We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic accomodation in guilin”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 199 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tangshan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic accomodation in guilin”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

i will not say much just ,,,simply the best........i love this place, if u ever go to guilin u must stay here......u gona love the place and people over there.....they r lovely caring and polite.

Room Tip: chose any one.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moji G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada_Hostel_Guilin, Owner at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thank you Moji for you kind words. Guests like you make us love what we do. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    98
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
118
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here last year and was my 1st choice on my return to Guilin this time. Dorm room had large comfy beds and power shower. Common area is great for meeting other travellers but most of all the staff are wonderful and will make you feel at home. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada_Hostel_Guilin, Owner at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thanks Jamie! Don't be a stranger and come visit us again whenever you get the chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanning, China
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

the staff there was sooooooooooo friendly and helpful, they can arrange everything for you, warm welcome, like at home, you can never find a hostel like that in the world. strongly recommend!

Room Tip: dorm bed is fine , cheap and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotus z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada_Hostel_Guilin, Owner at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
Thanks Lotus! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I would have to say that of all the places we have stayed on our trip so far (2 months in), it is quite possibly the best place we have stayed in to meet other travellers. The common area is great, in fact it is superb. We met some great people whilst staying here. The rooms are good, the mattresses the hardest I have ever felt, I think the floor may have been more comfortable, but they were spotless and nice. The staff were a little 'stir crazy' I guess that added to the place. The dog however, Simba, is quite possibly the greatest animal on earth. I fell head over over heals with it, so much so that after our travels I will be pining to my fiance to let me buy a mini-Simba.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommyblx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at The Wada for one night, in a 4-bed dorm. The location is good because it is close tothe central train and bus stations.
Staff is nice and helpful, and there is fast internet connection (Wifi+desktops). The room was clean but there was some strange smell inside and also the shower was right above the toilet seat, with no curtain at all, making every shower flooding the whole bathroom. Bathroom looked unmaintained and a bit unclean.
Restaurant is fine, though a bit expensive. There is a bar which is cool, though usually empty.
We also stored our big backpacks for two days while travelling in Yangshuo area.
In general it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yotam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Wada is my kind of place. Convenient, clean, and filled with fun! You've got everything you can ask for in a hostel from their comfy beds, hot showers, pool table, weekly BBQs, outdoor patio, karaoke, restaurant and cocktail bar. And where this place shines above all others is in their staff. They are the most wonderful group of girls I've ever met. They're attentive, helpful, fun and just a joy to hang out with. They are the best!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The WADA hostel in Guilin is a great place to stay.

WADA is located very near to the Railway and bus station and also right near a local bus stop where you can easily take a bus to Seven Stars Cave Park and other local attractions.

The reception/bar/restaurant area is great too, they have a pool table and a games console and also a DVD room with e vast selection of movies to watch. The food is nice, really good sandwiches if your missing western food. They also did a dumpling making session while we were there.

The rooms are large and good for the price. We stayed in a private double room and it was spacious and clean, with a TV. There is a water cooler on each floor to get free drinking water from, which is handy.

The staff at the hostel are all very nice, a bit silly and giggley at times which we found quite funny. They speak very good english, always a bonus.

One of the best days we spent in China was the Bamboo raft trip that we took from the hostel and I would recommend taking this trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 621 in Guilin
204 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 621 in Guilin
147 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 621 in Guilin
1,163 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 621 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing