We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hostel!”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 199 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
“awesome hostel!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I really enjoyed the hostel so much!
The rooms were big, clean and come with a nice bathroom.
The crew was amazing: really helpful with getting your trips arranged :)!
Also the food in Wada was pretty nice and fresh and it was really nice to share
some drinks with the people at night with the good music and drinks!
If you really want a good drink you should try 'the sleepy boy'! it's the best drink of the
hostel and the girls will know what you mean ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    98
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
117
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The staff here has its act together. These were the folks that helped me plan my trip to the longji rice terrace, and arranged the trip bamboo boat ride to yangshuo. Its a pretty international crowd here and this is one of the rare places where i joined in the communal dinner, usually i would go out by myself and explore the local eateries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Unfortunately we had to stay only one night at this hostel, I would have loved to stay at this place for a longer time. The staff is super friendly with a lovely smile on their faces and cn arrange anything you want. The Friday night BBQ party was a lot of fun with loads of food and drinks and lot of nice people around. Rooms were clean and I don't have anything bad to say about this place. They even have wifi with VPN to access facebook, youtube, etc. Last but not the least, the wada girls totally rock!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UdayTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

ok, first the bad:

- bathroom in my four person all girl dorm room smelled
- i am a chinese american girl... the main front desker with short hair who speaks english very well seemed disinterested in helping me with anything, but very helpful with the male clientele. i sat in the lobby for a while and sorta watched...
- no wifi availability in the rooms
- far from the city center, you need to take a bus to get to most attractions

the great:
- had a single room one night that was pretty decent and quiet
- dumpling party was good and FREE. they even brought out this weird tofu we got to try. i didn't like it, but still it was a nice thing to have. great incentive to stay!
- great mall and supermarket just across the street
- great common areas, very cozy
- there's a nice older gentleman who plays an old chinese musical instrument in the lobby or courtyard frequently
- most of the staff was pretty helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai, china
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

we (2 girls) were there for one night during the october golden week 2013.

we had to book very late and Monica was very helpful ! we had her in the phone to confirm our booking and spoke to her about what to do around the hostel and how/when to catch the bus... she was really helpful.

the room (4people dorm) was great, the beds are HUGE and very comfortable. We shared the bathroom with only the 2 other girls from our room. towels were provided.

the common room is really nice. we only had breakfast here and it was good.

it's not central but the bus makes it pretty practical so it's not a problem.

i'd definitely recomend this hostel !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helo_b1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Although I didn't personally enjoy Guilin as much as the rest of China, the hostel was the best we stayed in. The staff were really fun and very helpful. The bar area was social and I found i got to chat to the most travellers whilst here then any other hostels. There is a lot of space inside and out to have food and drinks, not just the bar area, also a pool table and DVD room. The rooms were clean and showers good. Wifi only in the bar and outdoor area, but it made people come and be social instead of keeping to them selves in their rooms. We did 2 tours though the hostel and they were good, but we had to find out own way back which was difficult as no one spoke English. All in all a fantastic, lively hostel. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheridan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Close to railway station (about 15 min by foot), good bar and common area. Every week making dumplings with guests. Cheap tours to popular places (we took "The rice terraces"). Good breakfasts. Very friendly and helpful stuff (thanks, girls!) - all our questions were solved.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilla_my82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 619 in Guilin
204 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 619 in Guilin
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 619 in Guilin
1,145 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#9 of 619 in Guilin
816 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 619 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Property: Wada Hostel
Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing