We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Eva Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eva Inn
Ranked #197 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Not at all what we expected, lead to believe the staff spoke English, they did not, and made no attempt to help you. Check out was bad, kept us waiting. It is, however, in a good location but this does not really make up for all that is wrong with this place. Rooms are a reasonable size but not that clean. Breakfast is cheap but with little choice and not very hot. Guilin is overpriced and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: No tips, other that think carefully about staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here twie on my Guilin trip so had 2 different rooms. Eva Inn is a reasonably priced hotel in a great location, a seriously good location, within walking distance to all sorts of stuff. English skills at the desk are lousy made up for by the tourist booking person located in the lobby. I would suggest using this person to get the max benefit out of Guilin and its parks/attractions. I don't think there are extra loadings for such bookings but there's heaps to see and do in Guilin. The opera is located in the same block right opposite the Sun and Moon Pagoda, you can walk to Elephant Hill and Seven stars park (didn't go to this though on account of bad reviews from Trip Advisor). We walked to the buses and for 40c took the number 10 and 11 which does a loop, get off at the terminus and get on again (this gives you a good idea of Guilin). Eva Inn faces the river so if you get a river-view room it's interesting to watch people doing their exercises etc.. The air cond drowns out any traffic noise as it is on a busy street. Rooms are big and clean and have a fridge so if you feel like popping next door for a few beers you can keep it cold. Within 100m is all your needs for water and alcohol to purchase. I found the best sushi place only 100m as well, it's in the area that is like a huge food hall. It has restaurants as well as hawker style food. The hawker food is safe - suffered no ill-effects. Plenty of markets to shop at as well as stores and at the Zippo stores you'll find labels such as North Face and Columbia. Back to the sushi, its on the left of the entrance in the same street as the Eva Inn, tiny little spot but wow it's different. Yes the Eva in is good value for money in a great location. To get a map of Guilin, walk across the road to the Sheraton and go into the shop where you'll find them (it will help you get around Guilin and maps aren't given out free in this city, cost $2). The "bestest" value and fun for a whole $12 is to rent an electric boat on Banyan Lake. Walk from the hotel to the lake follow it under the Zhongshan rd bridge, go past the next pagoda and walk across the next old bridge where you'll find them (the electric hire boats). Great for photo taking and fun for a bored hubby to pilot this little boat. It's beautiful on this lake all set up as a touristy attraction. Under one of the bridges we motored past where all the cormorants were parked and sleeping (a bit like something out of an alien horror movie). Walk to Fubu Park from Eva inn along the river bank and yes there is an entrance fee - great views of the city and mountains from there and well worth the climb in the late arvo to take pics. The river is busy with fishermen, bamboo boats and kids/teenagers and people just chillaxing, the river is right opposite Eva Inn and well worth walking as far as you can up and down it. Yep Eva Inn is in the right position for most of your touristy needs in Guilin. I'd recommend it and stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose Lake View for a great view the other rooms have views of other residences, hence you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cyclebarch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

5 star for the location. If you like shopping , eating , walking , parks , sight seeing then this i the best economy hotel. Located at Binjiang Road beside Zhengyang walking street, Shangshui street (food street)which opened in 2012, elephant hill park, just opposite Sheraton Guilin Hotel,

For Indian traveller there is a INDIAN VEG / NON-VEG restaurant -KALI MIRCH, which is just 2 mins walking distance from Eva Inn/ Sheraton.

I stayed for 4 nights. Very big rooms [2 double bed], neat / clean. Bathroom has a bathtub with good hot water 24 hrs, all the toiletries available free. Neat and clean bathroom.

Comfortable stay , comfortable sleep. Not noisy.

Excellent location for shopping , eating , walking , parks etc.

Free wifi - every where in the hotel.

Non English speaking staff.......though you may get around someone to help you. It is not a big issue .Or can you use translate app in your mobile phone which can make things easier for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JigarShahmulund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in Guilin for one night before going down to Yangshuo for a week. The location of the hotel was excellent - right across the street from the river and only 5 minutes from where you catch the boat for the evening tour of the four lakes. Also just around the corner from the pedestrian street, which has lots of restaurants. We had a superior river view room, which was comfortable and clean. It also had a spacious terrace but in July it's too hot to even contemplate sitting out there. Perhaps in other times of the year. No restaurant on the premises as far as we could tell - nobody spoke a word of English, not even the people at the tour desk. I had originally contacted the hotel on a number of occasions to see if they could arrange for airport pickup and tickets for the Li River cruise down to Yangshuo, but never heard back from them. Must have been because no one speaks English. We ended up arranging that through our Yangshuo hotel, and we had breakfast in the Sheraton across the street. Next door there is a GREAT massage place that does a tremendous foot massage for 120 RMB! Open late. Definitely recommend that! So, I would recommend the Eva Inn for a brief stay because of its location and price.

Room Tip: No swimming pool and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Maybe I should called the hotel as "partner hotel". Many friends or customers lived Eva Inn. It is a good choose as a economy hotel. Located at Binjiang Road beside Zhengyang walking street, Shangshui street (food street)which opened in 2012, elephant hill park.
Corridor is too narrow, walking in the corridor made me uncomfortable. The rooms are also small.
Generally speaking, It's a good economy hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etripchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I was really excited when I booked this hotel because they indicated that they offered a free transfer from the airport. I emailed them to confirm this was the case and they were quick to respond and indicated they would be there, they just needed my flight info. I sent the flight info and confirmed I would have a ride when I arrived.

Guilin airport is not that big, there is one main area where everyone exits and where all of the drivers were holding their signs. No one was there for me. Instead of catching the bus into town, I waited it out thinking they might just be late. No one showed and I was forced to wait for over an hour because the bus to town only departs after each arriving plane. I could have overpaid for a taxi or risked taking a ride from one of the very sketch locals who offered cheap rides but neither of those were good options. I took the shuttle bus to town and found my way to the hotel in the rain. I was lucky that I had planned a little in advance to explore the city, so I had some idea where I was as the shuttle bus just drops off in one somewhat central location, but still fairly far from the Eva Inn.

The front desk clearly had no idea that a driver had not picked me up and said I must have missed him. Once you are in Guilin you'll know it would be close to impossible to "miss" a driver. Even if the hotel did dispatch a driver, and even if I did miss him, the hotel would have known as the driver would have notified them that I no showed.

The property earns slightly better than the lowest rating because the location is good and the room was nice enough. For the price, I was pleased with the accommodations. However, the staff has minimal competency in English - which is fine, I do not naively expect everyone to speak English. But if you need any help getting around Guilin or even relatively simple transfers to transportation hubs do not count on the hotel being able to help in English.

Finally, while this property is right on the river and I paid extra for a river view room there is no view. The trees are way too dense to see more than a slight glimpse of the river bank. It is pleasant, but don't expect sweeping vistas of Guilin's natural beauty.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artvndlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We travelled to China a few years ago and one of our destinations was Guilin. We stayed in this hotel in May 2010. Location is quite good. It is by the river and there were many shops around the area. The room was huge and tidy but the beds were a little hard. Breakfast was okay. Staffs were friendly. It was a lovely hotel. It's worth the time and money to spend a few days here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 659 in Guilin
218 reviews
0 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
181 reviews
0 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 659 in Guilin
156 reviews
0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0 mi away
Secret Courtyard Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva Inn

Address: No.66 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: £23 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eva Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eva Inn looks out over Li River and Elephant Trunk Hill in Xiufeng District, Guilin, China. It is a cozy four-star accommodation of 113 guestrooms and boasts a gourmet restaurant with terrace dining. The rooms are equipped with a private bathroom, free high-speed Internet connection, mini-bar, and safe. Non-smoking rooms are available as well. Hotel services include a 24-hour front desk, massage treatments, tour desk, business center, and beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eva Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing