We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel! ”
Review of Wada Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wada Hostel
Ranked #1 of 208 Guilin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night, kinda bummed out to be in guilin (since we dont really like cities in china..).. But thanks to WADA HOSTEL we were so happy to spend the night here! The staff is so sweet and helpful. They arranged a dumpling course in the evening which was fun (and free)
The dorm room was clean and had a private bathroom..!
Great location, close to the train station and right across the road from a huge mall! So although there isnt much to do in guilin, if you do stay in guilin- u MUST stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Wada Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This is a very cheap Hostel. The wada girls are very friendly and welcoming. the rooms are good sized and the bathrooms are quite big. The bar downstairs has a friendly good atmosphere and the location is very good and central to the shopping centre and bus station. Wifi is only available downstairs. The beds are comfy (for China).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ActiveTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I would probably have given this five stars but for the gash on my shin I suffered when returning to bed in the dark. The mattresses are upraised on sharp wooden boxes and I didn't bump it hard to open up my leg.

Other than that, the room is outstanding value for the money. The staff, the Wada girls, are charming and helpful. After my time in Chengdu, hearing good English was a pleasure.

The food is disappointing. The Kung Pao chicken was touted as a signature dish on the menu and was mediocre. I had much better at other restaurants in China for the same price. And if one judges the Western breakfast by Western standards, it pretty much sucks. But I think that's typical in China.

Watch out for the sharp bed and the pros easily outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

staying at wadahostel is the best thing you can do in china. the atmosphere is awesome, the rooms have aircondition and heating and heating blankets. the food, the breakfast the drinks the tea, special the ginger tea, while I was ill, was perfect. the best of all are the girls, Monica and zunim and all the other angels helped us a lot organizing day trips and even to go further on. just go there and see. the best you can have.

Room Tip: on the 3rd floor was great
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorotheaschumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Wada hostel was recommended by a friend and for good reason. Wada hostel was the best hostel I stayed at on my whole trip to China. The staff is super friendly and helpful including mandarin lessons, booking tours or just getting around. Great internet speed including facebook! Activity nights were fun and interactive and the food was great and well priced. Free laundry and towels. The layout is perfect to encourage mingling. Special thanks to Monica and Rico and all the amazing staff! Wada hostel was the highlight of my trip!

Ryan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_Letourneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We've been here for 4 nights and I can't express just how happy we are with the hostel. The position is about 5 to 10 minutes from the bus and train station on the main strip, the rooms (we have a private double) are cheap and cosy (not small). The staff have been so friendly and helpful. The common area is great, a pool table, free WiFi, a cosy snug for reading and a DVD room. We booked 4 nights here after a week in HK on our way to Yangshuo. I'd definitely recommend the place to my friends. Thanks Wada! Nick & Laura from England X

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We found Wada Hostel on the internet and it looked cool. When we got there they gave us warm welcome ! Everything was great , the food, the employees, our room! You have free Wifi, you can watch DVDs go on great trips (the staff at the reception can book them for you) :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaddel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 644 in Guilin
207 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 644 in Guilin
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ron Inn
#8 of 644 in Guilin
142 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 644 in Guilin
987 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 644 in Guilin
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wada Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wada Hostel

Address: No.212 Huancheng West Frist Road, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Guilin
Price Range: £9 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wada Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular hostel in Guilin frequented by many foreign guests. Wada satisfies the needs of the budget-minded travellers who have a thirst for the mysterious lands of the world by offering the lowest rates, the best tours, and the most fun. The weekly Tuesday dumpling making party and Friday night All-You-Can-Eat BBQs always delights the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wada Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing