We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverside Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Guilin(Guilin)
US$521
clubmed.us
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
112
111
26
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
111
26
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverstayed in the family roomnight marketaverage roombunk bedsminute walkenglish speaking staffshower curtainlocation is greatlaundry serviceper nighttwo nightswater pressureelephant trunk hilllit up at nightshort staychina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

we really liked the hostel very much, and would have liked to stay longer. We had rooms with a balcony overlooking the river, and found sitting out there very relaxing on the eve of 1st may with the half of china being outside near the river. The place is very clean, their staff speak good english, which is not a matter of fact in china, and they were very competent about organising a trip to the ricefields for us. No problem leaving the luggage with them although we had already checked out. I also liked the room decorations. Thanks, Jojo!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the river might be quieter, try to get the upstairs one with riverview and balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uli f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This a a wonderful place to stay. It's a great location near the bus station, it's located next to a river so many rooms have a great view, and their price is great. You can choose a room that's next to the river with a little bit higher price or a normal room for a lower price, so the room prices range from 80RMB to about 150RMB depending on what you want. Rooms are comfortable, clean, new, and nicely furnished. The service was very nice and they were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We spend 3 nights in this hostel. We had the family room, located on de street side. Therefore, it wasn't the most quit place in the evening. The room was very clean and nice decorated. The beds were very hard though (even for Chinese standards). Bathroom was ok, too bad the shower wets the whole bathroomfloor (but you see that more often in hostels). Staff was very nice and helpfull. They serve a good breakfast and they can help you organising some daytrips, like bambooraft trip to Yangshuo or Dragon's Back Terrace Fields.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The location is very good, but what I really liked about this hostel is its cleanliness and thoughtful "extras" such as the clean towels everyday and the beds made up every morning. How nice to come back to a clean, made-up, great-sized, bright and light room every night after a long days sight-seeing!
We had a triple room, and a twin room (not with river view) for our family of five - which I must say I much preferred to the river view room option which by comparison was very dark, due to the large covered balconies. Give me natural light any day!
The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast left a lot to be desired - disappointing after such lovely rooms! You could trot a mouse across the tea - far too strong - green tea next time, please!
Good tours and car hire arranged.

Room Tip: I would choose without a river view because I prefer the bright natural light of those without the deep, covered balconies. Take a look first and choose yourself, if there are options available.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I loved this little place, its in central location with lovely riverside views. The staff were great they organised airport pick up and drop off for us and a few excursions too. We stayed in the couple balcony room and thought it was great value for the price. The balcony was massive and a lot of the sights in gulin are within walking distance. It was a resonable price to do your laundry (a god send after 3 weeks), and you can use the internet in the lobby for free. the only down side was we were up a flight of stairs with no lift so it proved a little akward with our bags, but thats a small gripe, the night market is only a couple of mins walk away and makes an interesting few hours out. We also called into the lakeside bar when we were there and the staff there were wonderful too, Gulin is a fab place and the staff in both hostels really added to our experience.... just cant wait to return

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews