We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“predictable and boring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Ranked #2 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the Shangrila Guilin and all Shangs are getting so predictable that they can be a bit boring too. once you see a shangrila you have see them all. big impressive lobby, same old luxury décor and same FNB concepts. rooms are well designed but again boring in design.
maybe they should hire new designers and change a bit their mind set as what luxury should be in todays competitive hotel world.
Staff are not as professional as in other locations, quite logic bearing in mind this is Guilin, with waiters they don't clear the dirty dishes, don't assist as much as they should, and the buffet offer has more quantity than quality.
I paid Horizon Club Floor and surprisingly for lunch time snacks at the club lounge there was only 3 type of fruits, sweet bread and nuts. they explained to me that the club only serves better food for breakfast and cocktail time but not for lunch. after I complained a few times - as a club should have at all times decent snacks even more when is a Shangrila - they invited me for their lunch buffet.
u always expect a lot from this type of hotels but this time I did not get any superb feeling.

shangrila needs a revamp !!

Room Tip: choose river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surferbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent hotel that sits away from city. Spotless room with all amenities and free WiFi. Breakfast buffet is excellent with Asian and Western choices. They also serve lunch and dinner buffets that attract large groups who snatch food......we ate ala cart dinner one night and had difficulty getting a waiter's attention....but, our food was excellent....best vegetarian quesadilla ever......staff most accommodating of anywhere on month long travel through China.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank cba502016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I travel a lot, and I can tell that It's really nice hotel, brilliant !! all staff very friendly, helpful, you can obviously feel you are welcome here. The bed must be mentioned, very comfortable, made me sleep tight.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huangxiaojun2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A professionally staffed hotel and everyone was friendly and helpful.Rooms are spacious and have good soundproofing. Food is excellent, both the Chinese and international cuisines. Coffee in the lobby is very expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RASHFORD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is really an excellent hotel. The rooms are excellent and the facilities also. We ate well in the hotel and the staff were very good, generally with good knowledge of English and when they had difficulty understanding they immediately found someone who did understand.
My major criticism concerns the DCC (dynamic currency conversion) scam operated by the checkout clerk, particularly as this was carried out behind my back and all the paperwork I have from the hotel bears no trace of the conversion (all the amounts mentioned are in RMB). I certainly was not asked at any time which currency I wanted to pay in. I am aware of the DCC scam and do pay attention to credit card payments, so this was clearly operated as a scam.
Whilst the amount concerned is not that important, the dishonesty of the front desk staff is sufficient to reduce the rating of the hotel from excellent to average.

Room Tip: The river view rooms do clearly have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay with a lot of personal attention which is very rare indeed! Excellent hotel and great food! Feb can be wet and cold so may not be the best season for a visit but the city has many hidden treasures and deserves the name of the most beautiful city in China!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Benji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The overall services are very good. Especially the restaurants and their staffs are very friendly and helpful. I liked so much the live music on the piano in the lobby... congratulations for that, it was relaxing after our cruise tour.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank goccia_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 659 in Guilin
1,245 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 659 in Guilin
180 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 659 in Guilin
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 659 in Guilin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Guilin

Address: No.111 Huancheng North Second Road, Guilin 541004, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 659 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £70 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing