We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel staff ok”
Review of Eva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eva Inn
Ranked #197 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We thought it was a very nice and clean hotel. We really liked the rooms. The restaurant was delicious and very well priced. It was well located too. Staff were OK but I didn't think it was great service. They had a travel agent onsite and was terrible. They didn't speak at all English and didn't try to help either. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

The location is convenient found after searching. Booked the hotel through travel agent CTS. It was tween bed double room. After checking in found the carpet was dirty, Lamp shed was old and marked. Surprised that complelementary free bottled drinking water are not available. We were charged for using the botled water. This hotel has policy to make money from travellers purchasing in room utilitis eg snacks, condom, crisps, etc - It is like mini convenient store inside hotel room, not seen in other Hotels in this catagory. Never have this experienced.

Room Tip: You have to pay for bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lastdewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

+ve :-
*Locatoin is good to all amenities and places to eat and see.
*Food on the 7th Flr Hotel is reasonably priced which is quite surprising IF you want a quick meal and NOT wanting to walk to the pedestrian mall behind.
-ve :-
*Foreign tourist/non-speaking Chinese will require guide service to get around or else get duped by over-zealous scalpers waiting outside the hotel.
*The female front desk personnel needed to do some PR courses in interpersonal skills to improve their attitude towards foreign non-speaking Cinese customers. One female staff(Cant read her name tag) was rude and loud to me whilst I was checking in on 25th Aug and since then, HAS NOT attended to me thusfar when I am the front desk. Almost everyone except the supervisor and mgr are unable to converse in English.

Room Tip: Great Location hotel ,BUT female front desk staff need an Attitude ReAdjustment course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Staff were helpful and kind, the room was clean and the bathroom too. There was a great restaurant on the rooftop overlooking the town, had great combo western/asain breakfast. . Great tour guide in the hotel called steve . his trip is better than the published tourist trip

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

you can tolerate the smelly lobby (from smokers), depressing corridor carpets, and waiting for the local tour groups to finish their round during breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcqueen_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This hotel is pretty good, but just a few small things let it down. It’s on the river, tick. It is located close to decent restaurants, bars, shops and massage, tick. It has clean and comfortable rooms, half a tick. It has LAN Internet in the room, tick. However, it doesn’t have any English speaking staff. Also, the checking in and procedure takes a very long time. There is the usual key deposit issue which we encountered all over China and there was an obvious staffing deficiency. It’s a 40 room+ hotel and at the time of our check out (8am) there was one person at reception who isisted on trying to check three separate groups of people out at the same time and answer the phone every few minutes. Very frsutrating.

The rooms are nicely done for the most part. Ours had one very prominent spit mark that had slid it’s way down the wall, but hey we were used to that after being in China a week, so we just asked house keeping to give it a wipe. The funny thing about the room was that it had all this stuff for sale in it. It was like a mini-mart. First there was the well stocked mini-bar, including instant noodles. Then there was the manicure kit, some nice shampoo, a shaving kit, two condoms, some “man sex oil” and some “lady sex oil”. So, it was nice of them to try and anticipate our needs. The instant noodles were certainly appreciated.

Breakfast was a basic buffet with some surly service staff. We ate it and then had to pay for it when we checked out. Best to eat brekky at one of the many nicer places near the hotel I think.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squirrelsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed at the Eva Inn on 3 different occasions for 1 night each while we were in the area. I booked the Deluxe River view room through Ctrip and the rate was very good.
The reservation included a free airport pick up and although our flight was delayed by 2 hours, a driver was waiting for us. His attitude as very rude however.
Communication through email was very good, but on arrival, the front desk staff dispalyed no command of English what so ever, except for the young lady at the tour desk who was there to sell us a tour. The good surprise was that we had been up graded to a suite, which was very spacious and comfortable with excellent air conditioning. The cleaning staff was very accomodating.
The hotel restaurant has beautiful views of the river, but awful food. I had breakfast there the first day only for 25 RMB. On our 2nd visit, we were upgraded to the same suite , the last time we visited, we were given a hotel room . Although we were there 3 times, the front desk seemed not to rrecognize us at all !
The hotel appears to be very worn and a bit grimy. Wall need painting and the carpet needs to be cleaned. The lobby is a very uncomfortable place as local guests smoke incessantly .
To sum up, the hotel is a good value, and very well located, but spotty. It's a good budget choice.

Room Tip: book the Deluxe River view on a nonsmoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 659 in Guilin
218 reviews
0 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
181 reviews
0 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 659 in Guilin
156 reviews
0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0 mi away
Secret Courtyard Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Inn

Address: No.66 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: £22 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eva Inn looks out over Li River and Elephant Trunk Hill in Xiufeng District, Guilin, China. It is a cozy four-star accommodation of 113 guestrooms and boasts a gourmet restaurant with terrace dining. The rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, free high-speed Internet connection, mini-bar, and safe. Non-smoking rooms are available as well. Hotel services include a 24-hour front desk, massage treatments, tour desk, business center, and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing