We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay”
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #9 of 644 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent a night here, however did not enjoy the stay too much. The set up was perfect, it was a homely inn, however as soon as we reached, a crowd of approx 25 people came in and started drinking in the bar below, the music was too loud and it was really disturbing us in the room. We were tired after a long journey and needed some peaceful time however the party and the loud music continued well into the night. The staff was helpful, around 12AM we called them and requested them to turn the music down. They understood and did try to help but not to much satisfaction. Anyways the next day we thought we would spend some time in Guilin however given our experience in this place we left early morning to Yangshuo and a good thing we did. It is value for money and staff are helpful, unfortunately it was a bad experience for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanushree_G_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hostel is good, cheap and centrally located. It has pickup services from the airport and tour for a decent price. Rooms were basic but clean and comfortable and had free unlimited wifi. It has only 3 rooms and most would fit 3 people comfortably. The owners are young, friendly and very accommodating. As with most hotels in China, the level of English is not very good, and it would be easy if you installed a translator in a smartphone or learn some basic Chinese prior to going. At the ground floor of this hostel is a bar, where you can get drinks cheaply. Locationwise, it is opposite a Rice vermicelli store, which Guilin is famous for. Across the bridge, you would also find a department store, where most locals shop, and most essentials can be bought cheaply. It is also nearby a famous Chinese restaurant - about 5 minutes walk where Chinese delicacies can be bought cheaply. The hostel is located next to the river, which is scenic, but full with mosquitoes at night. Bring a bug spray. On the plus side, you can easily get boat rides up and down the river. The hotel teams up with a local taxi driver to offer cheap tours for visitors. Take the famous boatride along Guilin river while savoring fresh fish plugged from the river, the terrace rice fields (2-3 hours by tour) and the ethnic minority who live there, for a true feel of the city. Don't buy anything from Yangshuo (it is a tourist city where the Guilin boat ride stops at) as it is too expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room (the one in front). Choose one nearer to the access point for faster internet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Considering prices of other hotels within the same neighborhood sandwiched by two most tourist attraction lakes, and near to vivid night scene, I think this hotel is a gift to traveler.
Rooms are nicely decorated and clean. I think it was renovated recently. Though one of the rooms(at least mine, with two king-size beds) may face the place where the construction is, I can bear this small(really small) noise with the price and quality of the rooms.
There are bars where you can drink cheap and OK Chinese tea and coffee, very good secluded place especially when you want to avoid nightmarish(sometimes pleasant though...) Guilin's night scene. Puer and Longjing tea's price is very competitive.

There are only three rooms, so it is easy to be filled up. You may be guided to other affiliated hotel called "Riverside Inn" which I've never experienced but not that good based on reviews.

So if you can't book here, I would recommend go for Wada or other options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hosang_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed only over night when we go back from Yangshuo and need to catch flight next Morning in Guilin. The girl waited us till 12:30am during night time for check in and got up before 6am next morning for check out..
The room is actually spacious enough compared with my expectation after viewing hotel pictures. Downstairs is a bar which is a nice place for gathering. The hotel is very close to Shan lake(just in front of door) that's why we like the location as well.
Considering the price, I think it's with great value for those budget travelers who also care about cleanness and surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycebjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

we stayed at the lakeside while transiting to Yanshuo. Nice affordable place next to the pagodas. Also very close to the main shopping street and night market. strongly recommend for a short stay as the amenities are pretty basic. Nice pub which also serves limited food. Room are spacious, but the bathroom is a bit rundown

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Divyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I have been going to this place for over 1.5 years and i haven't found any other place like it in Guilin yet.The staff and owners are all 100% making sure you have the best stay possible!If you just like a good atmosphere and conversation with people from around the world then this is your place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRADLEYJ237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

A nice, mellow place with a friendly staff.

The price seemed high for low season (Y168 for a double).

Our room was above a noisy parking lot; the window was at the head of the bed.

There was a useless space-heater in the room (the portable, electric radiator type that has some sort of non-flammable liquid inside of it) that was good for drying socks and not much else.

The bathroom had a liquid bath soap/shampoo dispenser, but the contents were so thoroughly diluted that neither produced a decent lather.

The coffee was overpriced and watery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.4 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 644 in Guilin
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#8 of 644 in Guilin
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 644 in Guilin
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 644 in Guilin
207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.4 mi away
Jingxiang Hotel
Jingxiang Hotel
#4 of 644 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: No.1-1-2 Sha lake Building Shan Lake North Road, Guilin City Center, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: £24 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a place located in the very heart of the Guilin city. All the entertainment is just within walking distance. The famous Sun and Moon Pagodas scenic spot which stand right in the Shahu Lake is only a walkway next to the compound. Within a circle of 500 meters around our inn you can have access to department store, supermarket, local restaurant, western style restaurant, Starbucks, massage and all the entertainment you would expect. Despite its central location it is quiet and free from disturbing traffic noise. It is a good place to stay or relax when you travel. The first floor of our inn is a nice Cafe & Bar. We provide western breakfast(toast,egg,coffee,tea),Pizza,Sandwiches, coffee (Latte, Mocha, Cappuccino ect) and Chinese dumplings. We have cold local beer, cocktails, whiskey which can give you a wonderful time after or during travel. Being the owner, Jack is an outgoing world traveler. His nephew and assistant, John, is a college teacher in Guilin Tourism University. We speak English and know the city well. We can help you plan your stay in Guilin on your request. We offer airport/train sation pick up service as well as sightseeing services, for example, Li River Cruise, Longji Terraces Trip and one day Guilin city trip ect. We have private car rental service(with English/non English speaking driver) to facilitate your tour(especially suitable for large family travel).We try our best to make your stay a unique and memorable experience of the Chinese culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing