We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary mural, great atmosphere.”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 210 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Wada hostel is located a little way out of the city, but the bus is only 1yuen and really easy to use. The staff were really helpful at telling us how to get around.
We live in Guangxi where there's no western facilities at all so the opportunity to hang out in a bar and play a game of pool whilst listening to music was amazing!
Drinks are reasonably priced (well beer is anyway)
Room was not cleaned when we arrived, hense the poor score for cleanliness, but once it had been cleaned it was fine and was cleaned every day.
The mural in our bedroom was really pretty during the day, but played tricks on the eyes at night and I woke up more than once thinking that someone was standing over the bed! Of course they weren't and the hostel is quite secure.
Also each room comes with a locker down in the lobby to keep all valuables so that's good.
We'll definitely stay here again next time we need a western break from real China life.

Room Tip: I only say poor sleep quality because the mural on the wall kept freaking us out in the night. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wada H, Manager at Wada Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are however very sorry about our "Mona Lisa". We did not expect our staff to do such a good job with the painting. The next time return, we will make sure you get the room with the giving tree. =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed in a private double ensuite room for 110 yuan with hostel membership card. If your budget is less than 150 yuan room per night, i would recommend this place. It is not the best hostel i've experienced mostly in europe so far, but yes, i admit that this one is much cheaper than those eu hostels.

Pros.
- Fun atmosphere
- English speaking, very helpful friendly staff
- Nice indoor & outdoor bar
- Facebook access !
- Washing machine (no dryer). 10 yuan per load. Free detergent. However no written English instruction given, had to ask staff how to operate.
- You can borrow a hair dryer
- They clean the room every day, empty the trash bins everyday, replace used towel everyday !
- Air conditioned room
- Strong fan in the bathroom. No humidity after shower.
- Abundant amount of quality toilet paper
- 24hr CCTV surveillance
- Good cheap coffee

Cons.
- No WIFI in the room
- Chinese food too salty. Western dishes were ok.
- Rooms are old, outdated.
- Hot water supply broken for 2 days during my stay
- Every room features big window. But the window is on the isle side, people go and come and look into the room. had to draw thick curtains always. Hence virtually no window room.
- Sometimes, friendly staff are kinda busy hanging around. No immediate attention given to waiting guests in need.

Location.
- Location was a bit distant from the tourist spots. But bus 10 connects to the city center quickly. Costs only 1 yuan. No AC in the bus.
- Across the road, there is a shopping mall, which seems to be the most upscale one in Guilin city (dont expect too much though.) Besides the shopping mall, there's nothing to explore in this area.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
4  Thank Sojin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Rooms are excellent when considering the price. Communal area is very good.
Location is terrible. Even it is near to the station where you can take a train or shuttle bus to airport, or other cities, consider again if you stay more than a night(i.e., unless Skip here heading to Yangshuo).

But the other options such as Lakeside Inn (ranked #2 in Tripadviser) whre I am now staying, are either not that good I think. So I would ultimately skip heading for Yangshuo).

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hosang_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The atmosphere of the hostel is very nice. The rooms (we stayed in a private) although sparse are clean and the beds are actually extremely comfortable. Our bathroom was a little broken down and was not clean at all. The staff was incredibly friendly and the cafe has some really good food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Smiley, friendly and enthusiastic staff. Free wifi in communal areas but not in rooms. Free pool table. Good bar with cheap drinks. The Li River cruise they organised for us was so good (the large boat that goes to Yangshuo). The tour guide, Yang Yang was hilarious and engaging. The group was called Team Panda. Yang Yang made the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannie-Lou-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a great stay, rooms are pleasant but the best thing is the staff hospitality and bar area. There is a good friendly and social vibe in this hostel. Great value for money overall. Its a little out of the centre but this was no problem for us as the tours can all be arranged to pick you up from the hostel and taxis were very cheap into town centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at the Wada Hostel. The staff were helpful and friendly, the environment was beautifully decorated with a very laid back backpacker vibe and the rooms were cosy. They offer a variety of useful services to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Only thing is the restaurant was a bit on the pricey side, there are many food places in the surrounding area so suggest other visitors to venture out for a bite instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojofriedrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
3.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
0.4 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zen Tea House
Zen Tea House
#2 of 210 in Guilin
76 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
1.6 mi away
Guilin Central Hostel
Guilin Central Hostel
#1 of 47 in Guilin
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing