We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay if you like noise and cigarette smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel
Ranked #125 of 609 Hotels in Guilin
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stay if you like noise and cigarette smell”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

-Good location – close to the city centre, river, park, shops and restaurants
-The corridor, lift and the room were dirty. The worst thing about the hotel was the cigarette smell which we could feel everywhere. Ashtrays are located all around so people are encouraged to smoke everywhere. We stayed in the no smoking room and we could feel the cigarette smell very strongly. There was the massage left next to the bed 'not to smoke in the bed'
-In addition we have notice high level of noise coming from the street as the hotel is situated directly on very busy road. All night long we could hear motorbikes, cars ect passing through the street along the river.
-Do not be mistaken by the location and river view the hotel can offer. Actually the hotel is not located at the river as there is a busy road and pedestrians separating the hotel from the river passage. Also along the river there is a tick line of trees so even if you get a room with river view you will hardly see the river. It is not worth paying extra money for it, plus if you are light sleeper you will not get much sleep because of the street noise in the day and night.
In general I would not recommend this hotel to anybody as it was too noise, dirty and smelly. We staid just for 1 night catching connection flight to Hong Kong but it was perfectly enough to hate this place. The staff speaks basic English and does not make any effort to make you feel comfortable. The only person we found helpful was night portiere who helped us catch the taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location in Guilin. You are near the stores (go down the alley/road right next to the hotel), the river (green and beautiful), the pagoda and Elephant rock are within walking distance, and close to the Waterfall Hotel show at 8:30. The noise was a complaint with other people but with all the honking I think this would be a problem anywhere and we got used to it. There was a power outage at 3 in the morning and it actually woke us because it was erie quiet. The bathroom had a permanent curtain for privacy but we liked the open feel of all the glass. After coming from Beijing where we had a hard time with english in restaurants, we were happy to have a girl who spoke excellent english in the restaurant. We sat on the patio with a great view of the river and to people watch and had an excellent meal. Go up the alley/street next to the hotel at night and it is a shopping/eating mecca. You can watch the Waterfall Hotel show at 8:30 from the square at the end of the street. Very happening place. Our view from the 5th floor at night was gorgeous with the trees lit up and the moon lighting the peaks in the distance. Would recommend any hotel along this street because the rest of the town behind it is caos (3 million people) and this has a calming effect despite the traffic.

Room Tip: Book your Li River Cruise at the airport desk. It is with CITS and they speak excellent english and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoNative19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This Hotel is conveniently located along the Li River and the walking promenade. Its about 100 meters from the Sheraton Hotel and at fifth of the price, its a real bargain. Its close to "Walking Street", which is around the corner and about a 10 minute walk to the Commercial Hub of Downtown Guilin. To the "Night Market" its around a 15 minute walk.
The rooms are modern, nice size and clean. Wi-Fi is fast and reliable. There is a LCD screen and a hot water kettle. Though I would recommend bringing your own tea and bottled water.
The few "Problems" that I encountered:
The Staff is helpful, but their English is almost non-existent. This is a major problem in almost every Hotel in China. Whats surprising, that this happens in even the 4-5 star Hotels. They MUST get their Staff better trained and upgrade their language skills, if they want to cater to Western Tourists.
There is a Cafe' adjutant to the Hotel. Strangely though, it only opens at 11 a.m. I guess they aren't too concerned about the early morning travelers and businessman that want to eat. Its also a little over-priced.
The cleaning staff kept entering my room (When I was away), even though I made sure that the "Do Not Disturb" sign was illuminated. Found it annoying and even after I complained and tried to explain that I didn't want them to enter, it repeated itself.
The shower in the bathroom, which has a glass "Cage" around it, kept leaking, so the entire washroom floor kept getting soaked. No big deal, just needs to be fixed.
All in all, great location, good stay and for the money, excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EliF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hotel is where I wanted to be, by the river and next to the downtown walking mall. It's almost next door to the Sheridan at 3 times the price. My room was nice, had a glass wall around the washroom ( no big deal). When I was there the floors were being shampooed. I managed with the staff's English. Miss Chan was sweet.This is China, don't expect people to speak English just because you do. I had the best vacation of my life. Guilin is beautiful.

Room Tip: I think the river view rooms are bigger, only a few have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabasko58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Booked this hotel with no expectations as it wasnt very well reviewed here in tripadvisor, but I was pleasantly surprised.. When I first made my reservation , prompt reply was made to reconfirmed and details of airport transfer was given. Upon arrival, they have sent us the most thoughtful driver we have ever encountered, and hence we used his services for the next 3 days we were in Guilin. This is one driver who wont take you to souvenier shops to earn commissions. He ( Mr. Zhang Guilin) only takes us to places we wanted to go and he is one of the few drivers who doesnt go missing in action when we came out of each and every places we went.
2 bottles of water was given free everday in the room unless you opt for the 'china's evian'which u had to pay. Room is clean and no complaints with the bathroom. Location of this hotel is great as its just next to Zhengyang Pedestrian St. (shopping n restaurants).
Last but not least is hotel staff Miss Zhao who is so ever patient and helpful with all the tour information and help we needed.
Would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again if we are in Guilin again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Tan_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This hotel is just average. Rooms are small, and the bathroom looks like it is just put in the room (glass door and windows). Cleaning is not very thorough. beds very hard, and you have to pay for everything that is in the room (water is 10 RBM, while on the corner you can get it for 3). Mostly Chinese in this hotel, who are very noisy and loud, and don't care what time it is.
Receptionists try, but don't speak much English. Oh, and if you want a map of Guilin, it will cost you RMB 6.
I would go to the Eva Inn, which is about 60 meter away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdieBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Excellent location, hotel is only a block away from the Sheraton so you get the same riverveiw for half the price, also right around the corner from the pedestrian area. The food in the downstairs cafe is a bit oily but better than several other places in Gulin. The rooms are recently decorated and all apliances are new but cheaply made. The towelrack in our first room broke spontaneoulsy and in the second room (changed with no problem) the tiles around it started to crack. Flatscreen only Chinese, free internet but no wireless, gotta use their cable.

The main problem was that the staff does not speak English, and,at certain points, resorted to using Google's translation - imagine the consequences. Also if paying by credit card, you need to pay upfront for the room and a deposit, which they return to you at the end of your stay. The way that they do it is they charge for room+deposit on arrival and on the last day they will refund the entire charge but will charge you again only for the room. Not only it does not make sense but you will also get charged foreign transaction fees. Imagine this being explained and argued over through Google transaction, part of the experience I guess.

The boat cruises will of course overcharge you if you do not speak Chinese and there is nothing you can do about it but as a reference for foreigners we were quoted 450 kuai per person and ended up paying 350 - the price for Chinese speakers is around 250(ask if the agency has Ling Ling, he was a fantastic guide). Also for the raft tour from Yangshuo we were asked for 200 kuai each but paid 250 for two - this price was more in line with what Chinese speakers pay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montreal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lakeside Inn
#7 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Ron Inn
#5 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
#11 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Guilin Park Hotel
#13 of 609 in Guilin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel

Property: Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel
Address: No.17 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 609 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guilin Homeland Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing