We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are on a shoe string budget”
Review of Hong Kong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Kong Hotel
Ranked #232 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Guilin Hong Kong Hotel is really typical of most Asian hotels that is away from the typical tourist area. The rating was low due to slow AC cooling, minimal bathroom amenities as no hand soap and the towels were worn, the refrigerator works but one has to plug it in. The bed was firm but overall the place was clean. The hotel provided a continental Chinese breakfast that is really for Chinese. As an Asian American, it even took some adjusting as we stayed 4 days in this hotel.
The receptionist didn't speak English nor accepted US credit card or US dollars. Catching the taxi was relatively easy to and from the hotel. There were some places to eat around the hotel, but since we were concern for our health we were very selective as to what we ate and what utensils we used.

In the City of Guilin, bargaining is expected so get the best deal if one wants to buy something.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kings2nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hong Kong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

14th floor .... cheap... smelly... carpet on the floor is more comfortable then the bed and maybe cleaner. the street noise is very very loud. cant sleep since the bed is so hard. basically i think i would rather be homeless. have yet to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kernalpanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel is reasonable and located near several grocery stores. It's also on the tourist bus pick-up/drop-off circuit for trips on the Li River or Guilin Lakes. Everyone knew where it was the minute they saw the card. That said, there was little English spoken, though everyone did their best. Thanks to a Chinese friend, the hotel staff arranged reasonably priced tours with the main Chinese government travel agency and we were well taken care of with English speaking guides. We only slept in the hotel, so for us it was the perfect choice. We were disappointed that there was no WIFI in the room as promised and water was not provided. However, there is free WIFI in the lobby and there is bottled water to be had there as well for a very low price. If you are fussy about having foreign hotels of the standard of US hotels, this may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 and found it be a very clean and modern hotel and we managed to get a very good deal for our family - internet in the room was also included. Unfortunately the breakfast was not very good - aside from the usual cold stewed vegies we were allowed only one boiled egg per person - very strange!) so dont bother with their breakfast. Apart from that its OK. Suggest you get a room on higher floors as its next to a noisy intersection.

Room Tip: higher floors have less traffic noise
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnindarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Although it is a cheap place to stay I have to say that if I was able to re-book a hotel online again it would not be here as I don't speak the language and there was no staff that spoke English. I didn't like the breakfast, it is very noisy as I was faced to the main road, trying to book tours was a no no as none of the spoke English fortunately I had a lady friend in Guilin who did all the bookings for me. The room was a good size but dirty looking as the carpets was stained and dirty the toilet was clean, the walls were marked and dirty, and the room smelled of cigarette smoke and this is coming from a smoker, however the window, (which by the way was dirty) did open to allow the smoke disappear somewhat, there was no English channels on the T.V. all 20 channels. However it was close to shops in the area and eating areas where they did have KFC and McDonald's and local cuisine. Definitely would choose a better Hotel next time

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this online and it looked OK. When we arrived, we found an old, run down typical 1960's Chinese hotel. The breakfast was horrible looking. Make no mistake, I have spent much time in China and stayed at many Chinese hotels. I am an adventurous eater and not shy....but I did not even attempt to eat the breakfast here. No wi-fi. Little english spoken.

Don't waste your time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vnvet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I managed to get an exceptional good rate from Ctrip for this hotel, RMB188 for a high floor superior room. BUT the room was terrible - they dont change the bedsheet, the carpet was dirty, the toilet was needless to say, not maintained. And I am not comparing this to 4-star or evn 3-star hotel. This place is worse than a guest house. I was deceived by the external look of the hotel. And they even charge for parking! Service is non-existence, so I am unable to rate it. Avoid this hotel - nothing against them as they gave me a cheap room rate.

Room Tip: It looks good from the external facade - dont be deceived by the external looks
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Merpati88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.0 mi away
Eva Inn
Eva Inn
#207 of 644 in Guilin
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 644 in Guilin
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Guilin Lingui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#11 of 644 in Guilin
839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 644 in Guilin
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guilin Oasis Inn
Guilin Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Guilin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hotel

Address: No.141 Xihuan First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £16 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hong Kong Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hong Kong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing