We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i have stayed in some dives”
Review of Hong Kong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hong Kong Hotel
Ranked #234 of 612 Hotels in Guilin
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“i have stayed in some dives”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

14th floor .... cheap... smelly... carpet on the floor is more comfortable then the bed and maybe cleaner. the street noise is very very loud. cant sleep since the bed is so hard. basically i think i would rather be homeless. have yet to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernalpanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is reasonable and located near several grocery stores. It's also on the tourist bus pick-up/drop-off circuit for trips on the Li River or Guilin Lakes. Everyone knew where it was the minute they saw the card. That said, there was little English spoken, though everyone did their best. Thanks to a Chinese friend, the hotel staff arranged reasonably priced tours with the main Chinese government travel agency and we were well taken care of with English speaking guides. We only slept in the hotel, so for us it was the perfect choice. We were disappointed that there was no WIFI in the room as promised and water was not provided. However, there is free WIFI in the lobby and there is bottled water to be had there as well for a very low price. If you are fussy about having foreign hotels of the standard of US hotels, this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 and found it be a very clean and modern hotel and we managed to get a very good deal for our family - internet in the room was also included. Unfortunately the breakfast was not very good - aside from the usual cold stewed vegies we were allowed only one boiled egg per person - very strange!) so dont bother with their breakfast. Apart from that its OK. Suggest you get a room on higher floors as its next to a noisy intersection.

Room Tip: higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Although it is a cheap place to stay I have to say that if I was able to re-book a hotel online again it would not be here as I don't speak the language and there was no staff that spoke English. I didn't like the breakfast, it is very noisy as I was faced to the main road, trying to book tours was a no no as none of the spoke English fortunately I had a lady friend in Guilin who did all the bookings for me. The room was a good size but dirty looking as the carpets was stained and dirty the toilet was clean, the walls were marked and dirty, and the room smelled of cigarette smoke and this is coming from a smoker, however the window, (which by the way was dirty) did open to allow the smoke disappear somewhat, there was no English channels on the T.V. all 20 channels. However it was close to shops in the area and eating areas where they did have KFC and McDonald's and local cuisine. Definitely would choose a better Hotel next time

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
234 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this online and it looked OK. When we arrived, we found an old, run down typical 1960's Chinese hotel. The breakfast was horrible looking. Make no mistake, I have spent much time in China and stayed at many Chinese hotels. I am an adventurous eater and not shy....but I did not even attempt to eat the breakfast here. No wi-fi. Little english spoken.

Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vnvet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I managed to get an exceptional good rate from Ctrip for this hotel, RMB188 for a high floor superior room. BUT the room was terrible - they dont change the bedsheet, the carpet was dirty, the toilet was needless to say, not maintained. And I am not comparing this to 4-star or evn 3-star hotel. This place is worse than a guest house. I was deceived by the external look of the hotel. And they even charge for parking! Service is non-existence, so I am unable to rate it. Avoid this hotel - nothing against them as they gave me a cheap room rate.

Room Tip: It looks good from the external facade - dont be deceived by the external looks
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Merpati88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Certainly not for English speaking guest as there were no English speaking staff. You'll get a shoulder shrug and they get on with their business. Had 7 rooms, 3 nights booked, Thu, Sat and Sun. Tried to book a room for Fri so we can just leave our bags but hotel wanted to charge us for 2 nights as check-out was 1200 for Fri and check-in for Sat was not until 1500. The staff got angry when we thought he did not understand he was going to basically charge us a night for the 3 hrs between checkout for Fri and checkin for Sat. Room was small, warm and cigarette smell. Fridge was not plugged in as the plug was different from the outlet. No shower cover/door so the whole bathroom gets wet. The sitting lounge in the lobby was noisy with a goup of young people speaking loudly, one without shirt and another with shirt folded up with his tummy showing. The staff did nothing to quiet them. No internet in the rooms or the loung in the lobby but a little spot at the check-in desk. On checkin, make sure nothing is missing in the room, and on checkout make sure to walk through your room with them. The hotel wanted to charged us for a pair of slipper which they claimed was missing from the room, a tower which they claimed had an unremoveable stain and a missing face tower. Tried to cancel our Sat night but did not have 24 hr notice for refund but did manage to cancel Sun night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aikshenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guilin
0.0 mi away
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
Yangshuo Spring Hyatt Hotel
#137 of 438 in Yangshuo County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eva Inn
Eva Inn
#172 of 612 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
6.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Guilin Lingui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
1.2 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 612 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 612 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hotel

Property: Hong Kong Hotel
Address: No.141 Xihuan First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 612 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hong Kong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing