in, the bed is hard. Very hard. The floor would be softer. Much softer. The location is still a drag -- it's miles from anywhere (although there is a subway station within an easy walk) -- the only reason to stay here is if you are attending a conference in the complex.

I notice that some reviewers complain about the food. As a frequent visitor to China I must say I disagree. The Chinese food in the Macau Street restaurant was good (and with many regional dishes that you will not find outside of China), as was the Japanese food in the Japanese restaurant. I can't comment on the Western food in the Western restaurant other than to ask, "Why eat Western food in China?" Breakfast, by the way, was OK. Both Chinese foods and Western foods. You could get an omelet made to order, there was fresh fruit and there were a Chinese stab on Danish pastries (although the steamed buns -- kind of like bagels before they are baked -- are a better bet). There are, by the way, a number of restaurants a ten minute walk away. We went to one that was recommended to us by a local. The food was excellent and the beer was cheap. We closed the restaurant down until it was just us, the night watchman, and some well-fed rats.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty isolated so street noise is not significant (unless you have a room above the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Emotionless robots running an efficient place. Pool out of order, food on a par with the rest of the country, very poor unless you apreciate bony slop, and £13 for a beer & a coke! Quite close to the metro, (5 mins easy walk) .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Targa34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Unless travelling here for a business convention, I would try to avoid this place. It is far from the city centre and the food is in the restaurant is of a low standard of quality, particularly the bizarre choices of western-style food offered. Although I believe it is marketed as a 4/5 star hotel, my impression is that should actually be of the 2/3 star rating. One thing I found particularly annoying was the 'jazzy' lobby-style music that was constantly playing around the hotel, even outside my hotel room!

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank lizmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

My room was in building 1 3rd floor. As soon as we walked off the elevators it stunk of cigarette smoke. Nothing unusual for China. But I walk in to my room and it stunk of cigarettes. I requested a room change but there were no vacancies. They said they'd come up to freshen the room. Which meant spray floral room deodorant. It didn't work. Finally we switched with a friend who didn't mind the smoke.

There's cig burns and stains in the carpet. Like another reviewer said. " not great , not bad, wouldn't stay here".

Only good thing is the staff try there best given the language problem. They speak a little English, some Cantonese, but mostly mandarin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayward888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
28.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
Crowne Plaza Guangzhou Zengcheng
#69 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dongfang Hotel
Dongfang Hotel
#40 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Hilton Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#27 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cherrful Hotel
Cherrful Hotel
#347 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.0 mi away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#31 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
3.6 mi away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#34 of 3,408 in Guangzhou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baiyun International Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baiyun International Convention Center

Property: Baiyun International Convention Center
Address: No.1039-1045 Baiyun Avenue South, Baiyun District, Guangzhou 510405, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Best Value Hotel in Guangzhou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baiyun International Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1080
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baiyun International Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baiyun International Hotel Guangzhou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing