We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest and meet new friends”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 199 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ningbo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest and meet new friends”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I travelled alone to Guilin from Yangshuo and stayed in Wada for three nights this May. Stayed in the female dorm sharing with other three girls. Room was clean and bed was comfortable and soft. For a price of 25 RMB/bed, it was really nice.
They provide BBQ every Friday night,25RMB/person. To be honest, the BBQ was not that attactive to me, but it was indeed a good chance to meet new friends from everywhere.I love the yard with cool couches and sofas. You also can play with their cool dog "Simba" and Karaoke in the little bar.
A large supermarket nearby which was convinient to buy anything you need. Food was cheap, especially eating " Guilin Mi Fen"---a kind of rice noodle here, yummy!
Staff were helpful with booking short trips to places around Guilin. I went to Longji Rice Field then, and they helped to arrange the buses for me which I really appreciated.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    98
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
117
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Room was fine, beds comfortable. Only had breakfast there. There is a large shopping Centre across the road to the left from Wada. It has a good range of shops and a supermarket, also on the top floor there is a great food court. Just choose your food from the display and pay the central cashier who will give you a token for the value which you then take to food stall of choice. you don't need to speak chinese just point. There is also a small cafe at the back of the McDonalds (it has a large pot outside) which is known for it's Guilin rice noodle dishes, just point to the pictures of what you want, bypass the McDonalds and KFC and get some real food! Buses stop just outside of Wada and return to the Shopping Centre. Coming back to WAda at night I found it was dark entering the compound where Wada is, more light is needed in this area

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here a night to get a flight out of China from Guilin.

The Good
Hostel is great - I stayed in the female dorm (4 pax) with en suite bathroom, and it was great for the price. It's got supermarkets across the street, and shops to walk to nearby if you want to have a look at the other parts of Guilin that aren't at the central area. It's close to the bus and train station though, and the number 16 bus takes you to the airport bus stop (Y20 to get to Guliin Airport).

The Bad
Unfortunately the hostel's a little far away from the main sights of Guilin, so it'll be a bit of a walk (or a bus ride) to get to wherever you want to go. The staff also seem to be a little confused about the bus routes to the main sights and transport centres - I asked THREE different staff about how to get to the airport bus stop, and got THREE different answers - none of which were correct. In the end I just guessed and muddled my way through, which was (thank God!) correct.

On The Whole
A cute enough hostel, clean and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princesseilonwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed in the Wada Hostel for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay there. Rooms were clean and modern. Staff are very friendly and spoke good English. The communal area was good with DVDs, pool table, Nintendo Wii and games available for use. They also have free wifi available for guests. Staff were helpful and even offered to come with us to places to translate which was very nice of them. Simba the dog is very friendly! There is also no smoking inside the building and they have a courtyard for people to sit outside. Location wise it is a little out of town but easy to find and close to the bus station.

On the downside the food and drink was a little expensive and the food was not that great but they did have a selection of Western dishes to choose from. The wifi would only work in the communal areas and was quite slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Overall: The only place we stayed in China (4 hotels/hostels) that didn't really have any cons. I usually stay in hotels not self-proclaimed hostels, but had a twin room here - it was great.

Pros:

Clean rooms/hotel. "Dirtiest" part was some of the tile grout in the bathroom...which I'm afraid looks slightly more prominent in my posted photo than it should.

Everyone at the front desk was always fluent in English, and various tours were available at very respectable prices, and could actually be well explained by the staff in English. Though note: If you book the Wada Hostel Longhshen/etc. rice terrace tour - you're really just buying a possibly-no-English driver to the terraces, not a tour per se. We were happy with that, but it was slightly different than we had expected.

Across from the hotel (diagonally across the intersection) is a mall complete with large supermarket and KFC/McDonalds.

Neutral:

Location is not in the city center, and thus not central to sights. That said, it is pretty close to the train/central bus station. Additionally, there are bus stops right outside the hotel with buses going into the center. And again - huge supermarket diagonally across the street. Overall, I'd say the location was great - but some might prefer being able to easily walk to the city center.

Cute rooms/hotel. Not amazingly beautiful, but cute.

Cons:

Actually none.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Hostel staff helped us with airline ticket for Sanya and also tours near Guilin. Good English. Really recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthlmswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We booked 2 rooms there, one double bedroom and one triple bed room. The triple bedroom is really nice and more spacious compare to double bedroom. The staff are all quite nice and friendly. There is a bus stop nearby, and you can take a bus straight to elephant trunk, one of Guilin's attraction. Walking a little bit further, there is a huge shopping mall. The only things I don't like are first, they put a mirror in front of our bed, second, the corridor is really dark and there is another mirror just outside our double room!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 619 in Guilin
204 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
1,144 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#9 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 619 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing