We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guilin International Hotel
Ranked #188 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for only one night, I would say the official rating is set too high. The bedroom and bathroom were clean enough, I think. The problem was the room decoration and furniture were very dark and the lighting completely inadequate. The was the usual tea in the room but not coffee.
The bed was comfortable.
Had it been lighter I think it would have been ok.
We went for breakfast at opening time 07:00 and there was a rush. The breakfast was not as good as others we stayed at.
As I said we were only there for one night, we went out for our evening meal.
Not particularly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Only stayed one night - rooms clean and well-appointed bed hard but that's China. Breakfast was very busy but a good selection of foods only a problem is you were waiting to cook toast. Didn't venture out into the local area but there seemed to be a variety of places nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We were surprised to find people greeting us with puffy jackets on inside the hotel. My husband and I understood that people may not speak English in guilin, and we were correct. Make sure to bring a phrase book or pictures to describe what you would like. The hotel was moderately clean, however there were drop cloths on all of the carpets. They must have been about to begin a renovation. The beds are super hard! No mattress hard. I believe there was only a box spring. The heat in the shower was intermittent. The breakfast was Chinese noodles, steamed buns and some toast. Completely fine.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grandy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Be advised when traveling in china, even the people who work at the concierge don't speak english. Make sure to buy a travel book before leaving the states. We traveled here in December and you absolutely must bring a hate, gloves, scarf and puffy jacket. Unlike the US chinese hotels don't heat their common areas. You must eat inside with your jackets on. bring some capilene under layers and you'll be fine. THis hotel had drop cloths allover the carpet, and the beds were like sleeping on a pice of wood. They don't have a western breakfast, but there is toast. Good luck and be prepared and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelfoodiefromHamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

One of the many hotels we stayed in during our wendy wu tour of China and one of our favourites. Sparklingly clean and beautifully appointed rooms, superb bathroom, comfy beds.

Breakfast buffet was well presented, lots of choice and an opportunity to try a few typical Chinese breakfast dishes if you're feeling adventurous!

Room Tip: Pool isn't always available - chech in advance if it matters to you! TV channels all Chinese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w4sssup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

+ Quite modern, well maintained and clean hotel
+ Bathroom clean, good shower
+ Safe and hairdryer available, flatscreen TV, bathroom service kit with shampoo etc.
+ Receptionists spoke enough English to cope with check-in and -out and our question to call a taxi
+ the inner court was really beautiful, with a pond and nice flowers

- main problem: the bed. Applying Western standards I would not call it a bed, as it didn't have a mattress, but just a wooden plank covered with 1cm thick lining...it was therefore EXTREMELY hard
- no babybed available (which we knew beforehand)
- the hotel-restaurant did not seem attractive, it was quite empty and prices high. Yet we discovered almost opposite the hotel a truly/original Chinese, really crowded restaurant, which served delicious food at low prices. The menu is purely in Pinyin, though, no pictures.

+- located 200m off one of the main east-west roads of the city, roughly 40minutes to the airport without traffic
+- walls are not sufficiently isolated against noise, however, this is a problem only for some of the rooms, so mention that you want a quiet room when you book
+- room was not big, but sufficient to feel good

Summary: If you manage to sleep on the hard bed, I recommend this hotel, as it is clean and relatively modern for a very decent price

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajfal;skjf;a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray02267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
180 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 659 in Guilin
1,618 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 659 in Guilin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin International Hotel

Address: NO.1 1 Canluan Road, Guilin 541004, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £13 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guilin International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing