We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnighting”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 210 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here a night to get a flight out of China from Guilin.

The Good
Hostel is great - I stayed in the female dorm (4 pax) with en suite bathroom, and it was great for the price. It's got supermarkets across the street, and shops to walk to nearby if you want to have a look at the other parts of Guilin that aren't at the central area. It's close to the bus and train station though, and the number 16 bus takes you to the airport bus stop (Y20 to get to Guliin Airport).

The Bad
Unfortunately the hostel's a little far away from the main sights of Guilin, so it'll be a bit of a walk (or a bus ride) to get to wherever you want to go. The staff also seem to be a little confused about the bus routes to the main sights and transport centres - I asked THREE different staff about how to get to the airport bus stop, and got THREE different answers - none of which were correct. In the end I just guessed and muddled my way through, which was (thank God!) correct.

On The Whole
A cute enough hostel, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank princesseilonwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in the Wada Hostel for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay there. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff are very friendly and spoke good English. The communal area was good with DVDs, pool table, Nintendo Wii and games available for use. They also have free wifi available for guests. Staff were helpful and even offered to come with us to places to translate which was very nice of them. Simba the dog is very friendly! There is also no smoking inside the building and they have a courtyard for people to sit outside. Location wise it is a little out of town but easy to find and close to the bus station.

On the downside the food and drink was a little expensive and the food was not that great but they did have a selection of Western dishes to choose from. The wifi would only work in the communal areas and was quite slow.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Overall: The only place we stayed in China (4 hotels/hostels) that didn't really have any cons. I usually stay in hotels not self-proclaimed hostels, but had a twin room here - it was great.

Pros:

Clean rooms/hotel. "Dirtiest" part was some of the tile grout in the bathroom...which I'm afraid looks slightly more prominent in my posted photo than it should.

Everyone at the front desk was always fluent in English, and various tours were available at very respectable prices, and could actually be well explained by the staff in English. Though note: If you book the Wada Hostel Longhshen/etc. rice terrace tour - you're really just buying a possibly-no-English driver to the terraces, not a tour per se. We were happy with that, but it was slightly different than we had expected.

Across from the hotel (diagonally across the intersection) is a mall complete with large supermarket and KFC/McDonalds.

Neutral:

Location is not in the city center, and thus not central to sights. That said, it is pretty close to the train/central bus station. Additionally, there are bus stops right outside the hotel with buses going into the center. And again - huge supermarket diagonally across the street. Overall, I'd say the location was great - but some might prefer being able to easily walk to the city center.

Cute rooms/hotel. Not amazingly beautiful, but cute.

Cons:

Actually none.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hostel staff helped us with airline ticket for Sanya and also tours near Guilin. Good English. Really recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthlmswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We booked 2 rooms there, one double bedroom and one triple bed room. The triple bedroom is really nice and more spacious compare to double bedroom. The staff are all quite nice and friendly. There is a bus stop nearby, and you can take a bus straight to elephant trunk, one of Guilin's attraction. Walking a little bit further, there is a huge shopping mall. The only things I don't like are first, they put a mirror in front of our bed, second, the corridor is really dark and there is another mirror just outside our double room!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Staff were very friendly and helpful.. Rooms clean and the bed was good. All nights had a good sleep. We got a friend as our guide which he is handicapped. Great we becomes friends, exchange emails, photos of his family. He will fetched
us for dinner and also lunch take us to the halal muslim food. Great he is very
accomodating. Nice person which money cannot buy. Poor is not to look down on them
but the beauty is that they are humble, simple and respectable for what in them....

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorizanIdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I had a very enjoyable time at Wada. I had only intended to stay for one night but ended up staying for one week as I found myself feeling so comfortable and at home here. I think this is down to the ever smiling and helpful staff who really go out of their way to help you. Tucked away just off a main street, it is very quiet but also very close to everything you would need, including the railway station just a short walk away. Great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zen Tea House
Zen Tea House
#2 of 210 in Guilin
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
1.6 mi away
Guilin Central Hostel
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 47 in Guilin
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing