We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, room is not comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good location, room is not comfy”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice, friendly environment. Very nice staff. Free water refill! Free laundry is a HUGE plus!!! Nice location.
Room are not quite comfy. Also bad smell in bathroom from time to time. Dirty window with some garbage outside the window. Street is not quite isolated from room because of hole in the windows (for AC tubing's). Expensive price (140 RMB), but looks like it is normal in China.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmitryP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    71
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
11
59
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I travelled with a friend, sleeping in a double room (no river view)

The staff can speak English and can help you booking trips everywhere around Guilin, rice terraces, Li river, Yangshuo.
Longji rice terraces are awesome and if I'll ever go there another time, I'll spend a nice in Longji because it's the real Chinese countryside.
The hostel is cheap, clean to be Chinese, friendly, front desk open from 7am to 1am so late check in are possible
It's located in the town center, near the river, in a quiet position but close enough to go everywhere in Guilin walking (no taxi needed)
The breakfast (32RMB total) can be continental, French, Swiss or American and includes coffee/tea too: it's good and available in the great hall from 7am
The air condition in the room works well even if the system isn't so new and in the bathroom is without soap, shampoo, hairdryer, comb

If you want to book the trips with them (recommended), force them to book while you're booking the room, otherwise you can risk not to be able to travel as you would like (seats in buses are limited and there are few tours every day)
The Green Forest has a hostel as cheap as this also in Yangshuo, but they don't advertise it too much, we discovered it while arrived in Guilin

Room Tip: The "river view" is an extra not bnecessary since the rivewr is outside of the main door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comandina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very good value - we stayed for under 50 RMB pr. person per night. They have wifi in the lounge area, and the coverage is quite good, so some rooms will be covered.
The room was spacious, with an okay bed. The pillows were not that good, and the bathroom was a little dirty - and had no separate shower compartment. But then again - this is a hostel, and not a hotel, so I think they are minor issues, and the price considered this place is awesome.

Also, what we really liked was the athmosphere and the VERY helpful and friendly staff, whose english was good. They were helpful beyond what I would expect in my wildest dreams. When they heard we were staying 4 nights in Guilin, and that we were reconsidering whether to stay only 2 nights and go Yangshuo instead, they were very enthusiastic about it and recommended for us to do it, even though it meant that they would lose money. Impressive.

We booked a tour to the rice terraces through them, and had a lovely guide. However, I would have gone for the tour without the Long Hair Show - it was too touristy, and too much time wasted sitting around. But that was our own fault - the hostel provides a tour without the Long Hair Show :) We also booked a Bamboo river cruise with them, and that was good too! However, the guide on that tour kept trying to sell us additional tours, and it was a little annoying. But again - that doesn't reflect on the hostel.

All in all - a LOVELY stay! Also the cafe is very good for breakfast which comes at 32 RMB including tea/coffee/juice. :) We also had dinner there once which was good value, and tasted great.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a river view - it is worth the money. Most rooms are quite I think, as this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanne849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Huge bright spacious room with nice comfy bed and clean en suite.
No wifi in the room and the corridors were quite noisy.
Friendly staff and one particularly helpful with letting us use the phone etc.
Good location, 10mins walk to the bus and train station.
On the morning we were leaving we got up with enough time to have breakfast before we left but the staff were all sleeping in (even though it was within breakfast serving hours).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nixpix26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hostel is just excellent.
Especially the staff-they made you feel at home, and was so helpful in everyway you can imagine.
I can highly recommend this place and would love to come back next time i visit China:-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharL1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Not a mandarin speaking person and knowing that not many Chinese speaks English, to stay in an establishment that speaks English is prerequisite to an enjoyable holiday. And this is what I found at Green Forest Hostel , Guilin. All the staff that I came across speak reasonable to very good English especially Mr. Yang(always full of youthful energy) and Diana. I arrived from Kunming. Picked a taxi from Guilin airport for standard fare of RMB100. At the airport exit, I bought a city tour package for the next day for RMB300 which I thought was an excellent value. The taxi driver did not know the exact location of the hostel but stopped in the vicinity and called the hostel. The hostel staff came down to fetch us and even carried our luggage upstairs(hostel on 1st floor). We stayed in a 4 person dormitory with attached toilet/shower because that was the only room left that was suitable for us a group of 4 adults. The room was clean and comfy, really good value for money(RMB320 for 2 nights). There are halal restaurants and a mosque(Tongsan mosque) at Ximen Bridge area all within walking distance and there is a huge night market nearby.We stayed for 2 nights and there after travel to Yangshuo by bus(RMB18/pax). The bus station is only 5 mins walk from the hostel.Three days later we came back to guilin and stayed in double riverview which needless to say was a lot more spacious. From Guilin we took the train to Nanning(RMB64.5/pax). The train station is only 12minutes walk from the hostel. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in guilin, with the help of the wonderfully passionate staff of Green Forest. We even booked and stayed at Green forest hostel in Nanning and I found the standards were maintained. In Nanning there are also halal restaurants and a mosque just 50m from Green forest Nanning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azizmaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hostel is right by the river, so it makes for east access to walking paths by the river and the night market (although it is a bit of a trek from the walking street). We started the trip in a family room that was moldy and without a window, so ventured out quite a bit to get fresh air. After wandering to a few different cities, we returned for our last night in the area and had a river view room with a window, which made a world of different. The breakfasts were quite nice, but the coffee left much to be desired.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
Ron Inn
#7 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 637 in Guilin
1,171 reviews
Wada Hostel
#1 of 208 in Guilin
409 reviews
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 41 in Guilin
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station

Property: Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station
Address: No.110-25 Zhongshan South Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wajiang Hostel Guilin Railway Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing