We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Guilin”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #2 of 212 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I would have to say that of all the places we have stayed on our trip so far (2 months in), it is quite possibly the best place we have stayed in to meet other travellers. The common area is great, in fact it is superb. We met some great people whilst staying here. The rooms are good, the mattresses the hardest I have ever felt, I think the floor may have been more comfortable, but they were spotless and nice. The staff were a little 'stir crazy' I guess that added to the place. The dog however, Simba, is quite possibly the greatest animal on earth. I fell head over over heals with it, so much so that after our travels I will be pining to my fiance to let me buy a mini-Simba.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommyblx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at The Wada for one night, in a 4-bed dorm. The location is good because it is close tothe central train and bus stations.
Staff is nice and helpful, and there is fast internet connection (Wifi+desktops). The room was clean but there was some strange smell inside and also the shower was right above the toilet seat, with no curtain at all, making every shower flooding the whole bathroom. Bathroom looked unmaintained and a bit unclean.
Restaurant is fine, though a bit expensive. There is a bar which is cool, though usually empty.
We also stored our big backpacks for two days while travelling in Yangshuo area.
In general it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yotam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wada is my kind of place. Convenient, clean, and filled with fun! You've got everything you can ask for in a hostel from their comfy beds, hot showers, pool table, weekly BBQs, outdoor patio, karaoke, restaurant and cocktail bar. And where this place shines above all others is in their staff. They are the most wonderful group of girls I've ever met. They're attentive, helpful, fun and just a joy to hang out with. They are the best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The WADA hostel in Guilin is a great place to stay.

WADA is located very near to the Railway and bus station and also right near a local bus stop where you can easily take a bus to Seven Stars Cave Park and other local attractions.

The reception/bar/restaurant area is great too, they have a pool table and a games console and also a DVD room with e vast selection of movies to watch. The food is nice, really good sandwiches if your missing western food. They also did a dumpling making session while we were there.

The rooms are large and good for the price. We stayed in a private double room and it was spacious and clean, with a TV. There is a water cooler on each floor to get free drinking water from, which is handy.

The staff at the hostel are all very nice, a bit silly and giggley at times which we found quite funny. They speak very good english, always a bonus.

One of the best days we spent in China was the Bamboo raft trip that we took from the hostel and I would recommend taking this trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We spent a couple nights at the Wada while in Guilin.
The dorms were clean. I liked that each bunk had curtains for privacy.
The stairs to the top bunks are very narrow and a bit difficult to get up and down.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
We tried to rent bikes, but the less expensive ones were mostly unusable with flat tires and crooked steering wheels. The newer bikes are expensive compared to others we've seen elsewhere.
The hostel's location is a bit out of the way, but one bus took us downtown.
The restaurant was a bit expensive and we bought food and drink outside for much cheaper.
One staff member recommended an excellent noodle shop in the mall complex across the street -- the restaurant with the giant pot in front of it beside the McDonald's.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I travelled alone to Guilin from Yangshuo and stayed in Wada for three nights this May. Stayed in the female dorm sharing with other three girls. Room was clean and bed was comfortable and soft. For a price of 25 RMB/bed, it was really nice.
They provide BBQ every Friday night,25RMB/person. To be honest, the BBQ was not that attactive to me, but it was indeed a good chance to meet new friends from everywhere.I love the yard with cool couches and sofas. You also can play with their cool dog "Simba" and Karaoke in the little bar.
A large supermarket nearby which was convinient to buy anything you need. Food was cheap, especially eating " Guilin Mi Fen"---a kind of rice noodle here, yummy!
Staff were helpful with booking short trips to places around Guilin. I went to Longji Rice Field then, and they helped to arrange the buses for me which I really appreciated.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LauraZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Room was fine, beds comfortable. Only had breakfast there. There is a large shopping Centre across the road to the left from Wada. It has a good range of shops and a supermarket, also on the top floor there is a great food court. Just choose your food from the display and pay the central cashier who will give you a token for the value which you then take to food stall of choice. you don't need to speak chinese just point. There is also a small cafe at the back of the McDonalds (it has a large pot outside) which is known for it's Guilin rice noodle dishes, just point to the pictures of what you want, bypass the McDonalds and KFC and get some real food! Buses stop just outside of Wada and return to the Shopping Centre. Coming back to WAda at night I found it was dark entering the compound where Wada is, more light is needed in this area

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Perthgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,246 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 53 in Guilin
192 reviews
Zen Tea House
#1 of 212 in Guilin
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range: £8 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing