We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice Clean Rooms, Good Price...BUT....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel
Ranked #162 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This Hotel is conveniently located along the Li River and the walking promenade. Its about 100 meters from the Sheraton Hotel and at fifth of the price, its a real bargain. Its close to "Walking Street", which is around the corner and about a 10 minute walk to the Commercial Hub of Downtown Guilin. To the "Night Market" its around a 15 minute walk.
The rooms are modern, nice size and clean. Wi-Fi is fast and reliable. There is a LCD screen and a hot water kettle. Though I would recommend bringing your own tea and bottled water.
The few "Problems" that I encountered:
The Staff is helpful, but their English is almost non-existent. This is a major problem in almost every Hotel in China. Whats surprising, that this happens in even the 4-5 star Hotels. They MUST get their Staff better trained and upgrade their language skills, if they want to cater to Western Tourists.
There is a Cafe' adjutant to the Hotel. Strangely though, it only opens at 11 a.m. I guess they aren't too concerned about the early morning travelers and businessman that want to eat. Its also a little over-priced.
The cleaning staff kept entering my room (When I was away), even though I made sure that the "Do Not Disturb" sign was illuminated. Found it annoying and even after I complained and tried to explain that I didn't want them to enter, it repeated itself.
The shower in the bathroom, which has a glass "Cage" around it, kept leaking, so the entire washroom floor kept getting soaked. No big deal, just needs to be fixed.
All in all, great location, good stay and for the money, excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EliF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel is where I wanted to be, by the river and next to the downtown walking mall. It's almost next door to the Sheridan at 3 times the price. My room was nice, had a glass wall around the washroom ( no big deal). When I was there the floors were being shampooed. I managed with the staff's English. Miss Chan was sweet.This is China, don't expect people to speak English just because you do. I had the best vacation of my life. Guilin is beautiful.

Room Tip: I think the river view rooms are bigger, only a few have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabasko58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked this hotel with no expectations as it wasnt very well reviewed here in tripadvisor, but I was pleasantly surprised.. When I first made my reservation , prompt reply was made to reconfirmed and details of airport transfer was given. Upon arrival, they have sent us the most thoughtful driver we have ever encountered, and hence we used his services for the next 3 days we were in Guilin. This is one driver who wont take you to souvenier shops to earn commissions. He ( Mr. Zhang Guilin) only takes us to places we wanted to go and he is one of the few drivers who doesnt go missing in action when we came out of each and every places we went.
2 bottles of water was given free everday in the room unless you opt for the 'china's evian'which u had to pay. Room is clean and no complaints with the bathroom. Location of this hotel is great as its just next to Zhengyang Pedestrian St. (shopping n restaurants).
Last but not least is hotel staff Miss Zhao who is so ever patient and helpful with all the tour information and help we needed.
Would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again if we are in Guilin again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Tan_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is just average. Rooms are small, and the bathroom looks like it is just put in the room (glass door and windows). Cleaning is not very thorough. beds very hard, and you have to pay for everything that is in the room (water is 10 RBM, while on the corner you can get it for 3). Mostly Chinese in this hotel, who are very noisy and loud, and don't care what time it is.
Receptionists try, but don't speak much English. Oh, and if you want a map of Guilin, it will cost you RMB 6.
I would go to the Eva Inn, which is about 60 meter away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdieBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Excellent location, hotel is only a block away from the Sheraton so you get the same riverveiw for half the price, also right around the corner from the pedestrian area. The food in the downstairs cafe is a bit oily but better than several other places in Gulin. The rooms are recently decorated and all apliances are new but cheaply made. The towelrack in our first room broke spontaneoulsy and in the second room (changed with no problem) the tiles around it started to crack. Flatscreen only Chinese, free internet but no wireless, gotta use their cable.

The main problem was that the staff does not speak English, and,at certain points, resorted to using Google's translation - imagine the consequences. Also if paying by credit card, you need to pay upfront for the room and a deposit, which they return to you at the end of your stay. The way that they do it is they charge for room+deposit on arrival and on the last day they will refund the entire charge but will charge you again only for the room. Not only it does not make sense but you will also get charged foreign transaction fees. Imagine this being explained and argued over through Google transaction, part of the experience I guess.

The boat cruises will of course overcharge you if you do not speak Chinese and there is nothing you can do about it but as a reference for foreigners we were quoted 450 kuai per person and ended up paying 350 - the price for Chinese speakers is around 250(ask if the agency has Ling Ling, he was a fantastic guide). Also for the raft tour from Yangshuo we were asked for 200 kuai each but paid 250 for two - this price was more in line with what Chinese speakers pay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montreal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Location: Great location, right next to the pedestrian street.
Room: 2nd floor facing the street, rather noisy but all the vehicles seems to disappear at 11pm so its not a problem. You get river view if your room faces the street.
The toilet bowl leaked, so we change room, no fuss. Room size is good though what's up with the glass door for the bathroom, they have blinds but it doesn't cover 100%. Clean room.
Service: acceptable, value for money.
Must try: Riverview Cafe located in the hotel on the ground floor is highly recommended. It's run independent of the hotel,they even do a good souffle, and great Guihua tang yuan.Value for money set lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuncai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reeepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 652 in Guilin
1,224 reviews
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 652 in Guilin
1,475 reviews
Guilin Oasis Inn
#8 of 47 in Guilin
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel

Address: No.17 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £17 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing