We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 190 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
netherlands
Level Contributor
255 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

WADA hostel in Guilin is à very good and friendly place. The double rooms are big enough and clean. The communal area is nice and THE food and drinks are nice priced. From and to the busstation is convenient with bus 10. All buses in Guilin cost only 1yuan. Yuan Yuan, one of the friendly and good english speaking girls can arrange à lot for the guest. For us she arranged flighttickets for à very good price to Kunming. Next to WADA is à little market weer they sell frogs etc.



area is Nice and the food and drinks are nice priced.

Room Tip: The double rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berendino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you Berendino for your kind words. I'm happy that I was able to find you cheaper flight tickets. Now I wouldn't know why any of our guests would be interested in buying frogs other than to scare all of us girls here! Have a wonderful trip in Kunming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    97
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
115
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

EXTREMELY helpful/friendly staff here at Wada. A very pleasant and enjoyable common area atmosphere. They have a number of activities throughout the week...all you can eat BBQ night, dumpling making, and a city bike tour. The staff was SUPER awesome in assisting us obtaining train tickets (no easy feat in China)! A+++

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg26892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Can we return the favor and thank you for your FANTASTIC review! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

When I arrived without reserved anything
indications on web site are very good , the staff always hapy face and helpfull
room ok , can choose dormitory or private room ,
guitar , pool , film , book , an heaven place for travellers who want to spend good time and meet people.
Internet and computer disposal ...
They organize bike tour of the city with guide , longsheng tour , li river cruise , yangshuo ...

Spend great time with people to play and listen to guitar
I will come back in this place.

stéphane
France

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephfrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks for your review Stephane. Can't wait for you to come back and play the guitar for us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Returning to Guilin in my case definitely means booking a bed at Wada Hostel. Hostel is located just a few steps from a bus station from which buses can take to nearly any part of the town. Female only staff is always smiling a ready to help with anything. If we had a question - they were very helpful. If there were any problems - they managed to solve it right away. Spacious rooms with really comfortable beds (and aircon). The home-made dumplings are worth a try! Yummy!

Staff is ready to help arrange pretty much anything from trip advice to booking. WiFi everywhere and working!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OndrejW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks for coming by Ondrej! Those smiles always come easy when we have guests like you. =)
And those yummy dumplings will be waiting for your apetite to return to us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Spent a night at the Wada with my family on our way to Yangshuo. Nice but small restaurant/bar area and VERY lovely patio. Rooms were basic but clean and more than adequate for our needs. The staff is really what sets this hostel apart - very friendly, caring, fun, and enthusiastic. They will do just about anything to help you with whatever you need and they give the place a fun, friendly and very welcoming vibe. My family also really enjoyed the dumpling party. Good location, short taxi or bus ride away from the bus station and across the street from a local market and mall for all your shopping needs. Will definitely return to the Wada!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cannis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you so much for your review. Your family was very warm and it was delightful to have them around and be part of our fun dumpling party. We know you're not too far away so come back anytime! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

After staying in a good hostel in Chengdu we arrived at Guilin expecting the same standard as we only paid 1GBP less each night for a double en suite room. We were checked in, but not shown to our room, so when our key said 209 and it did not exist we were slightly confused! It turns out our key was meant to say 208 instead of 209 and we worked this out ourselves instead of going back down to reception. Once settled in our room, we realised that our TV wasn't working, which isn't hugely important to us but sometimes nice to have on in the background when we had just arrived. I went down to reception and they said they would come and look at it. The girl said she would have to get a new TV Card for us and would come back shortly but she never did. The staff were not very helpful, and after asking many questions we decided to work it out ourselves. We booked the bamboo raft to Yangshuo through the hotel, which turned out to be a coach ride to the pier, then a boat up and down the river, then back to the same pier to go to Yangshuo. On our second night we were not able to sleep as there was lots of building work going on and also fire crackers being set off very late at night and very early in the morning. Overall the hostel was OK but not as good as we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Hi Corin,

Thank you for staying at Wada. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to remark on some of your statements. We feel that a critical review deserves a critical response. Firstly, we feel that comparing us with a hostel in Chengdu is rather unfair because there are so many different factors to consider (competition, demand, market). Mainly, it's just a completely different city and the price reflects that. Our price is on par with market price if not better. Most guests will find that we offer extreme value to the dollar spent. As for the TV situation, we do apologize for that. TVs within rooms is more of a hotel concept and take the place of less than interesting hotel atmospheres. Also, in China, you won't find quality English channels due to limitations of local TV providers and from China's censorship laws. We've gone ahead and removed all the remaining TVs so to encourage guests to hang out in the lounge and engage in small talk with other guests or with Team Wada staff. We have a large screen TV situated in the bar which is great for sporting events. We've had the recent Eurocup which was a blast and now with the Olympics going on, it just adds to the fun. We also have a cozy little movie room with tons of movies to choose from and also a video game area that can be utilized for free for any guests just wanting to pass the time.

As for the tour, we don't know what to say. The bamboo raft is the most popular tour to Yangshuo also being the most economical. The itinerary is also clearly described in our tour book. Every detail is disclosed and there are no surprises. There were other options to choose from that would have taken you the full length of the river to Yangshuo but that of course would add to the price. Many guests opt for the bamboo raft because they see it as a unique experience and they don't want to be in the river for such a long duration of time to enjoy it.

As for the sleep quality at night, the building work you heard was in fact necessary road maintenance and the installation of a traffic light to facilitate the high traffic in the area due to the new mall and botanical garden across the street from us. You won't hear building construction at night as it is not permitted because it is not an immediate essential service. In such cases as these, we would be more than happy to give our guests an extra hour or two of sleep after checkout because we understand that a body can't function without proper rest. Guilin is a developing city as with all of China and these little inconveniences will occur from time to time so do keep those earplugs in hand. And please understand that the fireworks is of our national tradition. We're just thankful that we aren't located beside a fireworks factory. =)

I hope this review has answered some of the questions our potential guests may have had for our hostel. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our team by email or phone.

Thank you,

Team Wada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Small things sometimes matter. Tv didnt work so we asked reception to help they came to room and said it was the tv card and they would return,never did.So for the stay we had no tv,isnt a big deal but like i said small things matter. We payed for a room with a tv so we expect a room with tv. The staff were not that great, the american who works there being the worse,didnt seem bothered in the slightest. One girl on reception was very helpful but that was it. Location not so great. You could probably find better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
1.4 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing